Thermaltake Toughpower 1500w (W0171) ATX PSU

Introduction & Specs

Introduction
 
When it comes to the world of cases and cooling everyone (and their dog) has heard of Thermaltake. With their headoffices based in Taiwan and a total of seven other offices located around the world, Thermaltake have experienced an explosion of growth since their inception back in 1999.
 
Responsible for products such as the "Big Water 745" water cooling system and "Tsunami" ATX case, it's fair to say that Thermaltake have always catered for the enthusiast on a budget - whilst also trying to maintain the highest level of quality possible at that price point.
 
In 2005 Thermaltake introduced their "Toughpower" PSU range. Designed to pick up where their previous Purepower range left off, the Toughpower proved to be stable, quiet and well priced resulting in many awards worldwide. Today we're going to be looking at the latest model in the Toughpower range. Rated at 1500w, the Toughpower is actually one of the most powerful consumer PSU's to date, but before we get down to business let's find out a little more about Thermaltake from their website:

Thermaltake Technology Co., Ltd.
started its core business based on our extensive knowledge of PC thermal management during the era where the area of performance CPU cooling was only exclusive for "overclockers" orPC enthusiasts. With the company's initial launch of Orb coolers, it created waves of shocks and appraisals throughout the gaming and overclocking communities. Thermaltake quickly became the name gamers turn to when they need high-end and reliable thermal solutions.

With company's core business of CPU cooling still growing at a vast rate, Thermaltake made another grand entry to the PC chassis industry. To date, Thermaltake has always been considered as the pioneering company that revolutionized the PC chassis industry with Xaser series enclosures. The typical and traditional beige and plastic front panel design was outdone by Xaser series chassis's atypical gaming red and aluminum front panel. It was also the first enclosure available to public with Hardcano unti which provided users full control over computer's thermal management system.
 
 
Specifications
 
Despite the vast selection of PSU's Overclock3D has tested over the past few years, for some reason we've never got our hands on a Toughpower (until now that is!). So with the help of Thermaltake's website, let's see what this 1.5kw monster has in store for us today:

Features
• Intel ATX 12V 2.3 and EPS 2.91 compatible
• Stable 1500W continuous output, peak power at 1600W (at 50℃ operating environment)
• Four 8pin and four 6pin PCI-E connectors design supports multiple high-end graphic card setup
• Support Dual core CPU, Quad core CPU, NVIDIA SLI and all Multi-Core GPU Technology
• Four independent +12V rails provides superior performance (Total Combined load of +12V is 120A)
• Modularized Cable Management to eliminate clutter and improve airflow inside the case.
• Active Power Factor Correction (PF>0.99) and high efficiency (up to 87%).
• Industrial grade components (capacitor, transformer, etc)
• High reliability: MTBF>120,000 hours
• Quiet and reliable 14cm ball-bearing fan.
• Protections: Over Current, Over Voltage, Under Voltage, Over Temperature,
• Over Power, and Short-Circuit protection.
• Safety / EMI Approvals: CE, CB, TUV, FCC, UL, CUL, and BSMI certified.

Voltage
+12V1
+12V4
+3.3V
+12V2
+12V3
+5V
-12V
+5Vsb
Max load
20A
40A
30A
20A
40A
30A
0.8A
3.5A
Min load
1A
1A
0.5A
1A
1A
0.5A
0A
0A
Ripple & Noise
240mV
240mV
100mV
240mV
240mV
100mV
240mV
100mV
Regulation
+3,-3%
+3,-3%
+3,-3%
+3,-3% +3,-3% +3,-3%
+10,-10%
+3,-5%
Max output power
750W
750W
9.6W
17.5W
Total power
1500W
Peak Power
1600W
* Add 0.1uF and 47uF capacitors across output terminal during ripple & noise test
 
Aside from the usual safety features and certifications found on most recent PSU's, the Toughpower also sports "up to 87%" efficiency, a 14cm ball-bearing fan and an MTFB of over 120,000 hours. As expected, the unit also supports the latest 8-Pin PCI-E graphics cards, while still providing full support for mid-range cards based on 6-Pin connectors.
 
Interestingly, the output chart above has the +12v, +3.3v and +5v rails split into two arrangements of 750w. This may be a sign that Thermaltake have used two transformers inside the unit or even possibly that they've litterally crammed two 750w PSU's into one case and configured the rails to the layout we see above. Regardless, the specifications of the Toughpower are certainly extremely encouraging, and we'll find out exactly how it performs in our tests over the next few pages.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

13-12-2007, 16:09:50

JN
"Beefcake!! Beefcake!! It may have 1.5kw on tap, but how will the Thermaltake Toughpower perform in the OC3D Labs?"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...162902479s.jpg

Thermaltake Toughpower 1500w (W0171) ATX PSU

13-12-2007, 16:20:29

Luigi
Very well i should think, i look forward to reading it later...

