Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB SSD Review

AIDA64 and Anvil Sequential

Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB SSD

AIDA64

We're off to a good start with the AIDA64 read test suite. The Neutron GTX gives us the fastest speeds we've yet seen from a single drive. 580 MB/s in the random test is outstanding.

 

Anvil Sequential

Anvil provides us with the bulk of our test results, thanks to its easy to use interface and plethora of test options. The Sequential IOPS for both read and write are around the same as every other drive we've seen, although just shy of the very fastest drives.

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-09-2012, 06:03:06

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...084014513l.jpg

The first SSD equipped with the LM87800 controller appears in our offices. How does it perform?

Continue Reading

14-09-2012, 09:40:53

Greenback
just out of curiosity in your review you say you don't care about ocz is there any particular reason why?
Personaly I still think ssd's are to expensive for the size, I'd like to see 250g below 100 b4 I'd consider buying 1

14-09-2012, 09:41:55

seumasbeathan
^Ocz are prone to breaking

14-09-2012, 20:03:04

jimbo32
I recently read another review which tested the GTX and the vanilla Neutron side by side, and they were very close in most benchmarks. Close enough so that the cheaper version seems like it might be the better value (~$45 in the difference for 240GB here in Canada).

Any thoughts, Tom?

(Also, I can't thank you enough for all the review vids - they've been extremely helpful while I've been gathering parts for my first PC build.)

20-09-2012, 10:00:12

d6bmg
Seems to be a awesome drive.
But I've a doubt in my mind over the reliability of new LM87800 controller.

17-10-2012, 00:02:25

wizkid1331
I have been seeing a lot of poor reviews to the exact complication you were describing about the drive being laggy; Did you ever find out what was the issue? I am looking to buy ASUS Maximus V EXTREME LGA 1155 Intel Z77 and was curious if this drive would not work properly;

24-10-2012, 09:08:24

Ralm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenback View Post
just out of curiosity in your review you say you don't care about ocz is there any particular reason why?
Personaly I still think ssd's are to expensive for the size, I'd like to see 250g below 100 b4 I'd consider buying 1
Yeah the problem with OCZ is that you cant trust it 100%.

The new vertex 4 with indilinx controler might be a diferent story, but about previous versions I wont recomend anyone to get them. I really regret have bought mine since I had some issues(and still do sometimes) of sistem frozing, etc. I had to turn OS HDD plug and play to be able to be stable.

Next time I get an SSD is gona be corsair or Intel for sure.

27-10-2012, 08:37:15

madman
Just bought Neutron Series GTX 120GB version off the back of this excellent review by Tom. I was looking forward to the improvement in performance but sadly I got the opposite. Now I am experiencing lag within windows 7. Has anyone experience the same issue ?

27-10-2012, 08:39:44

jamesriley94
How do you have it installed?
SATA 6? AHCI or IDE?

Could just be a faulty unit I support - or maybe even a dodgey sata cable?

27-10-2012, 09:18:52

tinytomlogan
^^^Be config problem, IE: user/driver related issues.

Id put money on the fact you are using a 2011 board.

27-10-2012, 09:26:23

madman
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
^^^Be config problem, IE: user/driver related issues.

Id put money on the fact you are using a 2011 board.
Alas I am running the Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD on a ZOTAC 9300-ITX motherboard.

I have used a new SATA cable, different SATA port and even try a secure clean as advised by corsair posts.

Maybe the SATA controller on older motherboards dont play game with these new drives.

27-10-2012, 09:28:59

jamesriley94
Maybe not 2011 then Tom
But yeh, your motherboard will be why.

27-10-2012, 09:45:05

tinytomlogan
Be the drivers no doubt.

01-11-2012, 18:07:40

Deadfire19
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Be the drivers no doubt.
Hello, I just got the Corsair Neutron GTX 240gb. I have the Asus Crosshair IV mobo.

I have just added the as a boot drive and have just installed windows 7 onto it. Obviously a clean install. I am experiencing crashing and freezing.

I am coming from the Force 3 120gb so I know how a SSD behaves with windows and this is the first time I have ever seen the spinning loading symbol on the taskbar during startup.

What should I do?

EDIT: I just updated the bios on the mobo and it improved drastically but it still lags, horribly, Programs like chrome which work smoothly on any system just keep freezing.

EDIT2: I should mention that its lags for a bit, then it works, then lags, then works. It just goes in a cycle. However, this is not okay for any SSD, this is supposed to be one of the best.

09-11-2012, 14:26:25

Anthrax27
My rig needs a SSD and quick :|

09-11-2012, 22:13:43

CPMFW
id love to swap my force gt for a neutron gtx

10-11-2012, 06:38:11

rossi94
Quote:
Originally Posted by CPMFW View Post
id love to swap my force gt for a neutron gtx
You wouldn't notice the difference
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.