Crucial C300 SATA 6Gb/s SSD Review

Conclusion

Crucial C300 SATA   6Gb/s SSD Review

Conclusion

Solid State Drives have become a mainstream part of performance PCs now and so hopefully you're all aware of the benefits it can bring to your system.

So what are the benefits that the Crucial C300 can bring to the table?

Let's start with the average, the Write speeds. 150MB/s is unquestionably fast when compared with mechanical drives, but it's only around the middle of the pack when we look at the currently available SSDs. Considering this retails at just over £300 we'd expect to see at least 200MB/s, as we do with the Nova. It's especially disappointing when we look at what it clearly the jewel in the C300's crown, the read speeds.

A famous quote says that "there are lies, damn lies, and statistics". We can paraphrase that now by saying there is quick, fast and then the Crucial C300. We get so used to hardware that edges the performance line forward in tiny increments, be it 2.8GHz, then 2.9GHz and finally 3GHz or whatever, that to see something that takes your previous expectations and obliterates them does make us stop and think.

There was a time when 200MB/s was amazing. 250MB/s seemed, well and still is, properly fast. 300, and in this case 330+ is just unbelievable. The difference it makes is nearly as impressive as the difference between a mechanical and an SSD.

The main question question is; If you have a suitable SATA 6Gbp/s motherboard, is the Crucial C300 worthy of your money? Really it depends upon your finances and your relentless demand for the absolute best. If you don't own a SSD at all then you definitely should consider the C300. The write speeds are medium, but everything, if repetition can be a hint of emphasis then everything, crumbles before the might of those read speeds.

In time other drives will combine this brutal read speeds with equally fast write speeds. But for now, despite its £300 price tag, we can easily give this our performance award.

The Good
- 340MB/s read speeds.Wow.
- Built in TRIM.
- Did we mention 340MB/s read speed?
- Crucials excellent three-year warranty.

Mediocre
- I hesitate to put the write speeds here as 150MB/s isn't poor, but in pales in the shadow of the read.
- £300+ for a 128GB drive is quite pricey, even by SSD standards.

Cons
- Nothing

   

Thanks to Crucial for supplying the C300. Discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-06-2010, 06:46:06

tinytomlogan
We all know that SSDs are blazingly fast. What would you get if you took an SSD and added SATA 6Gb/s support? Let's find out.

Continue Reading

21-06-2010, 07:15:31

Colossous
Nice review duder

21-06-2010, 07:21:22

F-alienware
Yeah nice one VB. Nice to know that SSDs are still getting faster and faster

21-06-2010, 10:26:54

Diablo
Nice review, but shame about the write speed, not much to write home about.

21-06-2010, 11:05:12

Warzone
Indeed but all that blazing still burns a hole in the wallet

21-06-2010, 12:25:59

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Warzone'
Indeed but all that blazing still burns a hole in the wallet
Actually there would be nothing of my wallet left.

21-06-2010, 13:11:48

VonBlade
I sold my wallet to buy thermal paste

21-06-2010, 13:51:06

F-alienware
Wallet? what wallet?

Ohhh the one my ex wife took off with.

21-06-2010, 22:41:32

FragTek
I really wish I could afford one of these... I hear they take computing to a whole new level of gangsterness.

22-06-2010, 15:15:50

fmsam
Cheers for the review TTL,

did you know there is a firmware upgrade for these drives,

Release Date: 5/20/2010

Change Log:

•Improved Power Consumption

•Improved TRIM performance

•Enabled the Drive Activity Pin (Pin 11)

•Improved Robustness due to unexpected power loss

•Improved data management to reduce maximum write latency

•Improved Performance of SSD as it fills up with data

•Improved Data Integrity

I can vouch for the improvments as Im running a pair on the marvell 6gb/s controller on the RE3

Im getting 450 reads and 250 writes !!

Rick

23-06-2010, 13:25:19

WelshD1K
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='fmsam'
Cheers for the review TTL,

did you know there is a firmware upgrade for these drives,

Release Date: 5/20/2010

Change Log:

•Improved Power Consumption

•Improved TRIM performance

•Enabled the Drive Activity Pin (Pin 11)

•Improved Robustness due to unexpected power loss

•Improved data management to reduce maximum write latency

•Improved Performance of SSD as it fills up with data

•Improved Data Integrity

I can vouch for the improvments as Im running a pair on the marvell 6gb/s controller on the RE3

Im getting 450 reads and 250 writes !!

Rick
in raid i assume? hence the preformance increase

23-06-2010, 15:25:22

fmsam
yep raid 0

There are many ppl out there who are still under the impression that you cant use raid on the marvell 9128 6gb/s contoller on Rampage 3 !

Well do they really think Asus would drop such a clanger, when the board its competing against has the same chip and uses raid.

my advice to those ppl is shut up unless youve actually tried it.

http://i696.photobucket.com/albums/v...00raidsnip.png

Rick

23-06-2010, 16:24:12

Diablo
I'd like to see the difference a dedicated RAID card would make to those read/writes as they are not as fast as some SATA 3 gbps drives.

23-06-2010, 16:51:33

fmsam
On the R3E the onboard controller is the 88SE9128, which is the IDENTICAL chipset on the rocketRAID 640 !!

I see you have 2 128 gb ssds i n raid 0

what knid of speeds do you get ?

23-06-2010, 17:34:11

tinytomlogan
You do realise TRIM doesnt work when in raid dude and the drives will slow down......

No wonder you have quick speeds with raid0, I was starting to think we had missed something huge with a firmware update! Ours came with the latest FW anyways I just checked.

23-06-2010, 17:54:35

fmsam
in the picture the drive states firmare rev 1

and crucial use garbage collection when raided and not trim, I test the drives every 3 days and they are actually getting faster, go figure !!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.