Thermaltake Toughpower 1500w (W0171) ATX PSU

Packaging & Appearance

Packaging
 
As you'd expect from a 1kw+ PSU, the packaging on the Toughpower 1500w is extremely large. This certainly gives us a good indication that the unit contained within isn't going to be your average ATX sized affair. The weight of the box also reinforces this theory, with the Toughpower feeling almost as heavy as the PCP&C Turbocool 1kw we reviewed a short while ago.
 
Thermaltake Toughpower 1500w Box Front Thermaltake Toughpower 1500w Box Back
 
Thermaltake Toughpower 1500w Box Side Thermaltake Toughpower 1500w Box Side
 
The styling of the box follows a fairly simple theme of red, white and orange on a black background. This is pretty much in keeping with many of Thermaltake's other products, but doesn't exactly shout "buy me" when placed on a retailers shelf.
 
Thermaltake Toughpower 1500w Features Thermaltake Toughpower 1500w Output
 
Both sides of the box give a detailed list of features and specifications along with a chart detailing the output of all rails on the unit. This really mirrors the specifications we covered back on page 1, but once again we can see that Thermaltake have divided the rails into two 750w sections giving the impression that this unit at least contains two transformers.
 
Thermaltake Toughpower 1500w Packaging Thermaltake Toughpower 1500w Contents
 
Thermaltake have gone to extraordinary lengths to ensure that the Toughpower arrives in tip-top condition by not only placing the unit inside a bubble wrap bag, but also encasing the entire unit in a moulded styrofoam slab. The accessories and modular cables are also individually wrapped in their own bags to prevent anything from being lost or damaged in transit. 
 
In the box you will find the following items:
• Toughpower manual and warranty sheet.
• Modular cable set.
• Canvas pouch for modular cables.
• ATX case screws.
• Silicone PSU mount for noise isolation. 
 
 
Appearance 
 
Thermaltake are well known for their outlandish designs and flashing lights on a lot of their products, however as we can see from the images below, the Toughpower features quite an understated black/grey painted finish with no signs of any "bling".  In my opinion the Toughpower 1500w would look perfectly at home inside any machine from a home PC to an enterprise server.
 
Thermaltake Toughpower 1500w Bottom Thermaltake Toughpower 1500w Back
 
The bottom of the unit features a punched fan grill rather than the usual wire mesh grills found on most PSU's. Personally this isn't to my taste as it looks slightly dated, but it does have the added advantage of being totally flush with the rest of the casing, thus avoiding any potential installation issues. Those of us with a keen eye will also notice that the fan is considerably larger than the ones found on most units. This is because Thermaltake have actually managed to squeeze a 140mm model inside, but we'll take a closer look at that later on.
 
The back of the unit is fairly standard with a honeycomb mesh grill that is designed to allow heated air to freely exit the unit without any obstruction. However, credit has to be given to Thermaltake for the use of a high quality power switch. When you consider that over 1.5kw could be passing through this switch, it makes sense to use something of high quality that is also capable of handling that kind of load.
 
Thermaltake Toughpower 1500w Top Thermaltake Toughpower 1500w Front
 
Thermaltake have placed the specifications sticker at the top of the unit rather than at the side like most manufacturers. This has the advantage of not covering over the side of the power supply you are most likely to see once it is installed inside a windowed case.
 
At the front of the unit we can see a collection of 10 modular plugs, all of which are in either 6-Pin or 8-Pin PCI-E format. Interestingly, all of the red connectors are set aside for powering PCI-E graphics cards, while the remaining four black connectors are for peripherals such as CD/DVD Drives and Hard Disks.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

13-12-2007, 16:09:50

JN
"Beefcake!! Beefcake!! It may have 1.5kw on tap, but how will the Thermaltake Toughpower perform in the OC3D Labs?"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...162902479s.jpg

Thermaltake Toughpower 1500w (W0171) ATX PSU

13-12-2007, 16:20:29

Luigi
Very well i should think, i look forward to reading it later...

13-12-2007, 16:27:40

Rastalovich
Great review. 93% overall is pretty impressive, some nice efficiency going on there.

