Corsair Flash Voyager Port

Conclusion

Corsair Flash Voyager PortConclusion
 
Using the Port meant that backing up was no longer a chore, just a simple press of a button. The backup software worked really well, and all my data is now safely stored away.
 
Although the Port won't be able to touch large, automated backups, for backing up your home snaps or music collection it is simply perfect. Once you have made large changes, or imported a load of new media, just pop in your flash drive and press the button. It's these sort of once in a while backups where the Port really comes in handy. You no longer have to mess around with powering up an external hard disk, then select the files you want, copy them across then pack it away - with the Port it's all done in the single click of a button.
 
The Flash Voyager port is a great all round product, and I really can't recommend it enough. The difference it makes to the amount of time it takes to backup is superb - Corsair must have been listening to my prayers. The build quality is great, aesthetically it is very pleasing and it works flawlessly; what more could you want?
 
Priced at £19.32 from Ebuyer, the Port offers good value for money when you consider $50 of software is included as well. The 32gb Flash Voyager drive used in today's review is also available for £59.95 from Ebuyer
 
The Good:
+ Build Quality
+ Saves time
+ Included software is easy to use
+ Works flawlessly
+ Great value for money
+ Good aesthetics and feel
 
The Mediocre:
* Really needs Corsair's own Flash Voyager USB drive to look its best
 
The Bad:
- Could be a little more weighty
 
   
 
Overclock3D would like to thank Corsair for providing today's review sample. Discuss in our forums here.  
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-05-2009, 12:21:49

Luigi
"Losing hair over data back-ups? Then Corsair may have a solution for you, and it doesn't involve a wig!"



http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...104548403s.jpg

Find out how the Corsair Flash Voyager Port got along here.

12-05-2009, 16:05:39

Bungral
Very nice product and very nice review..

Thing is I'd need a pretty hefty memory stick to be able to back up enough data.

12-05-2009, 16:13:16

PeterStoba
Nice review, link to the 32GB drive is broken

As bungral said, its not big enough, unless you used it for major backups only...

12-05-2009, 16:21:48

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PeterStoba'
Nice review, link to the 32GB drive is broken

As bungral said, its not big enough, unless you used it for major backups only...
Its not broken, ebuyer have just run out of stock It would seem.

If It doesnt come back in stock in the next few days then Ill add a different link..

32/64gb may not seem enough, but actually, all my vital data was only a fraction of what I thought it would be.

12-05-2009, 17:14:54

tinytomlogan
Just buy a WD passport 160gb for 45 and use that, doesnt have to be the usb stick.

12-05-2009, 17:32:52

zak4994
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
Just buy a WD passport 160gb for 45 and use that, doesnt have to be the usb stick.
Agree with Tom.

Relatives have one and it is awesomez

13-05-2009, 04:54:13

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
Just buy a WD passport 160gb for 45 and use that, doesnt have to be the usb stick.
Is that powered just through the USB? If you have to start faffing around with power bricks it kind of loses the appeal of the Port...

13-05-2009, 06:07:27

WC Annihilus
Yep, WD Passports go up through 500GB and are USB powered:

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/Products.asp?DriveID=525

13-05-2009, 11:58:35

k4p84
we have one of the passports at work and it is excellent

i'm thinking of getting one for myself now

13-05-2009, 16:29:33

Sleekit
Looks amazing

I already own a Corsair Voyager but I think ill b sticking to my WD passport for the time being

13-05-2009, 18:13:30

zak4994
One thing I hate about the Passport is that it is so f00king expensive. Well for me anyways.

26-06-2009, 09:13:27

Tomcat31
Looks and sounds great. One question though is does the port/software allow for backup of the USB stick to your PC? as I would find that more useful backing up my PC to the USB Stick.

26-06-2009, 09:14:32

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Tomcat31'
Looks and sounds great. One question though is does the port/software allow for backup of the USB stick to your PC? as I would find that more useful backing up my PC to the USB Stick.
I dont fully understand you there, sorry

26-06-2009, 09:32:02

Tomcat31
Sorry for not making my self clear. I currently keep alot of my documents and files on my USB stick as I work between 4 pc's at different locations. As such every so often I take a copy of my usb stick as save it to my PC. Can this device do this for at a press of a button?

26-06-2009, 09:33:48

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Tomcat31'
Sorry for not making my self clear. I currently keep alot of my documents and files on my USB stick as I work between 4 pc's at different locations. As such every so often I take a copy of my usb stick as save it to my PC. Can this device do this for at a press of a button?
You can't link it to the button from what I can see, but it's quite simple to restore from the USB drive, if that is what you mean?

26-06-2009, 09:37:20

Tomcat31
Thanks for that, it sounds like this device will be no good for what i need to do, as i want a quicker way to take a backup of my usb stick rather than use the stick as a backup drive.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.