Kingston SSD Now V+ 256GB Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Kingston SSD Now V+ 256GB

Introduction

So you've won the lottery and aren't too sure what to spend your money on. We're here to help.

Solid State Drives are something all of us should have by now, or at least be at the top of our wish-list, in some form of another. Even the bottom end models with tiny capacity are still a league ahead of the old mechanical models and just perfect for an Operating System.

But what if you want more? If there is one problem with a pure OS-sized SSD it's that the speed becomes addictive. Having your games and applications on your old drive definitely lessens the benefits and can feel like loading them off of a C90 in comparison to the SSD.

So what do you do? How can we combine the size of a mechanical with the speed of a Solid State? Why a high-capacity Solid State Drive of course.

Although for the true lottery winners it's possible to buy 1TB SSDs now, today we're looking at a big version of a drive we've reviewed before, the Kingston SSD Now V+. When we first reviewed it in 64GB guise we found it to be a very consistent performer at a reasonable price-point.

Being 256GB certainly puts it out of the range of a spur-of-the-moment purchase, but doesn't put it out of the range of a well-thought out upgrade. So, does the extra capacity over it's 64GB sibling help or hinder?

Features

Innovative – Uses MLC NAND flash memory components.
Silent – Runs silent and cool with no moving mechanical parts.
Shock Proof – No moving mechanical parts so the SSD handles rougher conditions.
Supports TRIM – Enhances device wear leveling by eliminating merge operation for all deleted data blocks
Supports S.M.A.R.T. functions
Guaranteed – 3 year legendary Kingston warranty, 24/7 tech support
Cache – 128MB on-board cache
Garbage collection feature – Enables high SSD write performance even when operating system does not support TRIM

Specifications

Capacity – 64GB, 128GB, 256GB, 512GB
Storage temperatures – -40 - 85°C
Operating temperatures – 0 - 70°C
Dimensions – 69.85 x 100 x 9.5 mm
Weight – 84 grams
Vibration operating – 2.7G (7-800Hz)
Vibration non-operating – 20G (20-2000Hz)
Sequential Read Throughput – 230MB/s
Sequential Write Throughput – 180MB/s
Form Factor – 2.5"
Interface – 3.0 Gb/sec (Compatible with SATA 1.5 Gb/sec)
Power specs – 3.5 W - 4.2 W - active / 0.065 W - 0.075 W Idle
Life expectancy** – 1,000,000 Hrs mean time before failure
Operating shock – 1500G

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

15-09-2010, 10:08:40

tinytomlogan
At the end of last year we looked at the 64GB V+ and found it a superb SSD choice. How does its big brother fare at the end of 2010?

Continue Reading

15-09-2010, 13:55:58

silenthill
I really can't understand why the SSD are so expensive because there isn't a huge demand on them unless they are excluded from the law of supply & demand.

16-09-2010, 04:54:14

VonBlade

The fact that this is so fast, and it's basically memory, is also something that you have to keep in mind when you look at the pricing. Sure compared to a HDD it's expensive, but try and buy 256GB of super-fast DDR3 and see how much it is in comparison.



From the review.

16-09-2010, 05:34:22

AMDFTW
i guess thats a good comparison to look at,as yes ite is basicly mem modules

16-09-2010, 12:07:42

steve30x
I hope SSD's start getting cheaper soon. I know its basically memory but at their current price its not a good choice to buy an SSD. I am waiting for SSD's to become affordable to upgrade.

16-09-2010, 12:36:30

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve30x View Post

I hope SSD's start getting cheaper soon. I know its basically memory but at their current price its not a good choice to buy an SSD. I am waiting for SSD's to become affordable to upgrade.
Really depends on the size, imho any enthusiast spending big money on a GPU and CPU should have a SSD, just depends how big you want it.

Ive actually got one of these drives in my own rig, I had to stop at 256 because the missus would have been eating poridge for a month if Id got the 512 I wanted! Perhaps I should have done this review eh Veebs, you lucky bugger

As with all new tech prices will fall in the end. But there will always be something new(er) to take the expensive slot for us all to moan about

16-09-2010, 14:02:57

steve30x
I need a 120 for my OS and 256 for my games. I can deal with the standard HDD's for my backups. But at the price of two of those its over half the price of the upgrade hardware I should have any day soon. Some time next year I will find the money for two SSD's.

