Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB SSD Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB SSD 

Introduction

Such is the market saturation and high speeds available from the many SandForce equipped solid state drives, it's a confident company indeed who chooses to bring a new controller to the table and place it into a flagship model.

However, Corsair have never been a company to back down from a challenge, and so today we're looking at their latest drive, the Neutron GTX, equipped with a Link_A_Media Devices (hereafter LAMD) LM87800 controller. So what are the main benefits of this?

Firstly the big thrust with the LAMD is the multi-tasking design ethos. Although for most of us raw speed is the key ingredient, it's a drives ability to handle multiple input and output operations (IOPS) that mean you can work with a multitude of files and still, hopefully, get excellent performance.

Secondly the LAMD maintains its throughput without resorting to compression. Many controllers compress your data 'on the fly' to enable it to reach the highest speeds, but this obviously creates problems when you're transferring already compressed media. The LM87800 doesn't utilise compression and so you should see high performance regardless of the file type you're working with.

Finally the LM87800 has a raft of inbuilt management technologies to keep the drive performing at its peak for far longer than comparable controllers. These include the all important wear levelling, garbage collection and TRIM support. Today's GTX model also contains 'Adaptive DSP' which allows the controller to determine the optimum performance levels of the NAND with a minimal amount of queries, which should greatly extend the life of the NAND, and the speed of the drive.

Of course, most of these long-term benefits wont be visible in the short time we have available to test, so we'll concentrate mainly upon the speed.

Technical Specifications

ModelCSSD-N240GBGTX
ControllerLink_A_Media Devices LM87800
Flash MemoryToshiba Toggle-Mode NAND
InterfaceSATA III 6Gb/s
Operating Temperature0° to 70°C
Operating Humidity10% to 90%
Max Operating Altitude40000ft
MTBF2 million hours

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-09-2012, 06:03:06

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...084014513l.jpg

The first SSD equipped with the LM87800 controller appears in our offices. How does it perform?

Continue Reading

14-09-2012, 09:40:53

Greenback
just out of curiosity in your review you say you don't care about ocz is there any particular reason why?
Personaly I still think ssd's are to expensive for the size, I'd like to see 250g below 100 b4 I'd consider buying 1

14-09-2012, 09:41:55

seumasbeathan
^Ocz are prone to breaking

14-09-2012, 20:03:04

jimbo32
I recently read another review which tested the GTX and the vanilla Neutron side by side, and they were very close in most benchmarks. Close enough so that the cheaper version seems like it might be the better value (~$45 in the difference for 240GB here in Canada).

Any thoughts, Tom?

(Also, I can't thank you enough for all the review vids - they've been extremely helpful while I've been gathering parts for my first PC build.)

20-09-2012, 10:00:12

d6bmg
Seems to be a awesome drive.
But I've a doubt in my mind over the reliability of new LM87800 controller.

17-10-2012, 00:02:25

wizkid1331
I have been seeing a lot of poor reviews to the exact complication you were describing about the drive being laggy; Did you ever find out what was the issue? I am looking to buy ASUS Maximus V EXTREME LGA 1155 Intel Z77 and was curious if this drive would not work properly;

24-10-2012, 09:08:24

Ralm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenback View Post
just out of curiosity in your review you say you don't care about ocz is there any particular reason why?
Personaly I still think ssd's are to expensive for the size, I'd like to see 250g below 100 b4 I'd consider buying 1
Yeah the problem with OCZ is that you cant trust it 100%.

The new vertex 4 with indilinx controler might be a diferent story, but about previous versions I wont recomend anyone to get them. I really regret have bought mine since I had some issues(and still do sometimes) of sistem frozing, etc. I had to turn OS HDD plug and play to be able to be stable.

Next time I get an SSD is gona be corsair or Intel for sure.

27-10-2012, 08:37:15

madman
Just bought Neutron Series GTX 120GB version off the back of this excellent review by Tom. I was looking forward to the improvement in performance but sadly I got the opposite. Now I am experiencing lag within windows 7. Has anyone experience the same issue ?

27-10-2012, 08:39:44

jamesriley94
How do you have it installed?
SATA 6? AHCI or IDE?

Could just be a faulty unit I support - or maybe even a dodgey sata cable?

27-10-2012, 09:18:52

tinytomlogan
^^^Be config problem, IE: user/driver related issues.

Id put money on the fact you are using a 2011 board.

27-10-2012, 09:26:23

madman
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
^^^Be config problem, IE: user/driver related issues.

Id put money on the fact you are using a 2011 board.
Alas I am running the Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD on a ZOTAC 9300-ITX motherboard.

I have used a new SATA cable, different SATA port and even try a secure clean as advised by corsair posts.

Maybe the SATA controller on older motherboards dont play game with these new drives.

27-10-2012, 09:28:59

jamesriley94
Maybe not 2011 then Tom
But yeh, your motherboard will be why.

27-10-2012, 09:45:05

tinytomlogan
Be the drivers no doubt.

01-11-2012, 18:07:40

Deadfire19
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Be the drivers no doubt.
Hello, I just got the Corsair Neutron GTX 240gb. I have the Asus Crosshair IV mobo.

I have just added the as a boot drive and have just installed windows 7 onto it. Obviously a clean install. I am experiencing crashing and freezing.

I am coming from the Force 3 120gb so I know how a SSD behaves with windows and this is the first time I have ever seen the spinning loading symbol on the taskbar during startup.

What should I do?

EDIT: I just updated the bios on the mobo and it improved drastically but it still lags, horribly, Programs like chrome which work smoothly on any system just keep freezing.

EDIT2: I should mention that its lags for a bit, then it works, then lags, then works. It just goes in a cycle. However, this is not okay for any SSD, this is supposed to be one of the best.

09-11-2012, 14:26:25

Anthrax27
My rig needs a SSD and quick :|

09-11-2012, 22:13:43

CPMFW
id love to swap my force gt for a neutron gtx

10-11-2012, 06:38:11

rossi94
Quote:
Originally Posted by CPMFW View Post
id love to swap my force gt for a neutron gtx
You wouldn't notice the difference
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.