Kingston SSDNow V+ 64GB

Final Thoughts and Conclusion

 
Final Thoughts
 
The temptation when reviewing products such as the Kingston SSDNow V+ is to compare it against very similar products to see where it fits in the marketplace. With SSDs usually they are compared against RAID WD VelociRaptors or other expensive solutions.
 
During the initial testing phase though two things became apparent. Firstly that under the skin this is identical to many other SSDs that also use a completely Samsung based solution. Secondly, that the aggressive pricing Kingston have used alongside it's obvious performance, mean it's one of the first realistic SSDs that average people can upgrade to. We're very aware that most upgrades people purchase are large steps up in performance, and that the general user neither has extreme performance HDDs, nor often goes for incremental upgrades.
 
Therefore we decided to test the Kingston SSDNow V+ against it's manufacturers claims, and also use the kind of drive most people will own as the comparison.
 
As an upgrade from HDD technology
 
This is easily the briefest part of the review and the simplest to do. If you're still running a HDD and wonder if the upgrade to Solid State technology is good value, go now. Sell a kidney. Mortgage your granny. Whatever you need to do, get one. Sometimes we review things that the numbers show to be amazing, but in daily use doesn't quite pan out. This is the opposite. The numbers are very impressive, but how it performs all the time is even more impressive. Every single read or write action is vastly improved. Once you've got a virus checker and a couple of things running in the background, it still zips along. So should you upgrade to the Kingston SSDNow V+?
 
Conclusion
 
Yes you should. Kingston have done something pretty amazing. They've produced a SSD with identical components to three other SSDs, and brought it in around £20 cheaper. No corners have been cut though as it gets very close to the 220MB/s mark in read tests, and surpasses the claimed 140MB/s in many write tests.
 
One of the major stumbling blocks of early MLC NAND storage technology was stuttering, and the gradual degradation in performance. The Kingston SSDNow V+ gets around these two problems with a neat solution. Firstly a 128MB cache helps smooth the write and read requests, eliminating drive stutter. Throughout our 10 days of testing not once did the drive cough or hiccup at all. Secondly the inclusion on the Samsung Controller of Self-Cleaning technology removes the gradual degradation in performance that plagued early SSDs.
 
So it's very quick, cheaper than it's rivals, comes in a very nice looking case and has all the bells and whistles necessary to provide long-term stability. About the only things I dislike aren't specific to this drive and that's the small size meaning it's only really useful as an OS drive, and whilst Kingston have got the price below all its rivals, it's still quite an expensive upgrade.
 
No other upgrade though will provide you with such an enormous gain in performance no matter what you use your computer for.
 
Highly recommended.
 
    OC3D VFM
 
We would like to thank Kingston for the chance to test the drive. Discuss our thoughts and results in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-12-2009, 21:30:51

tinytomlogan
Von Blade takes a look at the Kingston SSDNow V+ 64GB to see if the low price means a drop in performance.

Continue Reading

03-12-2009, 23:45:26

sprento
Very nice review mate, after reading;

"Luckily you aren't the type who want the quick answer otherwise you'd have skipped on to the conclusion", I decided to continue reading as I am the kind of person referred to that skips on !

I do agree that an SSD is the best performance upgrade for a PC, however the price is still way too high and unfortunately it doesn't look like it will be dropping soon. That said, I know I will have one/three soon ! Good job.

04-12-2009, 04:33:19

GavX
damn tempting for Red October Mk2... really want something a bit bigger, but 130 for a fast as hell drive is tempting, and I imagine 64gb is enough for Windows 7 and a handful of games... damn you, I want this now!

Still, those write speeds are very impressive, anyone know how much the 128Gb model costs?

07-12-2009, 06:14:27

Mr. Smith
Nice review VB of a decent budget drive, it would deffo make a nice boot drive

I'm managing to resist buying anything until the new year becasue I think once the sata3 ssd's arrive the sata2 tech should drop in price.

07-12-2009, 08:54:36

GavX
going on play.com for 120... is that the same drive?

http://www.play.com/PC/PCs/-/2358/1625/-/11924385/Kingston-SSDNow-V-Series-64GB-SSD-2-5-Internal-SATA-Hard-Drive-With-Desktop-Accessory-Kit/Product.html?searchtype=genre#

Cause if it is I might just buy one, or get Santa to get me one

07-12-2009, 10:33:45

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='GavX'
going on play.com for 120... is that the same drive?

http://www.play.com/PC/PCs/-/2358/1625/-/11924385/Kingston-SSDNow-V-Series-64GB-SSD-2-5-Internal-SATA-Hard-Drive-With-Desktop-Accessory-Kit/Product.html?searchtype=genre#

Cause if it is I might just buy one, or get Santa to get me one
I don't think it is... The reviewed drive is the V+... That is the V and it looks slower...

07-12-2009, 16:59:18

GavX
Where are you seeing it for 130?

09-12-2009, 23:50:09

Rastalovich
Great review.

All we really need now is for another company to undercut Kingston by 20 and the cycle of sanity can continue.

I do agree that the pricing of this is 'good' in comparison with it's fellow suspects, but on the whole, whilst also considering the traditional drive it's reviewed against, I strongly disagree with the 9 rating in the price category. I personally think ssds should start with a '5' rating handicap on general principle.

What does bother me is whilst it boots an OS nicely faster by some 10-15s usually, the files in consideration against the game loading are not a fair template for comparison. What I took from it is that forgiving 10-15s, the traditional harddrive is an awesome purchase, whilst ssds are what they are.

If a traditional harddrive comes out with a 128mb (or even 64mb) cache, the ssd drive will look pretty poor. This ofc will only happen with those manufacturers who don't make ssds.

14-12-2009, 11:24:13

VonBlade
All scores for pricing within reviews are taken against similar products.

Otherwise the HD5970 should get 1 because you can get a X1950 for 20. Logical fallacy.

14-12-2009, 11:37:29

Rastalovich
That an@logy has never worked for me. I can't think of anything relevant to today that the X1950 could do better than the HD5970. Mode promote to an external tv whilst using mpclassic perhaps as the drivers are old enough and u could use an unupd8d xp.

Whereas the F1 can do what HDD's were designed for alot more than all but 1 (that I know of) single SSD can. And that's to store more pr0n, I mean data.

14-12-2009, 14:00:23

VonBlade
It's not an analogy. It's pointing out that your argument is invalid.

HDDs are not priced comparably to SSDs, nor even are they in competition with them. The sole feature is that they both store data. Thusly HDDs are not taken into account when scoring the price.

Maybe the F1 can do what HDDs are designed to do. But in case you didn't notice this is an SSD review.

14-12-2009, 14:14:08

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
It's not an analogy. It's pointing out that your argument is invalid.

HDDs are not priced comparably to SSDs, nor even are they in competition with them. The sole feature is that they both store data. Thusly HDDs are not taken into account when scoring the price.

Maybe the F1 can do what HDDs are designed to do. But in case you didn't notice this is an SSD review.
U need to look up what it means butt.

And u need to rethink - thinking that SSDs are not in competition with HDDs. They each have more than just the unique feature to store data.

If u also didn't notice, the F1 is used as a comparison more-or-less through-out the review.

Infact, what the fudge was the point in posting what u just posted ?

14-12-2009, 14:21:36

FarFarAway
It is very difficult to justify a price tag like that on what is essentially a 64gb hard drive. Sure it's priced well compared to the competition, but the competition is priced at laughable levels.

Good review all the same

14-12-2009, 14:32:12

Ham
Anyone seen one in stock at any reputable re/e-tailer?

07-01-2010, 16:56:42

Apans
me want!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.