16-09-2010, 14:16:28

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve30x View Post

I need a 120 for my OS and 256 for my games. I can deal with the standard HDD's for my backups. But at the price of two of those its over half the price of the upgrade hardware I should have any day soon. Some time next year I will find the money for two SSD's.
TBH dude just install the games on the storage drives. Makes very minimal difference there tbh. SSD's are all about the programs tbh.

16-09-2010, 16:17:18

steve30x
I want the SSD's for my games because of the horrible hummmmmmmm I am getting from my mechanical drives through this 800D and onto my computer desk. There is a lump of rubber under the hot swap bay in the case buyt it does SFA to dampen the HDD noise. I have two layers of foam under each foot of my case to stop the noise and its killed about 80% of the noise.

16-09-2010, 16:56:42

tinytomlogan
Have you tried putting the drives in the 5.25" bays on dampeners dude?

16-09-2010, 17:00:10

steve30x
I didnt know there was a way to do that.

16-09-2010, 18:17:16

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve30x View Post

I didnt know there was a way to do that.
http://www.quietpc.com/gb-en-gbp/products/harddrivesolutions/nx-dtw-2300b

16-09-2010, 19:08:39

F-alienware
SSD are getting cheaper as the days pass now. I got a 64gb for £70 recently and even the good high end ones are now cheaper than ever.

Apparently Intel have managed to squash the NM of the NAND chips and have stuffed double the ammount of storage on the same chips. If that's the case then theoretically some time soon we could be seeing drives that are double the size yet the same price as their half sized counterparts.

They are expensive. However, given that they are one of if not the best upgrades you can buy now for a raw speed boost they are more than worth it. Seeing is believing with these things.

17-09-2010, 05:01:08

steve30x
I never knew such a thing existed. I will try to get a few of those.

It will have to wait though because I have new parts ordered and I am paying out through my a** for them because I am paying for the parts weekly and I am unemployed. The guy I get my parts from marked up the price by 25% so Instead of the parts costing 1100 euro its costing me 1357 euro. I should have the parts paid for by june next year lol. Everey spare cent I have every week is going on the new computer parts.

17-09-2010, 05:04:32

silenthill
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

SSD are getting cheaper as the days pass now. I got a 64gb for £70 recently and even the good high end ones are now cheaper than ever.

Apparently Intel have managed to squash the NM of the NAND chips and have stuffed double the ammount of storage on the same chips. If that's the case then theoretically some time soon we could be seeing drives that are double the size yet the same price as their half sized counterparts.

They are expensive. However, given that they are one of if not the best upgrades you can buy now for a raw speed boost they are more than worth it. Seeing is believing with these things.
Yes because no one is buying them remember (law of supply & demand) they remind me of the huge stock of 3d TVís in CURRYS and every month I go in there I find they have dropped 100£, fact is that no matter how advanced the technology is if no one buys them the prices come tumbling down.

17-09-2010, 05:16:56

steve30x
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

Yes because no one is buying them remember (law of supply & demand) they remind me of the huge stock of 3d TVís in CURRYS and every month I go in there I find they have dropped 100£, fact is that no matter how advanced the technology is if no one buys them the prices come tumbling down.
People arent buying them because theyre so expensive towards mechanical hard drives.

17-09-2010, 09:40:09

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

Yes because no one is buying them remember (law of supply & demand) they remind me of the huge stock of 3d TVís in CURRYS and every month I go in there I find they have dropped 100£, fact is that no matter how advanced the technology is if no one buys them the prices come tumbling down.
Prices only tumble like that when a company goes out of business.

The reason parts have shot through the roof is that companies want/have to make the same ammount of money. This means when people are buying things get cheap (due to bulk shifting) and when things go quiet (during a recession like the one we're in) they sell less so have to sell them for more.

It's daft, because before I could get 2gb OCZ plat DDR2 for £16. Now it's £48. So because of that I have simply dug in my heels and refused to go to DDR3. But the prices still haven't come down, only difference is OCZ are about to go bust. TBH if these companies didn't waste so much money so frivolously they wouldn't get into trouble like that in the first place. Nvidia have spunked away millions on Physx CUDA and silly 3D glasses and Gamestop (USA) are in trouble and have been closing stores, yet send all of their management on a drinking holiday in Vegas once a year in a top hotel.

It makes so much sense ! honestly !
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.