Corsair Flash Voyager 32gb Review

Introduction

Introduction 
 
Corsair are best known amongst the enthusiast community for their high performance gaming memory, the Dominator series. However, today we will be looking at something with a very different purpose, in the form of a USB flash drive.  Storing data on solid state chips rather than platters means that flash drives are far more compact, yet still offer a reasonable amount of storage space, as well as being far more resilient to the occasional knock.
 
For today's review, Corsair sent us a 32gb Drive, although a variety of drives ranging from a lowly 4gb all the way to an impressive 64gb are available. Unfortunately Corsair don't list any specs for these drives on their site, instead only offering information on how many files each drive can store. Here is a piece of such information taken from the Corsair site.
 
  
 
The figures don't really tell you an awful lot about the drive, but if you have a large selection of photos or videos that you would like to back up, the table could be rather handy. There isn't a lot we can say about the drive without any concrete specs from Corsair, so it only seems fair that we begin our examination of the drive. Head on over to the next page for the product pictorial. 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-06-2009, 09:21:22

Luigi
Fed up of carrying round a clumsy external hard drive? The Corsair Flash Voyager 32gb could be just the thing for you.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...212105311s.jpg

Read the full review here.

17-06-2009, 11:19:05

Rastalovich
Great stuff.

One of the things I made sure I came back from the states with, about 4 years ago, was the 8g version of this. $44 or so at the time iirc, which unfortunately was 40+ over here (as usual).

Outstanding device imo. Do-not like the rubber surround on merely a 'looks' basis, and it feels like it get's grubby, strange feeling.

Damn robust tho, nice package.

The chunkyness can get in the way of plugging it in next to populated ports.

Dunno about the one u got, but the usb connector always felt like it was overly... wiggly... as if it was broken!

hehe the lid is kewl only for the fact u can play with it whilst ur w8ing for transfers

17-06-2009, 11:29:29

zak4994
The aesthetics seem a bit generic especially the colouring.

But when it comes to performance, damn is it good.

17-06-2009, 11:55:48

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Great stuff.

One of the things I made sure I came back from the states with, about 4 years ago, was the 8g version of this. $44 or so at the time iirc, which unfortunately was 40+ over here (as usual).

Outstanding device imo. Do-not like the rubber surround on merely a 'looks' basis, and it feels like it get's grubby, strange feeling.

Damn robust tho, nice package.

The chunkyness can get in the way of plugging it in next to populated ports.

Dunno about the one u got, but the usb connector always felt like it was overly... wiggly... as if it was broken!

hehe the lid is kewl only for the fact u can play with it whilst ur w8ing for transfers
That sounds wierd? Obviously you got yours a while ago, maybe the design has changed somewhat, but I was really really impressed with the casing. As for the USB port, it's definitely in there to stay, maybe yours has come loose with time?

17-06-2009, 12:18:58

Hassan
Don't look nice, but is very fast indeed. Petty its slower than the OCZ in file transfer.

17-06-2009, 13:30:39

VonBlade
As someone who's owned a 1GB version of this for nearly a couple of years now, I can vouch for its bombproof-ness.

It truly is almost indestructable.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.