Kingston DataTraveler HyperX Predator 512GB Review

Up Close

Kingston DataTraveler HyperX Predator 512GB Review

Up Close

In keeping with the premium price-tag the DR HyperX comes in a tin case that is a vast improvement upon the normal blister packs that require scissors, napalm and a trip to the local hospital to open.

Kingston DataTraveler HyperX Predator 512GB Review     Kingston DataTraveler HyperX Predator 512GB Review  

You can always get a hint at the quality of a product from the packaging, and the DT HyperX is kept in extremely high-density foam with all the cut-outs as precise as you could hope to find them. We have the drive itself, a key-ring that perfectly matches the case of the DT HyperX, and an extension cable in the Kingston HyperX blue, should the drive prove a little larger than the tight USB sockets on your system. 

Kingston DataTraveler HyperX Predator 512GB Review     Kingston DataTraveler HyperX Predator 512GB Review  

Considering that this is a 512MB stick, it's only twice as thick, and approximately the same dimensions, as any other USB drive. The drive slides open and closes with a very satisfying clunk. There isn't any scrimping upon the calibre of the metal casing at all. It's extremely high quality.

Kingston DataTraveler HyperX Predator 512GB Review     Kingston DataTraveler HyperX Predator 512GB Review  

Kingston DataTraveler HyperX Predator 512GB Review     Kingston DataTraveler HyperX Predator 512GB Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-07-2013, 06:18:41

tinytomlogan
Today we're taking a look at the Kingston DT HyperX, a pen drive that rewrites the rules of what is possible.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...111936572l.JPG



Continue Reading

01-07-2013, 08:31:17

SPS
I want one just so that when people ask if you have a USB stick they can borrow, you can respond with 'sure, be careful though, it cost 640'. At which point I wouldn't actually give them it.

01-07-2013, 09:18:54

SieB
OMG, lol.... that price

Why would anyone spend that much on a USB stick... ever?

01-07-2013, 09:35:58

Soda-88
That price is absurd, you can get 2 512GB Crucial M4s with SATA to USB3 adapters for that money with a 50+ to spare. Yes, it's smaller, but it's also easier to break/lose and also slower

01-07-2013, 10:29:36

lwatcdr
I would say that is in a class of if you need this tool you can get it now. Yes it is way too expensive for anything I would use it for. I would go with something like this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...9SIA1DS0CZ4958 with an SSD in it if I need a fast, portable, and rugged drive.

01-07-2013, 12:13:14

The Orange One
It's pretty amazing how they can pack all that storage onto a small USB drive though

01-07-2013, 12:40:49

TEN64
Does it come with sound alarm ? I mean in case I get separated a great distance from it? would be useful.

01-07-2013, 13:13:55

Greenback
nice and all that, but at that price I'd be scared to take it out with me, which defeats the object of having it really.

01-07-2013, 15:10:05

You_What?
What? A 512Gb Pen Drive? Biggest I'd seen or heard was 64Gb, I'm way behind on the times it seems.

01-07-2013, 23:19:59

Mgutierrez33
Early tech adoption premiums... so high lol. Once the price comes down on this sort of flash drive performance I would LOVE one of these. 'till then I'll let the uber tech-heads blow their cash wads on it x-)

04-07-2013, 21:37:41

kittysniper
I'm sorry but comparison with ssds is just useless, there is however a usb drive that can be used to compare(SanDisk Extreme USB 3.0), it's 64Gb, but it's only 80 dollars on amazon as of now, I've gotten mine up to 210mb/s,190mb/s read/write. Can you please do a comparison with the Kingston and Sandisk drives, since I can't afford the 1000 dollar Kingston drive

05-07-2013, 04:46:35

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by kittysniper View Post
I'm sorry but comparison with ssds is just useless, there is however a usb drive that can be used to compare(SanDisk Extreme USB 3.0), it's 64Gb, but it's only 80 dollars on amazon as of now, I've gotten mine up to 210mb/s,190mb/s read/write. Can you please do a comparison with the Kingston and Sandisk drives, since I can't afford the 1000 dollar Kingston drive

Sadly no mate. We reviewed the item with stuff we had to compare it with. This wasnt a round up and companies wont just send stuff in because we want it. Life is a little more complicated than that, we only did this because its nuts, we dont have time to go reviewing every USB3 stick on the market.

We are a bit too busy to be doing that

05-07-2013, 07:43:31

Gilles3000
Thx for the great review, but i can't fully agree with the performance score.
A msata ssd in a usb3 enclose is only a bit larger, but much faster and cheaper(about 200 cheaper). Its a pretty good thumb drive. But when there are other options that perform much better, scoring this thing a 9 for performance isn't really justified.

05-07-2013, 14:16:07

Mgutierrez33
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

We are a bit too busy to be doing that
In other words, AIN'T NOBODY GOT TIME FUH DAT!!!

Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.