Zippy Emacs GSM-6600P G1 600w PSU

Conclusion

Conclusion

Without a doubt, the GSM-6600P is one very impressive unit. Zippy Emacs have set a new standard in computer PSU design, showing that stable power and looks can co-exist in one package.

What's more impressive than the GSM-6600P's looks, is its ability to produce rock solid power output with little to no fluctuation exhibited on all of the rails. In addition to this, the voltages are actually set very close to the rail standards (+3.33v rail @ 3.35v, +5v rail @ 5.01v, +12v rail @ 12.04v) unlike many other manufacturers that set their rail voltages as high as possible to compensate for potential droop.

To top the package off, the GSM-6600P is also one of the most efficient power supplies we've ever tested here at Overclock3D, managing a very respectable 84.5% efficiency rating.

At present the Zippy Emacs GSM-6600P isn't available in the UK (or anywhere for that matter). However, I have heard that several UK retailers will be obtaining the unit shortly, and once the unit is in stock this review will be updated.

Zippy Emacs units are now being stocked over at Specialtech with the GSM-6600P retailing for around £95.


Pro's
+ No voltage droop on the +3.3v and +5v rails.
+ Minimal voltage fluctuation on +12v rail.
+ Ultra high efficiency at 84.5%
+ Elegant brushed aluminium casing.
+ Masses of power for a unit rated at 600w.
+ All cables professionally sleeved.

Con's
- English translation on packaging needs work.


Editors Choice

Thanks to Zippy Emacs for providing this unit for review.

Discuss this review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-10-2006, 03:52:53

JN
"Zippy Emacs are a name that only the most informed computer enthusiasts among us would have heard of. Today I'll be taking a look at their 600w GSM-6600P(G1) PSU as they make their way into the mainstream market."

EDIT: Oh, and it would appear that this is a world exclusive too

Linkage

06-10-2006, 04:12:17

FarFarAway
Looks sweet.

Dugg!

06-10-2006, 06:06:08

FragTek
Now that is a 1337 PSU, wow... Sweet results! Nice review Jim. Dugg.

06-10-2006, 06:42:47

llwyd
damn those are nice results, any ideas as to what we're looking at in terms of retail prices?

06-10-2006, 06:57:59

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
damn those are nice results, any ideas as to what we're looking at in terms of retail prices?
At the moment I'm not really sure. OC3D are personally pushing to get the unit over in the UK, and hopefully you should see them in small quantities soon.

06-10-2006, 07:02:56

Ham
*Goes off to poke ST with a stick*

06-10-2006, 07:36:51

FragTek
I like what they've done with the appearance, using the black aluminum case and all, very nice touch. I'm used to the plain boring steel enclosures that they usually use, this is a pleasant upgrade. And wow those rails are solid.

Once they start emerging in the states holler @ me and I'll see if I can't get one shipped over to ya.

06-10-2006, 09:14:30

Raging
Damn! that psu is rock solid,what a way to go on the first retail power supply units they are making

do i see stiff competition for pcp&c??

jason.

06-10-2006, 09:56:46

FarFarAway
Zippy are huge OEM's so I think PCP&C can start looking over their shoulders

06-10-2006, 10:36:17

WC Annihilus
I've actually heard around at points that Zippy makes PCP&C PSUs but I've also heard that they make their own so I really can't be sure. Anyways, Zippys seem to be in general only available at server stores (as that's what Zippy mainly does, build beastly server PSUs) and they can put a fairly large dent in your pocket. I think I've seen a link or 2 around of the server version (same thing, just doesn't have the "gaming power" title to it) so I can look it up if you want

06-10-2006, 11:04:49

NickS
They make their own & some of PCP&C...

Zippy > PCP&C!!

06-10-2006, 11:20:24

Dav0s
dugg!!

06-10-2006, 12:20:16

Raven
/me wonders if they will come to this side of the pond.

looked like a decent psu from several aspects.

06-10-2006, 12:32:29

JN
I certainly hope they manage to make it out into the market with some reasonable pricing. IMO they have some of the best units i've ever tested.

06-10-2006, 12:40:54

Ham
Not to metion one of the coolest names

06-10-2006, 12:42:54

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Not to metion one of the coolest names
I must admit having to resist the temptation to mention bungle and george.....

06-10-2006, 16:04:51

WC Annihilus
OMFG I do believe for that performance this thing is a steal. You wanna know why? MyAOpen.com has them for the price of... $169!!!!!!!. With about $15 shipping, end up only being 185, cheaper than PCP&C 510!

Linkage

06-10-2006, 16:29:31

Raven
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus'
end up only being 185,
that means it will end up to atleast 350 over here making it way to expensive.

06-10-2006, 18:59:11

WC Annihilus
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Raven'
that means it will end up to atleast 350 over here making it way to expensive.
You use the Euro right? I think you're confused about where I live. The price I stated was in USD, not GBP. Thus, it would actually be cheaper for you (sans shipping of course), about 150E.

06-10-2006, 19:20:19

kimandsally
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus
You use the Euro right? I think you're confused about where I live. The price I stated was in USD, not GBP. Thus, it would actually be [B]cheaper[/B'] for you (sans shipping of course), about 150E.
I think what he means is that by the time they get here the price doubles, we have shipping then import tax, then VAT then the poor soul who actually sells them has to put a bit on, he probably makes less than the VAT. There is quite a lot of expense in retailing in the UK.

06-10-2006, 19:34:45

Raven
thats right Kimandsally.

the tax on hardware is 25% for example so its not cheap.

buying from countries outside EU isnt cheap either, high chance of getting charged 25% of the total value + an additional fee.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.