13-12-2007, 16:27:40

Rastalovich
Great review. 93% overall is pretty impressive, some nice efficiency going on there.

1. Don`t like black mesh wraps anymore.

2. Don`t like `easy grip` molex connectors.

13-12-2007, 16:32:30

FarFarAway
Both of those are industry standard and features most people look for in a PSU tbh

Good job TT, a very decent product. I'm impressed

13-12-2007, 16:44:07

ionicle
sounded like you were giving thermaltake compliments through gritted teeth at first

but good review all in all

and actually, a good unit, my god....somthing to come out of thermaltake (other than the armour) that didnt suck...wow...

13-12-2007, 16:56:42

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
sounded like you were giving thermaltake compliments through gritted teeth at first

but good review all in all

and actually, a good unit, my god....somthing to come out of thermaltake (other than the armour) that didnt suck...wow...
Haha I think I may have well been, but hey I warmed to it in the end

13-12-2007, 17:21:45

glocktodahead
lol

The bad: Not a sausage

good review, still surprised to see 1500W psu's

13-12-2007, 18:53:22

SBB
Tt PSUs are definitely looking good now

13-12-2007, 18:59:18

ionicle
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='SBB'
Tt PSUs are definitely looking good now
only thing they do that might actually sell to anyone other than the unsuspecting n00b

13-12-2007, 19:05:00

SBB
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
only thing they do that might actually sell to anyone other than the unsuspecting n00b
They make some decent stuff tbh... Tt armor and Tsunami are nice cases... also the Big Typhoon and Golden Orb coolers are good value..

Then again, they make a lot of trash too like those horrible Xaser cases

13-12-2007, 19:08:48

ionicle
its the trash i was refering to

i had a thermaltake tsunami dream...it...wasnt ....bad.... (shoot me) ....and the armor looks quite good...

but ye...the general production coming out of thermaltake is trash..

14-12-2007, 01:14:39

FragTek
Quit an impressive PSU from Thermaltrash, I was waiting the entire review for it to explode, but I was never greeted with pix of a house fire.

Good work TT, nice to see you're stepping up with some products that don't actually suck.

14-12-2007, 12:52:03

kuraegomon
ThermalTake Toughpower units (at least the ones from 1000 W up), are based on Channel Well Technologies OEM units. There are several reviews going back close to a year that have clearly demonstrated that these are consistently some of the best 1KW+ units. Nice review though, and one more piece of evidence that Thermaltake's turned the corner with their PSU's (the up-market ones anyway).

Track down JonnyGuru's review for one of the most exhaustive looks at the Toughpower 1200 (which I have). The 1500 appears to just be an up-sized later rev of this unit. My system, which draws 650+ W under load, has behaved flawlessly over the last six months with this unit.

The one thing I would mention, which may have been fixed with the 1500, is that the 12V connector can be a stretch, in large mid-tower to full-tower cases that bottom-mount the PSU (oy, that sounds a little dirty). An extender cable may be in order.

The Toughpower 850 may also be built off a CWT, in which case I'd recommend that for someone with saner (and greener!) power requirements. I prefer to run my PS's at 50-70% of their rated capacity, for greater longevity, hence the 1200.

And in common with everyone else - I recommend you stay the hell away from all of Thermaltake's non-CWT PSU's.

14-12-2007, 13:11:57

FarFarAway
Not sure what you mean by "behind the curve". ThermalTake may have taken to start making decent PSU's, but they still have a lot of products not up to scratch. I would like to see an improvement in quality throughout their range. This is a good start though

14-12-2007, 14:52:41

kuraegomon
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Not sure what you mean by "behind the curve". ThermalTake may have taken to start making decent PSU's, but they still have a lot of products not up to scratch. I would like to see an improvement in quality throughout their range. This is a good start though
I simply meant that this improvement in their high-end PSU line has been noticed in other quarters since early this year ... and yes, they do need to clear a lot of the crap out of their other product lines.

14-12-2007, 16:06:52

JN
Cheers for the info kuraegomon (<- i had to paste that). You are indeed correct that the 1500 is manufactured by CWT. I would have mentioned it in the review, but tend to try and distance myself from the politics that come around from products that have one persons name on it, but are made by another

What we need from TT now is some elegant, thick alu, top-end w/c ready cases
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.