Cell Factor Revolution

Conclusion

Conclusion

Cell Factor is a game that makes you want it to be better. At points I got really into the game and a couple of the maps are good. Indeed, "Fuelling Station" is an awesome map and I really wanted to play it at times. Characters are fairly decent with a good spread of skills and abilities. Combine this with a couple of decent mechs and you're almost getting there.

However, Cell Factor is a game brought down by an unreliable and laggy game engine that spoils most of the game play. Couple that with an awkward HUD, badly designed menu and music that gets pretty annoying and you have a bit of a disappointment.

As a Tech Demo of PhysX, the game does very well and the range of physics and sheer volume of stuff flying around the scene is fantastic. As it is, Half Life 2 does a similar job with the Havoc engine, albeit it on a hugely smaller scale...but then it is a far superior game. Ageia's engine is very impressive and I would love to see a better game make as much use of it. Perhaps Unreal Tournament 3 will do this, although with a lack of other big titles it's going to be hard going until UT3 comes out. It's a great show-piece for PhysX - if you can bear to play it for any length of time.

As a game on its own, Cell factor just doesn't show you enough to warrant your money for PhysX and seeing as you would have to shell out for a PhysX card to play it properly anyway, that is £100 that you would have to really consider if you wanted to play the limited titles that much.

Remember the game on its own can be downloaded from here for free.

Reviewed Award

Pro's

+ Good use of PhysX
+ A couple of nice maps
+ Some nice gameplay

Con's

- Terribly coded game engine
- Average graphics
- Pointless to buy without a PhysX card
- Average sound
- You will need a PhysX card to play the game properley

Thanks to Ageia for supplying the review sample and the BFG PhysX card

Discuss in our Forums
«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-05-2007, 15:21:51

FarFarAway
Cell factor Showcases Ageia's PhysX...but is it any good?

We take a look...

Link

30-05-2007, 15:45:24

Joe
bleh phys processors shoved on a PCi bus are fricking pointless

with multi Core systems becoming the norm these will be made redundant , and quickly.

Even If a game engine is not programmed in Parallel/Smp there could easily be a seperate physics engine running on another core and it and the game engine could talk using a 'software bus'

but nice review ... i may get it (even @ 58% i want a nice looking shooter to play )

30-05-2007, 15:52:43

FarFarAway
And hey - it's free

30-05-2007, 15:59:36

Ham
Tech showcase imo, not a game.

30-05-2007, 16:02:56

Joe
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Tech showcase imo, not a game.
mindless blaster with some flair but yea a showcase of a pointless tech

31-05-2007, 05:21:20

jiffz
Awesome review Kempez - was a good read

Nice to see they are trying to offer real-life physics, where everything is destructible & movable. Do you think newer graphics cards / dual core systems, will be able to cover what the PhysX card is supposed to do?

31-05-2007, 05:23:34

FarFarAway
I don't think so actually. The operations done on the PhysX are pretty complicated and are better suited to either the PhysX card itself or a GPU, rather than a Multi-Purpose CPU with brute force

ATI have shown some pretty tech demo's on this done on the GPU, but nothing solid like a game as of yet

31-05-2007, 05:35:51

jiffz
I did always wonder where the responsibility for physics lie in a system - CPU or GPU. Seems the Phys card can take care of it all. Would be great if games utilised these cards and similar cards were brought out to compete, drive down prices and further develop physics engines.

I'd love a game like DOD:S with a totally destructable enviroment. It would stop some players camping in the same spot (boring) and force them to assess the battlefield in it's current state to find a new spot. You could also make new routes to flank the enemy/objectives. No game would be played the same again!

31-05-2007, 06:11:01

FarFarAway
Agreed mate, would be great

I think a CPU could cope with some Physics, but not on the scale that PhysX/ATI's tech demo's have shown

31-05-2007, 09:30:29

Joe
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Agreed mate, would be great

I think a CPU could cope with some Physics, but not on the scale that PhysX/ATI's tech demo's have shown
you say that now but wait until intel have 8 cores in ur box ... only 1 being used for the actual game engine / A.I.

31-05-2007, 09:40:39

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Joe'
you say that now but wait until intel have 8 cores in ur box ... only 1 being used for the actual game engine / A.I.
In theory yes but hopefully games are going to be using multiple cores.

Plus a GPU has like 128 pipelines or whatever - which is where GPU architecture (and physx) come out on top with physics
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.