Thermaltake Toughpower 1500w (W0171) ATX PSU

Test Results

Load & Efficiency Tests
 
To provide our readers with the most accurate results, Overclock3D uses a custom built PSU load tester on all reviews. This not only gives much more reliable results than the testing methods employed by other sites, but also allows for all current and future review results to be compared side-by-side.
 
Efficiency tests are performed by measuring the wattage consumed by the power supply at the mains (Mains Draw) against the power consumed by the OC3D power supply stress tester (PSU Load). These results may not be 100% accurate, but have proven to be extremely close to results obtained from professional equipment.
 
   0%  50%  100%
 +3.3v Rail  0w  66w  99w
 +5.0v Rail  0w  100w  150w
 +12v Rail(s)  0w  600w  1080w
 Total  0w  766w  1329w
 
Toughpower 1500w Load
 
Due to a restriction with our load tester, we were only able to place a maximum load of 1329w across all rails on the Toughpower. However, this only comes 160w short of the rated 1500w output, and certainly gave us a good insight into the performance of the unit.
 
All rails on the Toughpower stayed well within ATX specs of ±5% and considering that a load of 90 amps was applied to the 12v rails, the fluctuation of under 0.20v was exceptional. The same can also be said for the +3.3v and +5v rails, which despite being placed under their maximum loads of 30a, didn't fluctuate more than 0.10v.
 
Toughpower 1500w Efficiency
 
Thermaltake state that the Toughpower has an efficiency level of "up to 87%", and to be honest I was extremely sceptical of this. However the results don't lie, and as we can see from above, the Toughpower lived up to its promises, coming within a whisker of 87% at both 50% and 100% load levels.
 
This is actually the most efficient PSU we've ever tested here at Overclock3D - a good 2% higher than it's nearest competitor. Good job Thermaltake!
 
 
Temperature Testing
In our continuing efforts to make power supply reviews more thorough, rather than simply checking voltage stability, Overclock3D will now be recording the temperature of each PSU as it undergoes testing. Temperature recordings will be taken from the underside of the PSU's outer casing at 0%, 50% and 100% load levels using a laser infra-red thermometer in an attempt to gauge how much heat is likely to radiate into the end-users case.
 
Toughpower 1500w Temperature
 
One of the biggest problems when it comes to 1kw+ PSU's is the sheer amount of heat that they produce when under full load. However, considering that the efficiency of a PSU goes almost hand-in-hand with the heat it produces, it's no surprise that the Toughpower performed exceptionally well. Rising only 10°C from 0% load to 100% load, it's fair to say that the 140mm fan used inside the unit combined with it's 87% efficiency make this one very cool PSU.
 
 
Noise Testing
 
Possibly the hardest part of any PSU review is summarising the level of noise given out by the unit. The threshold for what is considered 'noisy' varies from person to person and therefore what I may consider a quiet unit, another person may consider extremely loud. For this reason, all reviews from this point forward will be using a dBA meter to measure the level of noise output by the PSU.
 
All noise measurements are taken in a quiet room with the dB(A) meter located 30cm away from the exhaust fan on the unit at 0%, 50% and 100% load levels. During the measurements, the fans located inside the PSU load tester are briefly switched off.
 
Toughpower 1500w Noise Level
 
The Toughpower impresses once again by showing that not only is it cool, but also quiet too. With a recorded output of 32dBA at 100% load (1329w), Thermaltake have clearly made the right choice by using a Yate Loon 140mm fan.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

13-12-2007, 16:09:50

JN
"Beefcake!! Beefcake!! It may have 1.5kw on tap, but how will the Thermaltake Toughpower perform in the OC3D Labs?"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...162902479s.jpg

Thermaltake Toughpower 1500w (W0171) ATX PSU

13-12-2007, 16:20:29

Luigi
Very well i should think, i look forward to reading it later...

13-12-2007, 16:27:40

Rastalovich
Great review. 93% overall is pretty impressive, some nice efficiency going on there.

