Asus PCIe GEN2 SATA6G expansion card

PCMark Vantage

PCMark Vantage
 
PCMark Vantage may sound like potentially the most 'synthetic' benchmark on the market, but this couldn't be further from the truth. In a whitepaper published by Futuremark (developers of 3DMark and PCMark) they describe how PCMark mimics actual PC usage by performing application launches, web browsing, video playback, photo editing, file searching, and other day-to-day tasks. This potentially makes PCMark Vantage the most 'real world' benchmark of them all, and therefore we will be breaking down the HDD Suite benchmark into its various sections in the graphs to give you the whole picture.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Results Analysis
 
PCMark Vantage really liked the Asus 6G controller spewing out scores that were on average 30% better in favour of the Asus card. The media centre score in particular was startling, showing a dramatic 51% improvement over Intels ICH10R. While I do appreciate PCMark Vantage is a synthetic benchmark, it does use real world applications to assess a components ability and with results such as these it is no surprise Asus are shouting from the rooftops about there latest product.
 
Let's head over to the conclusion..
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

31-10-2009, 10:11:53

tinytomlogan
W3bbo takes a look at the Asus PCIe GEN2 SATA6G add in card.

Continue Reading

31-10-2009, 10:35:48

PeterStoba
Be nice to see if this affected Crossfire or SLI performance as the Gigabyte solution does.

Good review as usual though Rich

31-10-2009, 10:55:37

w3bbo
It all depends on how many slots you have available. With P55 having 16 lanes available, taking 4 up with the SATA6 card will have some effect on SLI performance, if indeed you have a spare slot to begin with on P55. X58 however has more lanes so SLI/xfire performance will not be affected unless you intend on running 2x dual GPU cards that require the full 16 lanes or indeed triSLI/crossfireX.

31-10-2009, 18:10:56

Rastalovich
Amazes me that the population on a close up look is for USB. The parts are ofc missing.

I did think, looking at another manufacturer, that the un-soldered bits were for eSATA of sorts. Apparently not.

Nice review.

Not a bad price tbh. Online stores may massage that a little. Wouldn't be too suprized if a fully populated version comes out afterwards. They're *******s for doing that. Bring out the lesser - get u to buy it - then out comes the trump card.

31-10-2009, 18:16:30

FarFarAway
Great idea for those on older tech but still want the speed. Once some drives come out at a decent price, or I pick up a 6G capable SSD I may grab this too

31-10-2009, 18:30:02

craigr1982
I'd be interested to see this card with a RAID setup of SSD's.

03-11-2009, 04:07:06

tinytomlogan
Just found out there will be an add-in card that does USB 3.0 as well - It'll be released at the same time.

03-11-2009, 11:56:50

PeterStoba
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
Just found out there will be an add-in card that does USB 3.0 as well - It'll be released at the same time.
It's already been mentioned in the review

the much hyped Asus U3S6 which DOES have USB3 was expected to retail around the $30 so I would expect this card to come in a little cheaper.

03-11-2009, 11:59:09

Rastalovich
Breaking news - on the grapevine ofc - is that MSI are disregarding both SATA 6g and USB 3.0 for this generation of mobos.

When the full articles appear as to their reasonage, u'll understand why.

05-11-2009, 08:40:11

Rastalovich
http://www.techspot.com/news/36821-nvidia-confirms-intel-wont-back-usb-30-until-2011.html

It's not a good article, but I have known that Intel aren't packaging USB3.0 for a while.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.