Corsair Flash Voyager 32gb Review

Conclusion

Conclusion 
 
Having read the last page, you're probably expecting the conclusion to be quite so-so, since the performance was not particularly mind-blowing.  However, something you really need to bear in mind when buying a USB drive is the enclosure itself. The OCZ Throttle for example, delivers similar performance through USB, even more when connected with eSata, yet costs around the same price. So, why buy the Corsair? Well, if you were to drop the drive in a puddle for instance, or tread on if by accident, I know which drive I would have my money on to keep your data intact. The thick rubber casing of the Voyager is one of the best I have used; and while not bomb proof,  you really do get the feeling that breaking it would be a fairly difficult affair.
 
Priced at £63.61 from Novatech its around the same price as other branded 32gb drives. The Voyager may not be truly outstanding at anything, but neither does it have any major weaknesses. The 10 year warranty is massively reassuring; we'll probably be carrying around 10tb USB finger nails by the time the warranty runs out.  Some people may want something with more bells and whistles, but if you are looking for a solid performer that won't let you down, then look no further than the Flash Voyager.
 
The Good
+ Attractive casing
+ Feels solid, and should survive daily wear and tear
+ Rubber as opposed to plastic casing
+ Included lanyard and extension cable
+ Fast read speeds
+ 10 year Corsair warranty

The mediocre
* Write speeds are a little slow
* Nowhere to store the cap when drive is in use

The Bad
- Zilch
       
 
       
Overclock3d would like to thank Corsair for providing today's review sample. Discuss in our forums here.         
«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-06-2009, 09:21:22

Luigi
Fed up of carrying round a clumsy external hard drive? The Corsair Flash Voyager 32gb could be just the thing for you.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...212105311s.jpg

Read the full review here.

17-06-2009, 11:19:05

Rastalovich
Great stuff.

One of the things I made sure I came back from the states with, about 4 years ago, was the 8g version of this. $44 or so at the time iirc, which unfortunately was 40+ over here (as usual).

Outstanding device imo. Do-not like the rubber surround on merely a 'looks' basis, and it feels like it get's grubby, strange feeling.

Damn robust tho, nice package.

The chunkyness can get in the way of plugging it in next to populated ports.

Dunno about the one u got, but the usb connector always felt like it was overly... wiggly... as if it was broken!

hehe the lid is kewl only for the fact u can play with it whilst ur w8ing for transfers

17-06-2009, 11:29:29

zak4994
The aesthetics seem a bit generic especially the colouring.

But when it comes to performance, damn is it good.

17-06-2009, 11:55:48

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Great stuff.

One of the things I made sure I came back from the states with, about 4 years ago, was the 8g version of this. $44 or so at the time iirc, which unfortunately was 40+ over here (as usual).

Outstanding device imo. Do-not like the rubber surround on merely a 'looks' basis, and it feels like it get's grubby, strange feeling.

Damn robust tho, nice package.

The chunkyness can get in the way of plugging it in next to populated ports.

Dunno about the one u got, but the usb connector always felt like it was overly... wiggly... as if it was broken!

hehe the lid is kewl only for the fact u can play with it whilst ur w8ing for transfers
That sounds wierd? Obviously you got yours a while ago, maybe the design has changed somewhat, but I was really really impressed with the casing. As for the USB port, it's definitely in there to stay, maybe yours has come loose with time?

17-06-2009, 12:18:58

Hassan
Don't look nice, but is very fast indeed. Petty its slower than the OCZ in file transfer.

17-06-2009, 13:30:39

VonBlade
As someone who's owned a 1GB version of this for nearly a couple of years now, I can vouch for its bombproof-ness.

It truly is almost indestructable.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.