1. Don`t like black mesh wraps anymore.

2. Don`t like `easy grip` molex connectors.

13-12-2007, 16:32:30

FarFarAway
Both of those are industry standard and features most people look for in a PSU tbh

Good job TT, a very decent product. I'm impressed

13-12-2007, 16:44:07

ionicle
sounded like you were giving thermaltake compliments through gritted teeth at first

but good review all in all

and actually, a good unit, my god....somthing to come out of thermaltake (other than the armour) that didnt suck...wow...

13-12-2007, 16:56:42

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
sounded like you were giving thermaltake compliments through gritted teeth at first

but good review all in all

and actually, a good unit, my god....somthing to come out of thermaltake (other than the armour) that didnt suck...wow...
Haha I think I may have well been, but hey I warmed to it in the end

13-12-2007, 17:21:45

glocktodahead
lol

The bad: Not a sausage

good review, still surprised to see 1500W psu's

13-12-2007, 18:53:22

SBB
Tt PSUs are definitely looking good now

13-12-2007, 18:59:18

ionicle
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='SBB'
Tt PSUs are definitely looking good now
only thing they do that might actually sell to anyone other than the unsuspecting n00b

13-12-2007, 19:05:00

SBB
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
only thing they do that might actually sell to anyone other than the unsuspecting n00b
They make some decent stuff tbh... Tt armor and Tsunami are nice cases... also the Big Typhoon and Golden Orb coolers are good value..

Then again, they make a lot of trash too like those horrible Xaser cases

13-12-2007, 19:08:48

ionicle
its the trash i was refering to

i had a thermaltake tsunami dream...it...wasnt ....bad.... (shoot me) ....and the armor looks quite good...

but ye...the general production coming out of thermaltake is trash..

14-12-2007, 01:14:39

FragTek
Quit an impressive PSU from Thermaltrash, I was waiting the entire review for it to explode, but I was never greeted with pix of a house fire.

Good work TT, nice to see you're stepping up with some products that don't actually suck.

14-12-2007, 12:52:03

kuraegomon
ThermalTake Toughpower units (at least the ones from 1000 W up), are based on Channel Well Technologies OEM units. There are several reviews going back close to a year that have clearly demonstrated that these are consistently some of the best 1KW+ units. Nice review though, and one more piece of evidence that Thermaltake's turned the corner with their PSU's (the up-market ones anyway).

Track down JonnyGuru's review for one of the most exhaustive looks at the Toughpower 1200 (which I have). The 1500 appears to just be an up-sized later rev of this unit. My system, which draws 650+ W under load, has behaved flawlessly over the last six months with this unit.

The one thing I would mention, which may have been fixed with the 1500, is that the 12V connector can be a stretch, in large mid-tower to full-tower cases that bottom-mount the PSU (oy, that sounds a little dirty). An extender cable may be in order.

The Toughpower 850 may also be built off a CWT, in which case I'd recommend that for someone with saner (and greener!) power requirements. I prefer to run my PS's at 50-70% of their rated capacity, for greater longevity, hence the 1200.

And in common with everyone else - I recommend you stay the hell away from all of Thermaltake's non-CWT PSU's.

14-12-2007, 13:11:57

FarFarAway
Not sure what you mean by "behind the curve". ThermalTake may have taken to start making decent PSU's, but they still have a lot of products not up to scratch. I would like to see an improvement in quality throughout their range. This is a good start though

14-12-2007, 14:52:41

kuraegomon
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Not sure what you mean by "behind the curve". ThermalTake may have taken to start making decent PSU's, but they still have a lot of products not up to scratch. I would like to see an improvement in quality throughout their range. This is a good start though
I simply meant that this improvement in their high-end PSU line has been noticed in other quarters since early this year ... and yes, they do need to clear a lot of the crap out of their other product lines.

14-12-2007, 16:06:52

JN
Cheers for the info kuraegomon (<- i had to paste that). You are indeed correct that the 1500 is manufactured by CWT. I would have mentioned it in the review, but tend to try and distance myself from the politics that come around from products that have one persons name on it, but are made by another

What we need from TT now is some elegant, thick alu, top-end w/c ready cases
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.