Thermaltake Toughpower 1500w (W0171) ATX PSU

Conclusion

Conclusion
 
Thermaltake have never been a manufacturer that I've associated with high-end PSU's, however after putting the Toughpower 1500w through its paces today, that's definitely going to change. Not only did the Toughpower manage tight voltage regulation across all of its rails at a whopping 1329w load, but it also managed to stay extremely quiet, cool and maintain ~87% efficiency throughout the testing. The use of high quality components such as Japanese made Nippon Chemicon capacitors and an ultra silent 140mm Yate Loon fan show Thermaltake's dedication to quality on the Toughpower, and the inclusion of a 5 year warranty certainly backs this up.
 
With 1.5kw on tap, Thermaltake have also made sure that that the Toughpower is kitted out with enough cables and connectors to take full advantage of the very latest technologies such as Triple-SLI, and the uncomplicated aesthetics of the unit ensure that it wont stick out even in the most corporate of environments.
 
Combine all of these qualities with an extremely competitive £180 price tag (at time of review) and Toughpower is well on its way to becoming one of the best PSU's we've tested at Overclock3D to date.
 
 
The Good
• Extremely high efficiency recorded at just under 87%
• Tight voltage regulation on all rails
• Quiet and cool thanks to 140mm Yate Loon fan.
• Priced the same as most 1kw units, but packs an extra 500w!
• Support for Triple-SLI
• Quality components.
• Fully sleeved cables + easy grip connectors.
 
The Medicore
• 3.3v rail could have been better under 100% load - but still more than acceptable.
 
The Bad
• Not a sausage
 
 
Editors Choice Award
 
 
Thanks to Thermaltake for making this review possible. Discuss this review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

13-12-2007, 16:09:50

JN
"Beefcake!! Beefcake!! It may have 1.5kw on tap, but how will the Thermaltake Toughpower perform in the OC3D Labs?"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...162902479s.jpg

Thermaltake Toughpower 1500w (W0171) ATX PSU

13-12-2007, 16:20:29

Luigi
Very well i should think, i look forward to reading it later...

13-12-2007, 16:27:40

Rastalovich
Great review. 93% overall is pretty impressive, some nice efficiency going on there.

1. Don`t like black mesh wraps anymore.

2. Don`t like `easy grip` molex connectors.

13-12-2007, 16:32:30

FarFarAway
Both of those are industry standard and features most people look for in a PSU tbh

Good job TT, a very decent product. I'm impressed

13-12-2007, 16:44:07

ionicle
sounded like you were giving thermaltake compliments through gritted teeth at first

but good review all in all

and actually, a good unit, my god....somthing to come out of thermaltake (other than the armour) that didnt suck...wow...

13-12-2007, 16:56:42

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
sounded like you were giving thermaltake compliments through gritted teeth at first

but good review all in all

and actually, a good unit, my god....somthing to come out of thermaltake (other than the armour) that didnt suck...wow...
Haha I think I may have well been, but hey I warmed to it in the end

13-12-2007, 17:21:45

glocktodahead
lol

The bad: Not a sausage

good review, still surprised to see 1500W psu's

13-12-2007, 18:53:22

SBB
Tt PSUs are definitely looking good now

13-12-2007, 18:59:18

ionicle
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='SBB'
Tt PSUs are definitely looking good now
only thing they do that might actually sell to anyone other than the unsuspecting n00b

13-12-2007, 19:05:00

SBB
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
only thing they do that might actually sell to anyone other than the unsuspecting n00b
They make some decent stuff tbh... Tt armor and Tsunami are nice cases... also the Big Typhoon and Golden Orb coolers are good value..

Then again, they make a lot of trash too like those horrible Xaser cases

13-12-2007, 19:08:48

ionicle
its the trash i was refering to

i had a thermaltake tsunami dream...it...wasnt ....bad.... (shoot me) ....and the armor looks quite good...

but ye...the general production coming out of thermaltake is trash..

14-12-2007, 01:14:39

FragTek
Quit an impressive PSU from Thermaltrash, I was waiting the entire review for it to explode, but I was never greeted with pix of a house fire.

Good work TT, nice to see you're stepping up with some products that don't actually suck.

14-12-2007, 12:52:03

kuraegomon
ThermalTake Toughpower units (at least the ones from 1000 W up), are based on Channel Well Technologies OEM units. There are several reviews going back close to a year that have clearly demonstrated that these are consistently some of the best 1KW+ units. Nice review though, and one more piece of evidence that Thermaltake's turned the corner with their PSU's (the up-market ones anyway).

Track down JonnyGuru's review for one of the most exhaustive looks at the Toughpower 1200 (which I have). The 1500 appears to just be an up-sized later rev of this unit. My system, which draws 650+ W under load, has behaved flawlessly over the last six months with this unit.

The one thing I would mention, which may have been fixed with the 1500, is that the 12V connector can be a stretch, in large mid-tower to full-tower cases that bottom-mount the PSU (oy, that sounds a little dirty). An extender cable may be in order.

The Toughpower 850 may also be built off a CWT, in which case I'd recommend that for someone with saner (and greener!) power requirements. I prefer to run my PS's at 50-70% of their rated capacity, for greater longevity, hence the 1200.

And in common with everyone else - I recommend you stay the hell away from all of Thermaltake's non-CWT PSU's.

14-12-2007, 13:11:57

FarFarAway
Not sure what you mean by "behind the curve". ThermalTake may have taken to start making decent PSU's, but they still have a lot of products not up to scratch. I would like to see an improvement in quality throughout their range. This is a good start though

14-12-2007, 14:52:41

kuraegomon
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Not sure what you mean by "behind the curve". ThermalTake may have taken to start making decent PSU's, but they still have a lot of products not up to scratch. I would like to see an improvement in quality throughout their range. This is a good start though
I simply meant that this improvement in their high-end PSU line has been noticed in other quarters since early this year ... and yes, they do need to clear a lot of the crap out of their other product lines.

14-12-2007, 16:06:52

JN
Cheers for the info kuraegomon (<- i had to paste that). You are indeed correct that the 1500 is manufactured by CWT. I would have mentioned it in the review, but tend to try and distance myself from the politics that come around from products that have one persons name on it, but are made by another

What we need from TT now is some elegant, thick alu, top-end w/c ready cases
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.