Kingston SSDNow V+ 64GB

PCMark Vantage 64 and 7Zip 64

 
PCMark Vantage
 
Unlike its Futuremark stablemate 3DMark, PCMark Vantage provides some real world performance figures by utilising common tasks that would be performed in the life of any computer. For this testing PCMark Vantage v101 0910a was installed on a clean Windows 7 installation and the HDD Test Suite run using the 64 bit variant.
 
If you're the type of person who just wants the final score and doesn't really mind how it's comprised, or maybe you're one of the people who were mentioned in the introduction as trying to be convinced that the upgrade to SSD, and particularly the Kingston SSDNow V+ SSD, is worth it, the following graph tells you almost everything you could need to know. The final score alone doesn't tell the whole story, but a quick glance at it and the words annihilated and trounced come readily to mind.
 
 
 
Luckily you aren't the type who want the quick answer otherwise you'd have skipped on to the conclusion, so it's time to take a look in some depth at the figures that make up that score. Once you start stressing the entire PC those incredible speeds we saw in the synthetic testing take a bit of a pounding. The Media Center test keeps closest to the transfer rate seen previously, but most of the results end up around the 130MB/s mark. Approximately a 33% drop from the potential speed to the achievable speed.
 
However as one of the aspects we're looking at today is if Kingston's low pricing makes the transfer to SSD a genuine possibility, the answer still remains an emphatic yes. The best that the Samsung Spinpoint managed was half the transfer rate, but in most cases it could only provide a quarter or less of the Kingston SSDNow V+s performance. Application loading and OS Startup appear to be the hardest affected, so we'll take a closer look at those over the page.
 
 
Just shy of 25000 in PCMark Vantage is a very impressive score. The popular combination of Samsung controller, cache and NAND Memory proving their worth.
 
 
7Zip
 
7Zip is a free compression and decompression utility that is available in both 32 and 64bit flavours. Supporting all archive formats and coming with a built in benchmark it's the ideal choice. The benchmark was performed using 5 passes on the 7Zip default settings of 32MB dictionary and utilising all 8 threads available on the i7 920. This is great proof that modern PC components have moved ahead of the 3.5" HDDs ability to keep up in both storing and reading data. The Kingston SSDNow V+ enables to processor to keep working at its full capacity and provides an extra 4000 MIPS over the Samsung Spinpoint. For anyone who finds themselves zipping and unzipping files on a regular basis the time savings cannot be denied.
 
 
We'll take a quick look at some pure loading performance and then head on to the conclusion.
 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-12-2009, 21:30:51

tinytomlogan
Von Blade takes a look at the Kingston SSDNow V+ 64GB to see if the low price means a drop in performance.

Continue Reading

03-12-2009, 23:45:26

sprento
Very nice review mate, after reading;

"Luckily you aren't the type who want the quick answer otherwise you'd have skipped on to the conclusion", I decided to continue reading as I am the kind of person referred to that skips on !

I do agree that an SSD is the best performance upgrade for a PC, however the price is still way too high and unfortunately it doesn't look like it will be dropping soon. That said, I know I will have one/three soon ! Good job.

04-12-2009, 04:33:19

GavX
damn tempting for Red October Mk2... really want something a bit bigger, but 130 for a fast as hell drive is tempting, and I imagine 64gb is enough for Windows 7 and a handful of games... damn you, I want this now!

Still, those write speeds are very impressive, anyone know how much the 128Gb model costs?

07-12-2009, 06:14:27

Mr. Smith
Nice review VB of a decent budget drive, it would deffo make a nice boot drive

I'm managing to resist buying anything until the new year becasue I think once the sata3 ssd's arrive the sata2 tech should drop in price.

07-12-2009, 08:54:36

GavX
going on play.com for 120... is that the same drive?

http://www.play.com/PC/PCs/-/2358/1625/-/11924385/Kingston-SSDNow-V-Series-64GB-SSD-2-5-Internal-SATA-Hard-Drive-With-Desktop-Accessory-Kit/Product.html?searchtype=genre#

Cause if it is I might just buy one, or get Santa to get me one

07-12-2009, 10:33:45

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='GavX'
going on play.com for 120... is that the same drive?

http://www.play.com/PC/PCs/-/2358/1625/-/11924385/Kingston-SSDNow-V-Series-64GB-SSD-2-5-Internal-SATA-Hard-Drive-With-Desktop-Accessory-Kit/Product.html?searchtype=genre#

Cause if it is I might just buy one, or get Santa to get me one
I don't think it is... The reviewed drive is the V+... That is the V and it looks slower...

07-12-2009, 16:59:18

GavX
Where are you seeing it for 130?

09-12-2009, 23:50:09

Rastalovich
Great review.

All we really need now is for another company to undercut Kingston by 20 and the cycle of sanity can continue.

I do agree that the pricing of this is 'good' in comparison with it's fellow suspects, but on the whole, whilst also considering the traditional drive it's reviewed against, I strongly disagree with the 9 rating in the price category. I personally think ssds should start with a '5' rating handicap on general principle.

What does bother me is whilst it boots an OS nicely faster by some 10-15s usually, the files in consideration against the game loading are not a fair template for comparison. What I took from it is that forgiving 10-15s, the traditional harddrive is an awesome purchase, whilst ssds are what they are.

If a traditional harddrive comes out with a 128mb (or even 64mb) cache, the ssd drive will look pretty poor. This ofc will only happen with those manufacturers who don't make ssds.

14-12-2009, 11:24:13

VonBlade
All scores for pricing within reviews are taken against similar products.

Otherwise the HD5970 should get 1 because you can get a X1950 for 20. Logical fallacy.

14-12-2009, 11:37:29

Rastalovich
That an@logy has never worked for me. I can't think of anything relevant to today that the X1950 could do better than the HD5970. Mode promote to an external tv whilst using mpclassic perhaps as the drivers are old enough and u could use an unupd8d xp.

Whereas the F1 can do what HDD's were designed for alot more than all but 1 (that I know of) single SSD can. And that's to store more pr0n, I mean data.

14-12-2009, 14:00:23

VonBlade
It's not an analogy. It's pointing out that your argument is invalid.

HDDs are not priced comparably to SSDs, nor even are they in competition with them. The sole feature is that they both store data. Thusly HDDs are not taken into account when scoring the price.

Maybe the F1 can do what HDDs are designed to do. But in case you didn't notice this is an SSD review.

14-12-2009, 14:14:08

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
It's not an analogy. It's pointing out that your argument is invalid.

HDDs are not priced comparably to SSDs, nor even are they in competition with them. The sole feature is that they both store data. Thusly HDDs are not taken into account when scoring the price.

Maybe the F1 can do what HDDs are designed to do. But in case you didn't notice this is an SSD review.
U need to look up what it means butt.

And u need to rethink - thinking that SSDs are not in competition with HDDs. They each have more than just the unique feature to store data.

If u also didn't notice, the F1 is used as a comparison more-or-less through-out the review.

Infact, what the fudge was the point in posting what u just posted ?

14-12-2009, 14:21:36

FarFarAway
It is very difficult to justify a price tag like that on what is essentially a 64gb hard drive. Sure it's priced well compared to the competition, but the competition is priced at laughable levels.

Good review all the same

14-12-2009, 14:32:12

Ham
Anyone seen one in stock at any reputable re/e-tailer?

07-01-2010, 16:56:42

Apans
me want!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.