1. Don`t like black mesh wraps anymore.

2. Don`t like `easy grip` molex connectors.

13-12-2007, 16:32:30

FarFarAway
Both of those are industry standard and features most people look for in a PSU tbh

Good job TT, a very decent product. I'm impressed

13-12-2007, 16:44:07

ionicle
sounded like you were giving thermaltake compliments through gritted teeth at first

but good review all in all

and actually, a good unit, my god....somthing to come out of thermaltake (other than the armour) that didnt suck...wow...

13-12-2007, 16:56:42

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
sounded like you were giving thermaltake compliments through gritted teeth at first

but good review all in all

and actually, a good unit, my god....somthing to come out of thermaltake (other than the armour) that didnt suck...wow...
Haha I think I may have well been, but hey I warmed to it in the end

13-12-2007, 17:21:45

glocktodahead
lol

The bad: Not a sausage

good review, still surprised to see 1500W psu's

13-12-2007, 18:53:22

SBB
Tt PSUs are definitely looking good now

13-12-2007, 18:59:18

ionicle
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='SBB'
Tt PSUs are definitely looking good now
only thing they do that might actually sell to anyone other than the unsuspecting n00b

13-12-2007, 19:05:00

SBB
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
only thing they do that might actually sell to anyone other than the unsuspecting n00b
They make some decent stuff tbh... Tt armor and Tsunami are nice cases... also the Big Typhoon and Golden Orb coolers are good value..

Then again, they make a lot of trash too like those horrible Xaser cases

13-12-2007, 19:08:48

ionicle
its the trash i was refering to

i had a thermaltake tsunami dream...it...wasnt ....bad.... (shoot me) ....and the armor looks quite good...

but ye...the general production coming out of thermaltake is trash..

14-12-2007, 01:14:39

FragTek
Quit an impressive PSU from Thermaltrash, I was waiting the entire review for it to explode, but I was never greeted with pix of a house fire.

Good work TT, nice to see you're stepping up with some products that don't actually suck.

14-12-2007, 12:52:03

kuraegomon
ThermalTake Toughpower units (at least the ones from 1000 W up), are based on Channel Well Technologies OEM units. There are several reviews going back close to a year that have clearly demonstrated that these are consistently some of the best 1KW+ units. Nice review though, and one more piece of evidence that Thermaltake's turned the corner with their PSU's (the up-market ones anyway).

Track down JonnyGuru's review for one of the most exhaustive looks at the Toughpower 1200 (which I have). The 1500 appears to just be an up-sized later rev of this unit. My system, which draws 650+ W under load, has behaved flawlessly over the last six months with this unit.

The one thing I would mention, which may have been fixed with the 1500, is that the 12V connector can be a stretch, in large mid-tower to full-tower cases that bottom-mount the PSU (oy, that sounds a little dirty). An extender cable may be in order.

The Toughpower 850 may also be built off a CWT, in which case I'd recommend that for someone with saner (and greener!) power requirements. I prefer to run my PS's at 50-70% of their rated capacity, for greater longevity, hence the 1200.

And in common with everyone else - I recommend you stay the hell away from all of Thermaltake's non-CWT PSU's.

14-12-2007, 13:11:57

FarFarAway
Not sure what you mean by "behind the curve". ThermalTake may have taken to start making decent PSU's, but they still have a lot of products not up to scratch. I would like to see an improvement in quality throughout their range. This is a good start though

14-12-2007, 14:52:41

kuraegomon
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Not sure what you mean by "behind the curve". ThermalTake may have taken to start making decent PSU's, but they still have a lot of products not up to scratch. I would like to see an improvement in quality throughout their range. This is a good start though
I simply meant that this improvement in their high-end PSU line has been noticed in other quarters since early this year ... and yes, they do need to clear a lot of the crap out of their other product lines.

14-12-2007, 16:06:52

JN
Cheers for the info kuraegomon (<- i had to paste that). You are indeed correct that the 1500 is manufactured by CWT. I would have mentioned it in the review, but tend to try and distance myself from the politics that come around from products that have one persons name on it, but are made by another

What we need from TT now is some elegant, thick alu, top-end w/c ready cases
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.