Crucial C300 SATA 6Gb/s SSD Review

In Close Up

Crucial C300 SATA  6Gb/s SSD Review

Getting a Good Look

Crucials packaging for the C300 is an exercise in minimalism. That isn't to say it's bad by any stretch. It's exactly what it needs to be. Big enough to contain the product and some foam, and sturdy enough to protect it. No more. No less. Given the energy savings from a SSD it would be silly to put it in a rain-forests worth of packaging.

Crucial C300 SATA 6Gb/s SSD Review     Crucial C300 SATA 6Gb/s SSD Review  

Flipping the lid we can see a fair amount of foam protecting the drive itself. The drive is, by virtue of it being a memory device, in an anti-static bag. Upon removal we have a gorgeous metal casing with a front sticker that perfectly apes the box.

Crucial C300 SATA 6Gb/s SSD Review     Crucial C300 SATA 6Gb/s SSD Review  

Flipping the C300 onto its back we find the standard barcode sticker that has been a feature of storage devices since the dawn of time. We also have four standard mounting holes on the bottom and four on the side as well, ensuring a very flexible mounting system for any case or caddy.

Crucial C300 SATA 6Gb/s SSD Review     Crucial C300 SATA 6Gb/s SSD Review

Chips

Micron have broken through with MLC NAND that conforms to ONFI 2.1 standard and therefore provides incredible performance. Whilst at the Enterprise level ONFI 2.2 is available, naturally it takes a while before business class performance is available to the home user at a price point remotely affordable. Here we have a Micron OAD12 cache chip that should ensure even at these incredible speeds there isn't any stuttering. This, along with the controller below, is paired to some Micron NAND MLC that are labelled as OCB12 and ODB12. 

Crucial C300 SATA 6Gb/s SSD Review     Crucial C300 SATA 6Gb/s SSD Review  

The Crucial C300 uses the Marvell 88SS9174-BJP2 controller, which is rated for 355MB/s read and 215MB/s write. It has native SMART, Secure Erase and, most importantly, TRIM support out the box. TRIM is vital in ensuring that your drive remains at its optimum performance.

Crucial C300 SATA 6Gb/s SSD Review

Let's move on to page three, where we wont see busty Debbie from Essex, but rather something very flat indeed from Boise, Idaho.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-06-2010, 06:46:06

tinytomlogan
We all know that SSDs are blazingly fast. What would you get if you took an SSD and added SATA 6Gb/s support? Let's find out.

Continue Reading

21-06-2010, 07:15:31

Colossous
Nice review duder

21-06-2010, 07:21:22

F-alienware
Yeah nice one VB. Nice to know that SSDs are still getting faster and faster

21-06-2010, 10:26:54

Diablo
Nice review, but shame about the write speed, not much to write home about.

21-06-2010, 11:05:12

Warzone
Indeed but all that blazing still burns a hole in the wallet

21-06-2010, 12:25:59

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Warzone'
Indeed but all that blazing still burns a hole in the wallet
Actually there would be nothing of my wallet left.

21-06-2010, 13:11:48

VonBlade
I sold my wallet to buy thermal paste

21-06-2010, 13:51:06

F-alienware
Wallet? what wallet?

Ohhh the one my ex wife took off with.

21-06-2010, 22:41:32

FragTek
I really wish I could afford one of these... I hear they take computing to a whole new level of gangsterness.

22-06-2010, 15:15:50

fmsam
Cheers for the review TTL,

did you know there is a firmware upgrade for these drives,

Release Date: 5/20/2010

Change Log:

•Improved Power Consumption

•Improved TRIM performance

•Enabled the Drive Activity Pin (Pin 11)

•Improved Robustness due to unexpected power loss

•Improved data management to reduce maximum write latency

•Improved Performance of SSD as it fills up with data

•Improved Data Integrity

I can vouch for the improvments as Im running a pair on the marvell 6gb/s controller on the RE3

Im getting 450 reads and 250 writes !!

Rick

23-06-2010, 13:25:19

WelshD1K
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='fmsam'
Cheers for the review TTL,

did you know there is a firmware upgrade for these drives,

Release Date: 5/20/2010

Change Log:

•Improved Power Consumption

•Improved TRIM performance

•Enabled the Drive Activity Pin (Pin 11)

•Improved Robustness due to unexpected power loss

•Improved data management to reduce maximum write latency

•Improved Performance of SSD as it fills up with data

•Improved Data Integrity

I can vouch for the improvments as Im running a pair on the marvell 6gb/s controller on the RE3

Im getting 450 reads and 250 writes !!

Rick
in raid i assume? hence the preformance increase

23-06-2010, 15:25:22

fmsam
yep raid 0

There are many ppl out there who are still under the impression that you cant use raid on the marvell 9128 6gb/s contoller on Rampage 3 !

Well do they really think Asus would drop such a clanger, when the board its competing against has the same chip and uses raid.

my advice to those ppl is shut up unless youve actually tried it.

http://i696.photobucket.com/albums/v...00raidsnip.png

Rick

23-06-2010, 16:24:12

Diablo
I'd like to see the difference a dedicated RAID card would make to those read/writes as they are not as fast as some SATA 3 gbps drives.

23-06-2010, 16:51:33

fmsam
On the R3E the onboard controller is the 88SE9128, which is the IDENTICAL chipset on the rocketRAID 640 !!

I see you have 2 128 gb ssds i n raid 0

what knid of speeds do you get ?

23-06-2010, 17:34:11

tinytomlogan
You do realise TRIM doesnt work when in raid dude and the drives will slow down......

No wonder you have quick speeds with raid0, I was starting to think we had missed something huge with a firmware update! Ours came with the latest FW anyways I just checked.

23-06-2010, 17:54:35

fmsam
in the picture the drive states firmare rev 1

and crucial use garbage collection when raided and not trim, I test the drives every 3 days and they are actually getting faster, go figure !!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.