Corsair V128 Nova Review

Introduction

Corsair V128 Nova Review

Introduction

This Monday sees another of our old favourite, the SSD, come through the OC3D secret underground testing facility. Rarely does any hardware have more predictable responses in our comments section with the opinion split between wonderful and expensive.

Thanks to recent reductions in the price of NAND flash, Solid State Drives are slowly creeping down in price. That isn't to say they are as affordable as mechanical drives, but for something that gives the same equivalent performance gain as a new processor or monster graphics card, they are exactly the price you'd expect.

Today we take a look at the latest in a long line of Corsair SSDs, the Nova.

Technical Specifications

Before we discuss what we have, here are the specifications from the Corsair website.

ModelCSSD-V128GB2-BRKT
TechnologyIndilinx Barefoot controller
Form Factor2.5 inch
Capacity128GB unformatted
InterfaceSATA II 3.0Gbps
MemoryIntel 32nm MLC NAND Flash
Performance270MB/s sequential read
195MB/s sequential write
DRAM Cache64MB Elpida
Weight80g
Power Consumption load2.0W maximum
Power Consumption idle0.5W maximum
Mean-Time Before Failure1 Million Hours
Shock Absorption40G
ExtrasTwo year warranty
Included 3.5" adaptor bracket


Three big technological things to take note of here. Firstly we have an Indilinx Barefoot controller which is the controller of choice for high end SSDs. Allied to this is 64MB of Elpida cache and, of the two major NAND manufacturers, Corsair have chosen to use Intel rather than Samsung memory chips. We'll take a closer look at these later on.

The other interesting thing is that Corsair claim the performance is 270MB/s read and 195MB/s write. Heady numbers indeed. Of course we all know what to make of claimed performance, but Corsair rarely over-state their case and if they are accurate we could be looking at quite a beast here.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

19-04-2010, 05:12:26

tinytomlogan
SSD's are still high on many peoples wish lists, so VB takes a look at the new Corsair varient.

Continue Reading

19-04-2010, 05:41:49

Chewbacca
I want one! Does it really make that much of a difference going from a normal HDD to an SSD?

19-04-2010, 05:47:21

VonBlade
Imagine going from 512MB of RAM on Windows 7 to 4GB.

19-04-2010, 06:41:53

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Chewbacca'
I want one! Does it really make that much of a difference going from a normal HDD to an SSD?
Not for the outlay. At still over 2 a gig, for the home user I'd still not recommend them.

At such a low capacity, u would probably end up using ur old drive as a means to store stuff, leaving mainly the OS, and ur malware etc on the SSD.

For definite, if the cash is available and u don't use much harddrive space, they're great. But apparently having the cash to buy a pc component is not meant to be the way to look at it, ur meant to look at them value for money. Bang for buck. Speed for sure - capacity (the bread and butter of drives) a definite no. Some people will buy these then complain about the prices of other things, e.g.

I use them in many pc/mac setups now and tbh, if ur OS is installed and maintained efficiently, there are just as viable alternatives, leaving u to spend ur cash on more important components.

19-04-2010, 07:22:18

tinytomlogan
I personally see an SSD as an important part of a high spec system now. mechanicals just dont cut it once you have used a decent SSD. Even short stroked drives you can still notice a difference tbh.

19-04-2010, 07:45:33

nunzio
What I would like to see as a test is if you keep your OS/System on a hdd, and put the games installed on the ssd, would that make much of a difference?

19-04-2010, 09:13:19

JN
Probably not a massive amount, but if you had the swap file on the SSD and not enough physical ram for the game to function inside it could improve performance a fair bit.

19-04-2010, 10:09:06

AMD_PBz
The results look very impressive for a Corsair SSD.

19-04-2010, 10:11:35

Rastalovich
Results aside, I had decent Corsair's supplied to me - well insisted actually - as I've not come across a more helpful support in a long time. And the controllers the SSDs use ofc.

20-04-2010, 07:08:11

Blackbeard
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='nunzio'
What I would like to see as a test is if you keep your OS/System on a hdd, and put the games installed on the ssd, would that make much of a difference?
I've actually done a few tests with the SSD as 'games data drive' and the OS on a HDD.

/digs up results

With the OS and game installed on a P128, a level in Crysis loaded in 18s, compared to 22s with the OS on a 7200.11 and the game installed on the P128. Game and OS on the 7200.11 was 40s.

So there's still a hefty benefit, but really you get the most from an SSD when you use it as an OS and game data drive (for gamers).
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.