GSkill Falcon 128GB SATA II SSD

ATTO Benchmark

ATTO Disk Benchmark
 
ATTO Disk Benchmark may be one of the oldest hard disk benchmark utilities still in service, but many would argue that it still remains the best. Unlike HDTune Pro and many other benchmarking utilities, ATTO can be configured to write up to 256MB of data to the disk in file sizes varying from 5KB to 8MB. This is especially useful for SSD drives and indeed RAID configurations where performance can be heavily reliant on the cluster size of the disk. All tests were run with the default settings of 0.5KB through 8192KB transfer sizes with the total length of 256MB. For clearer comparative purposes, the key stages of the benchmark are included in the graphs below:
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Results Analysis
 
Here is where the GSkill Falcon begins to stretch it's silicon legs. Despite having a lower read speed than the OCZ Vertex, the GSkill falcon managed a blistering 261MB/s which is much faster than the 231MB/s the Vertex managed. Not only that but the Falcon also managed some amazing write speeds, even beating our previous best model, the OCZ Summit.
 
Let's see what PCMark Vantage makes of the drives...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

13-07-2009, 04:35:26

JN
"To be the best you have to beat the best. Does the GSkill Falcon have wait it takes to outpace the other SSD's on test? Find out in our latest review..." - by W3bbo

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...192511315s.jpg

GSkill Falcon 128GB SATA II SSD

16-07-2009, 17:40:51

Bungral
Maaaaaaaaaate!

How did this go un replied to?

I have an excuse... I had 800 posts to catch up on and then I save the reviews for last.. This is my last one so I'm now officially caught up.

Aaaanyway back to this review.. What a product really.. It actually beats the competition by a clear margin (mostly) which makes a change these days.

Don't ya get to keep this one Jimbo?

17-07-2009, 13:35:21

w3bbo
No! Jim certainly doesn't get to keep this one lol.

Gotta say this is one sweet product!

17-07-2009, 14:30:57

VonBlade
Hmmm. Well Jim doesn't keep it because W3bbo reviewed it

Great review as always, I just find it hard to get excited about SSD because they're so freaking expensive. I'm sure they are quicker, but I come from the tape then floppy days so HDs still feel fast to me. But no matter how fast they are, 128GB of SSD vs 4TB of Spinpoint is a no brainer.

Maybe if you have a spare one W3bbo you can lend it to me so I can become enthused

VB

17-07-2009, 15:01:54

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Maaaaaaaaaate!

How did this go un replied to?
I have another theory behind this, and b4 u all yawn with excitement

I do wonder if any1 else agrees with me on this - I would appreciate if they replied in agreement or not.. BUT..

I saw this review posted.. and I have tbh, skipped it. And as I thought about skipping it, I thought others will skip it too, from a reply pov, and here's my rationale atlest:

I can sum up the review without a read, 1x SSD, blazing speeds, low relative capacities, nice package with little content, extremely high price (2+ a gig). To be fair this is all I/we need to know. The values can fluctuate a bit, but aslong as that last, almost the most important figure remains at around 2+ and the relative capacities are low - the interest stops there.

This is no reflection on the reviewer, as always I know the review will be outstanding. The reviews are always at a high level on OC3D.

However, until the manufacturers take their mindset away from corporations wanting these for their drive bays in their lovely raid setups, not minding paying 10k for the privilege, ur average enthusiast isn't going to be interested without some exception.

U know they're intended for these markets as they're content to stick with the lower capacities that almost mirror SCSI drives in similar raid setups (which are faster according to HDTach presets).

..

Now we've seen 320g drives emerging, so 250g will very soon be the distant maximum. No doubt 640g drives will follow eventually - but I can guarantee u that they won't come out until they've milked the higher prices of the lower capacities.

Soon as we atleast see 1.5 a gig. The masses will take more interest.

It's very basic for an enthusiast. They can't buy 2x GTX285 gpus - why spend the same budget on a small harddrive.

2 - cents !

18-07-2009, 09:47:28

w3bbo
I see your point rasta and I do agree about the cost per gig which is terrible however, SSD's represent the best upgrade most consumers can buy. The general feel of the OS is so much snappier, it loads up quicker, as do games. I bought 2x1tb samsung F1 drives a couple of months back and after testing this drive I am regretting that decision. Sure it's nice to have oodles of storage (of which I now have 2TB!) but nothing can match the speed of SSD for desktops imo.

18-07-2009, 12:12:08

rapidman17
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='w3bbo'
I see your point rasta and I do agree about the cost per gig which is terrible however, SSD's represent the best upgrade most consumers can buy. The general feel of the OS is so much snappier, it loads up quicker, as do games. I bought 2x1tb samsung F1 drives a couple of months back and after testing this drive I am regretting that decision. Sure it's nice to have oodles of storage (of which I now have 2TB!) but nothing can match the speed of SSD for desktops imo.
Fair point.... at the end of the day it depends on the users balance between speed and storage.... those not needing masses of space may well decide to get a product like this, whereas if space is a concern then you may indeed skip this product altogether.

21-07-2009, 00:31:27

mobbe
Hope the price on SSD's will drop soon
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.