Crucial C300 SATA 6Gb/s SSD Review

Results Continued

Crucial C300 SATA  6Gb/s SSD Review

Results Continued

PCMV

If it's Monday it must be time for PC Mark Vantage. Starting with the HDD Suite score we find the C300 is 33% better than the Corsair Nova. Given how robust the PC Mark testing is at "real world" usage this should mean some incredible transfer rates.

Looking closer at the breakdown of the PC Mark score we find the Crucial C300 living up to its billing. Any time your Mega-Bytes per Second graph requires a 300 on the x-axis you know you're dealing with some serious speed.

ATTO

Let's finish up with the ATTO disk benchmark which tests the drive using a variety of block sizes. It always follows, even with mechanical drives, that smaller block sizes perform badly and once you reach around the 64 mark the drive gets into its stride.

With the read test we find the results echo those we saw on the previous page with the Crucial C300 redefining what we consider a fast read speed to be.

 

On the previous page we saw Crystal Disk Mark giving us disappointing write speeds and this is backed up by ATTO. Only on the very low 1 and 8 block size test does the C300 best the Corsair Nova, and otherwise it's fairly comprehensively beaten.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-06-2010, 06:46:06

tinytomlogan
We all know that SSDs are blazingly fast. What would you get if you took an SSD and added SATA 6Gb/s support? Let's find out.

Continue Reading

21-06-2010, 07:15:31

Colossous
Nice review duder

21-06-2010, 07:21:22

F-alienware
Yeah nice one VB. Nice to know that SSDs are still getting faster and faster

21-06-2010, 10:26:54

Diablo
Nice review, but shame about the write speed, not much to write home about.

21-06-2010, 11:05:12

Warzone
Indeed but all that blazing still burns a hole in the wallet

21-06-2010, 12:25:59

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Warzone'
Indeed but all that blazing still burns a hole in the wallet
Actually there would be nothing of my wallet left.

21-06-2010, 13:11:48

VonBlade
I sold my wallet to buy thermal paste

21-06-2010, 13:51:06

F-alienware
Wallet? what wallet?

Ohhh the one my ex wife took off with.

21-06-2010, 22:41:32

FragTek
I really wish I could afford one of these... I hear they take computing to a whole new level of gangsterness.

22-06-2010, 15:15:50

fmsam
Cheers for the review TTL,

did you know there is a firmware upgrade for these drives,

Release Date: 5/20/2010

Change Log:

•Improved Power Consumption

•Improved TRIM performance

•Enabled the Drive Activity Pin (Pin 11)

•Improved Robustness due to unexpected power loss

•Improved data management to reduce maximum write latency

•Improved Performance of SSD as it fills up with data

•Improved Data Integrity

I can vouch for the improvments as Im running a pair on the marvell 6gb/s controller on the RE3

Im getting 450 reads and 250 writes !!

Rick

23-06-2010, 13:25:19

WelshD1K
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='fmsam'
Cheers for the review TTL,

did you know there is a firmware upgrade for these drives,

Release Date: 5/20/2010

Change Log:

•Improved Power Consumption

•Improved TRIM performance

•Enabled the Drive Activity Pin (Pin 11)

•Improved Robustness due to unexpected power loss

•Improved data management to reduce maximum write latency

•Improved Performance of SSD as it fills up with data

•Improved Data Integrity

I can vouch for the improvments as Im running a pair on the marvell 6gb/s controller on the RE3

Im getting 450 reads and 250 writes !!

Rick
in raid i assume? hence the preformance increase

23-06-2010, 15:25:22

fmsam
yep raid 0

There are many ppl out there who are still under the impression that you cant use raid on the marvell 9128 6gb/s contoller on Rampage 3 !

Well do they really think Asus would drop such a clanger, when the board its competing against has the same chip and uses raid.

my advice to those ppl is shut up unless youve actually tried it.

http://i696.photobucket.com/albums/v...00raidsnip.png

Rick

23-06-2010, 16:24:12

Diablo
I'd like to see the difference a dedicated RAID card would make to those read/writes as they are not as fast as some SATA 3 gbps drives.

23-06-2010, 16:51:33

fmsam
On the R3E the onboard controller is the 88SE9128, which is the IDENTICAL chipset on the rocketRAID 640 !!

I see you have 2 128 gb ssds i n raid 0

what knid of speeds do you get ?

23-06-2010, 17:34:11

tinytomlogan
You do realise TRIM doesnt work when in raid dude and the drives will slow down......

No wonder you have quick speeds with raid0, I was starting to think we had missed something huge with a firmware update! Ours came with the latest FW anyways I just checked.

23-06-2010, 17:54:35

fmsam
in the picture the drive states firmare rev 1

and crucial use garbage collection when raided and not trim, I test the drives every 3 days and they are actually getting faster, go figure !!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.