Corsair V128 Nova Review

Nova Up Close

Corsair V128 Nova  Review

Corsair V128 Nova Up Close

I know very few of you are interested in packaging but you should be. When you see as many products as we do, seeing a company go the extra mile can usually be taken as sign that the whole product has had a lot of thought and care put into it. It's not an absolute, but the more effort taking to protect the hardware, the more the company cares about it.

For this reason it's worth us showing you how the Nova SSD arrived at our office. A properly sturdy box will absorb anything the most ham-fisted delivery man can offer and this most definitely is sturdy. Inside we even have the airbags that have overtaken bubble-wrap as the bump-absorbing material of choice. Albeit not as much fun to pop.

Corsair V128 Nova Review     Corsair V128 Nova Review  

Moving on to the Nova itself we have everything we'd expect to see. Simple and clean packaging with a clear plastic insert holding the Nova itself.

Corsair V128 Nova Review     Corsair V128 Nova Review  

Removing the Nova we see it follows the box art exactly. The case is a black aluminium affair that feels very tactile and must play a large role in the exceptional 40G shock that the Nova can withstand.

Corsair V128 Nova Review     Corsair V128 Nova Review  

Remember the small things I spoke about at the top of the page? Here is another. Corsair provide the Nova with a 2.5" to 3.5" converter and all the screws necessary to mount it in any case. It is also black aluminium and texturally perfectly matches the Nova.

Unlike some other adaptors it fits perfectly into our tool-less CoolerMaster drive bays. A definite thumbs up to Corsair for the ease in which you can be up and running.

Corsair V128 Nova Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

19-04-2010, 05:12:26

tinytomlogan
SSD's are still high on many peoples wish lists, so VB takes a look at the new Corsair varient.

Continue Reading

19-04-2010, 05:41:49

Chewbacca
I want one! Does it really make that much of a difference going from a normal HDD to an SSD?

19-04-2010, 05:47:21

VonBlade
Imagine going from 512MB of RAM on Windows 7 to 4GB.

19-04-2010, 06:41:53

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Chewbacca'
I want one! Does it really make that much of a difference going from a normal HDD to an SSD?
Not for the outlay. At still over 2 a gig, for the home user I'd still not recommend them.

At such a low capacity, u would probably end up using ur old drive as a means to store stuff, leaving mainly the OS, and ur malware etc on the SSD.

For definite, if the cash is available and u don't use much harddrive space, they're great. But apparently having the cash to buy a pc component is not meant to be the way to look at it, ur meant to look at them value for money. Bang for buck. Speed for sure - capacity (the bread and butter of drives) a definite no. Some people will buy these then complain about the prices of other things, e.g.

I use them in many pc/mac setups now and tbh, if ur OS is installed and maintained efficiently, there are just as viable alternatives, leaving u to spend ur cash on more important components.

19-04-2010, 07:22:18

tinytomlogan
I personally see an SSD as an important part of a high spec system now. mechanicals just dont cut it once you have used a decent SSD. Even short stroked drives you can still notice a difference tbh.

19-04-2010, 07:45:33

nunzio
What I would like to see as a test is if you keep your OS/System on a hdd, and put the games installed on the ssd, would that make much of a difference?

19-04-2010, 09:13:19

JN
Probably not a massive amount, but if you had the swap file on the SSD and not enough physical ram for the game to function inside it could improve performance a fair bit.

19-04-2010, 10:09:06

AMD_PBz
The results look very impressive for a Corsair SSD.

19-04-2010, 10:11:35

Rastalovich
Results aside, I had decent Corsair's supplied to me - well insisted actually - as I've not come across a more helpful support in a long time. And the controllers the SSDs use ofc.

20-04-2010, 07:08:11

Blackbeard
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='nunzio'
What I would like to see as a test is if you keep your OS/System on a hdd, and put the games installed on the ssd, would that make much of a difference?
I've actually done a few tests with the SSD as 'games data drive' and the OS on a HDD.

/digs up results

With the OS and game installed on a P128, a level in Crysis loaded in 18s, compared to 22s with the OS on a 7200.11 and the game installed on the P128. Game and OS on the 7200.11 was 40s.

So there's still a hefty benefit, but really you get the most from an SSD when you use it as an OS and game data drive (for gamers).
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.