Crucial C300 SATA 6Gb/s SSD Review

Introduction

Crucial C300 SATA 6Gb/s SSD Review

Introduction

Solid State Drives.

Hopefully by now we've all accepted that these are the absolute performance Kings. As much, if not larger, a part of your system as every other component. If you're running anything like a modern processor then you're losing huge performance just by sticking stubbornly to your old mechanical device. And yes, they are expensive, but so is everything that has this level of performance. Right. Hopefully all the "ooh but the GB per £ is ridiculous" brigade have either gone back to complaining about Steam-Powered Looms or joined the rest of us in the digital age, and those of us who welcome technology can move on.

When SATA 3Gb/s technology first emerged we were all stunned with both the bandwidth available and the ability to hot-swap. This was as much a leap forward as USB was and, short of having hot-swappable CPUs and GPUs, the last step needed to a truly plug and play system.

The thought that it was possible to need more bandwidth than we had available seemed ridiculous to those of us still just comprehending ATA-133. Times change though and when Solid State Drives were introduced it only took one or two revisions before we hit the limit of what was available.

Speed is addictive though. As you improve your system you notice the next item of hardware that is lagging behind and improve that. It's a never ending process. So if 200MB/s read speeds just aren't fast enough for you, perhaps you need to take a look at today's review, the Crucial C300 SATA 6Gb/s SSD.

Technical Specifications

The C300 cognomen should really tell you all you need to know. It's Crucial and does over 300MB/s read. Simple. Ok come back tomorrow when we'll have another review for you.

What?

Oh you want more than that? Okay. Here are the technical specifications courtesy of Crucial's excellent PDF.

Capacity128GB Unformatted
NANDMicron MLC
ControllerMarvell
FirmwareField Upgradable
RAIDYes
InterfaceSATA 6Gb/s. Compatible with SATA 3Gb/s
Command SetSMART and ATA-8 w/TRIM
Access Time<0.1ms
Read Speed265MB/s SATA 3Gb/s and 355MB/s SATA 6Gb/s
Write Speed140MB/s SATA 3Gb/s and SATA 6Gb/s
Power Consumption1.7W Read, 3.1W Write, 0.092W Idle
Operating Temperature0°C to +70°C
Shock Resistance1500G
WarrantyLimited 3 Year


Let's move on to the ever popular page two and see what we have to play with today.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-06-2010, 06:46:06

tinytomlogan
We all know that SSDs are blazingly fast. What would you get if you took an SSD and added SATA 6Gb/s support? Let's find out.

Continue Reading

21-06-2010, 07:15:31

Colossous
Nice review duder

21-06-2010, 07:21:22

F-alienware
Yeah nice one VB. Nice to know that SSDs are still getting faster and faster

21-06-2010, 10:26:54

Diablo
Nice review, but shame about the write speed, not much to write home about.

21-06-2010, 11:05:12

Warzone
Indeed but all that blazing still burns a hole in the wallet

21-06-2010, 12:25:59

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Warzone'
Indeed but all that blazing still burns a hole in the wallet
Actually there would be nothing of my wallet left.

21-06-2010, 13:11:48

VonBlade
I sold my wallet to buy thermal paste

21-06-2010, 13:51:06

F-alienware
Wallet? what wallet?

Ohhh the one my ex wife took off with.

21-06-2010, 22:41:32

FragTek
I really wish I could afford one of these... I hear they take computing to a whole new level of gangsterness.

22-06-2010, 15:15:50

fmsam
Cheers for the review TTL,

did you know there is a firmware upgrade for these drives,

Release Date: 5/20/2010

Change Log:

•Improved Power Consumption

•Improved TRIM performance

•Enabled the Drive Activity Pin (Pin 11)

•Improved Robustness due to unexpected power loss

•Improved data management to reduce maximum write latency

•Improved Performance of SSD as it fills up with data

•Improved Data Integrity

I can vouch for the improvments as Im running a pair on the marvell 6gb/s controller on the RE3

Im getting 450 reads and 250 writes !!

Rick

23-06-2010, 13:25:19

WelshD1K
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='fmsam'
Cheers for the review TTL,

did you know there is a firmware upgrade for these drives,

Release Date: 5/20/2010

Change Log:

•Improved Power Consumption

•Improved TRIM performance

•Enabled the Drive Activity Pin (Pin 11)

•Improved Robustness due to unexpected power loss

•Improved data management to reduce maximum write latency

•Improved Performance of SSD as it fills up with data

•Improved Data Integrity

I can vouch for the improvments as Im running a pair on the marvell 6gb/s controller on the RE3

Im getting 450 reads and 250 writes !!

Rick
in raid i assume? hence the preformance increase

23-06-2010, 15:25:22

fmsam
yep raid 0

There are many ppl out there who are still under the impression that you cant use raid on the marvell 9128 6gb/s contoller on Rampage 3 !

Well do they really think Asus would drop such a clanger, when the board its competing against has the same chip and uses raid.

my advice to those ppl is shut up unless youve actually tried it.

http://i696.photobucket.com/albums/v...00raidsnip.png

Rick

23-06-2010, 16:24:12

Diablo
I'd like to see the difference a dedicated RAID card would make to those read/writes as they are not as fast as some SATA 3 gbps drives.

23-06-2010, 16:51:33

fmsam
On the R3E the onboard controller is the 88SE9128, which is the IDENTICAL chipset on the rocketRAID 640 !!

I see you have 2 128 gb ssds i n raid 0

what knid of speeds do you get ?

23-06-2010, 17:34:11

tinytomlogan
You do realise TRIM doesnt work when in raid dude and the drives will slow down......

No wonder you have quick speeds with raid0, I was starting to think we had missed something huge with a firmware update! Ours came with the latest FW anyways I just checked.

23-06-2010, 17:54:35

fmsam
in the picture the drive states firmare rev 1

and crucial use garbage collection when raided and not trim, I test the drives every 3 days and they are actually getting faster, go figure !!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.