Corsair 240GB Force GT RAID0 Review

PC Mark Vantage and ATTO

Corsair 240GB Force GT RAID0 Review

PC Mark Vantage

Away from the results that are purely synthetic bits of data being pushed about and into the world of real testing. Combined with our 4GHz 2600K and 1600MHz RAM the Force GTs give us results that we're frankly running out of superlatives to describe. It's the kind of speed that you never cease to be amazed by.

ATTO

Finally we look at the ATTO Disk Benchmark. This utilises compressible data and so, rather in the manner of a weekly TV show that builds towards a crescendo, we saved it until last knowing it's going to be the test that the Sandforce equipped Force GT drives will perform at their very peak in.

Yes, that is 1GB per second of data transfer. Even by 32K data chunks we've passed what a single drive will achieve and we only need 256K to reach the magical number of 1GB/s in write. In fact it's a testament to how fabulous the Corsair drives are that the write test reaches this speed before the read test does.

Ladies and gentlemen, 1GB per second in both read and write.

Corsair 240GB Force GT RAID0 Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-01-2012, 06:56:32

tinytomlogan


What happens if you take one of the fastest SSDs on the market, the Corsair Force GT, and pair two up in RAID0? The quest for 1GB/s begins...

Continue Reading

04-01-2012, 07:33:30

Ya93sin
That's some pretty sweet performance there

04-01-2012, 07:46:25

dugdiamond

04-01-2012, 08:15:25

khorngor
Correct me if im wrong, but last i checked you can't have both TRIM support and RAID enabled, its one or the other.

Though i know Intel is working on something to make it happen, but im yet to hear of it being available.

04-01-2012, 08:28:22

Alicarve
Quote:
Originally Posted by khorngor View Post

Correct me if im wrong, but last i checked you can't have both TRIM support and RAID enabled, its one or the other.

Though i know Intel is working on something to make it happen, but im yet to hear of it being available.
Thats what i thought might have changed now though

04-01-2012, 08:29:27

shortstrawfate
This is exciting... I use a 1TB drive for the data on my PC, it's looking like a couple of years down the line with a small premium I'll be able to use SSD for boot *and* data, then relegate the mechanicals to backup duties.

Is this using the Intel RAID setup? Just intrigued as RAID-5 was appalling on my PC at work, whereas a straight stripe was miles better since there's no parity, but I always suspected that the driver-based RAID had some overheads even in RAID-0. It's an older board though (something MSI with an i7-850 on it, not sure what, it's an off-the-shelf HP.)

04-01-2012, 08:39:28

khorngor
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alicarve View Post

Thats what i thought might have changed now though
Pretty confident that you still can't have it, i see myself fairly up to date with tech news.

http://www.techpowerup.com/155368/Intel-Making-TRIM-on-RAID-Possible-.html

The article i read about Intel working on it, but im yet to hear anything more about it.

04-01-2012, 08:53:22

Ya93sin
Doesn't this have both TRIM and Garbage Collection support? Maybe the Garbage collection works with RAID-0 even if TRIM doesn't

04-01-2012, 08:56:43

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ya93sin View Post

Doesn't this have both TRIM and Garbage Collection support? Maybe the Garbage collection works with RAID-0 even if TRIM doesn't
If it doesn't it's not worth using. I did try my best to read the review, but honestly I don't really find SSDs exciting and my attention was grabbed more by the rig

04-01-2012, 09:05:27

sheroo
From what I understand Trim does not work with Raid 0. However GC does. I've been running an SSD Raid 0 setup for over a year and have yet to notice any perceivable drop in performance.

Brian, the only thing you missed out was to include your postal address.

04-01-2012, 09:46:35

tinytomlogan
VB was refering to trim for the drives on their own boys. In RAID TRIM isnt available (yet) and you need to rely on Garbage Collection to keep things swift

04-01-2012, 12:15:04

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheroo View Post

From what I understand Trim does not work with Raid 0. However GC does. I've been running an SSD Raid 0 setup for over a year and have yet to notice any perceivable drop in performance.

Brian, the only thing you missed out was to include your postal address.
Put ATTO on your PC.

Run it over and over for about two days.

Post the results.

04-01-2012, 12:28:19

marsey99
now the sizes are getting better and the performance is insane all we need are the prices to drop

so jelly vb

04-01-2012, 12:32:51

sheroo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z0mB13 View Post

Put ATTO on your PC.

Run it over and over for about two days.

Post the results.
Here are my ATTO results after a couple of months of normal usage.

04-01-2012, 13:01:33

ruthless
awesome just a shame that SSDs cost so much, ill be getting a ocz synapse and a wd black 1tb

04-01-2012, 13:15:12

S_I_N
Great review VB and epic numbers wish I had the $$ to do something like this but my 2 C300's are doing fine

04-01-2012, 18:12:00

dipzy
Quote:
Originally Posted by marsey99 View Post

now the sizes are getting better and the performance is insane all we need are the prices to drop

so jelly vb
Yep so true, i would love to have at least a 240GB SSD for about 200, that would be awesome.

I reckon very soon we could see this, past year they have dropped in price immensely

04-01-2012, 18:20:02

Excalabur50
All one can say really is WOW!

04-01-2012, 20:03:04

CocaCola
Wow, those are amazing results from these drives. I don't think it will be a big disadvantage without the TRIM function from within Windows 7. These drives have pretty good house cleaning abilities that run in the background.

05-01-2012, 01:22:24

Shoda
Time to start collecting pennies!

05-01-2012, 04:49:09

{uZa}DOA
Oh man those things are smoking fast...

05-01-2012, 11:49:14

Syncage
And the results can be faster. It doesn't mention which version of Intel Rapid Storage Technology used but the latest 11.0.01032 WHQL drivers make these drives perform even better.

05-01-2012, 12:20:36

Syncage


Results from my 2x120Gb Corsair Force GT Drives running in Raid 0 using the 11.0.01032 WHQL Intel RST drivers.

08-01-2012, 21:38:54

WelshD1K
Review once again missing the price from the top as was the keyboard one . yet still have a rating for value? also dare i ask how can you compare raid0 drives to non raided drives? like comparing a single card setup to a sli / crossfire ofcourse its going to be faster....

and saying that the 2 drives raid 0 speed halfed equates to 420mb/s doesnt really work like that tho does it?

19-01-2012, 17:51:46

Galamagus
huh?

08-02-2012, 16:05:51

magicc8ball
Great review it has sold me on what ssd raid I am going with!

Is there anyways we might be able to get a review of this drive but solo. To see who is the best single drive?

12-02-2012, 18:53:05

MaXiMiZe
Top review. These are hella fast
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.