Crucial M4 128GB SSD Review

Consistency and Conclusion

Crucial M4 128GB SSD Review

Consistency

The image below is from the AIDA64 Buffered Write. However all of our testing showed similar consistency in both read and write testing. If it was any flatter we'd have to build Windmills and wear clogs.

Crucial M4 128GB SSD Review

Conclusion

When we reviewed the Kingston Hyper X earlier in the month we found it to be an absolutely blistering performer with a suitably enthusiast price-tag. The Crucial M4 is obviously cheaper in this 128GB guise, but also crucially (ahem) in the 256GB version it's nearly £100 less expensive.

However this lower price-point doesn't mean you're losing a whole hill of performance.

Certainly at the absolute limit the SandForce controller is capable of producing gaudier numbers than the Micron-equipped M4, but this is damn close in most of our tests and in the important PC Mark Vantage benchmarks it's neck and neck.

Thankfully unlike the C300 the write speeds haven't been compromised to give such excellent performance for such a decent amount of money. The consistency in all of our tests was exemplary with no weak links at all. The uniformity of the graphs produced by all of our test applications mirror the AIDA64 one shown above, in both read and write formats.

Priced at around £150 this is on a par with decently priced SATA II SSDs, yet delivers comprehensive performance improvements. In fact the only real fly in the ointment is if you're after truly extreme performance the Micron can't keep up with a SandForce drive.

Even still, the consistency of the Crucial M4 coupled to the very attractive price make it a deserving winner of our OC3D Silver Award.

   

Thanks to Crucial for supplying the M4 for review. Discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

19-08-2011, 05:08:51

tinytomlogan
Hot on the heels of the successful C300, Crucial have released the M4, a 6Gbp/s speedster.



Continue Reading

19-08-2011, 05:26:46

dugdiamond
oh sweet mother of baby-cheeses!

where my tissues

issues fixed AND affordable!

i am lurved up with this

definitely a contender for my future mammoth-BD built, RAID'd

19-08-2011, 08:15:57

badtaylorx
i got the 64 gig for my os and i couldn't be happier........

well....i suppose it could be a hyperX.......

19-08-2011, 13:16:26

AxJaWz
Nice review!

19-08-2011, 13:43:39

Solidarity
I'm considering getting the 64 gig version for my next build

19-08-2011, 15:31:28

Ya93sin
Heck I love mine, 128GB ftw

Great drive, great speeds, and that's even when the drive fills up.

PS I updated mine (before I installed anything on it) to firmware 0002, and I've not had a single issue yet, and that's with RST running.

19-08-2011, 15:36:17

drsen
nice review tom, great little drive ive got both a 120gb in my rig and 64gb in my dads, running well with no issues with very impressive boot times. if you know me id only by a product again if i liked it and i do.

oh and fairly well priced as you said one thing to add to the review i dont recall reading it but the usb cable and disk arent included in the normal m4 pack you have to pay 10 quid extra or so for it. however i couldnt use it to sucseffuly clone my old os / programs. but its also useful if you want to copy some data old an old drive/ broken pc ect

20-08-2011, 23:01:53

Cold
Thinking off getting this or the Corsair Force 3 120GB.

31-08-2011, 06:04:37

Ljs
Worth nothing to all that Crucial has released some new firmware which improves this drives performance.

Any chance of a quick retest with this firmware in place? Would be very interested to see how it fairs.

31-08-2011, 06:28:26

Ya93sin
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ljs View Post

Worth nothing to all that Crucial has released some new firmware which improves this drives performance.

Any chance of a quick retest with this firmware in place? Would be very interested to see how it fairs.
I posted that in the News section, along with my own results/improvement.

31-08-2011, 08:51:34

Ljs
Apologies, I didn't look there - that was more for people who may come across the review in google rather than frequent visitors...
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.