Thermaltake Purepower 600w

Testing

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 04/04/2006
Author: James Napier (XMS)
Hardware Acquired: Thermaltake


Testing

In order for our tests on high end PSU's to remain fair and comparable with past and future reviews we have created our own PSU stress testing device. The device is capable of placing a 8,16,24 and 32 amp load on the power supply on single or multiple 12v rails.

I've yet to see a power supply that doesnt struggle to keep the voltage above 12v when under 32a load, but lets see how our Thermaltake fairs.

 12v Molex, 8a Load 12v Molex, 16a Load

The above load tests were carried out on a single molex connector, with the voltage being measured from a PCI-E connector. I am not sure how the 3 rails in this PSU are arranged, but i would have hoped that the PCI-E connectors were on their own rail seperate from the rest of the standard molex connectors. Hopefully Thermaltake can confirm the layout of the rails.

12v PCI-E + Molex, 24a Load 12v PCI-E + Molex, 32a Load

The above 2 tests were conducted with amperage load split across a standard molex connector and a PCI-E connector. This is intended to simulate the strain of a system with a high end graphics system (crossfire/sli) and multiple other high consumption devices.

12v Rail Results

Under 32a load the Purepower managed to produce 11.80v. This is a very respectable result and well within the ATX specification margin of 5%.
The tests on the next page will show how the PSU performs in a real system, and should give you more of an idea what you can expect out of the power supply in your own system.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-04-2006, 18:36:29

JN
Today i've had the pleasure of reviewing ThermalTake's 600w PSU...with some suprising results.

Questions, comments, feel free to ask

Review Here

06-04-2006, 20:15:14

WC Annihilus
Ooh, very nice review. Nice to see that at least one TT PSU can do something Just a thing about the prices, I think we should include USD, GBP, AUD, and EURO prices so it branches out to everyone. Just an opinion though.

06-04-2006, 21:07:19

Tec
Great review XMS , did they send you the psu or did u buy that?

06-04-2006, 21:09:51

WC Annihilus
I would say it's a pretty safe bet that TT sent it to him

06-04-2006, 21:32:43

enVias
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus'
Ooh, very nice review. Nice to see that at least one TT PSU can do something Just a thing about the prices, I think we should include USD, GBP, and EURO prices so it branches out to everyone. Just an opinion though.
AUD*

06-04-2006, 21:52:57

WC Annihilus
Added and forgive me for forgetting.

07-04-2006, 00:44:26

Eguy
Its great to also see that it has an 8 pin mobo connector which is a requirement of the SLI-DR expert

07-04-2006, 03:56:52

JN
Yea it was a suprising result as TT PSU's generally dont get many mentions on hardware forums, but i'd say that it could easily keep up with my Tagan 580w.

07-04-2006, 08:28:28

PV5150
Outstanding review mate. The TT looks uber sexy, and has provided some good healthy results. 'Grats to you.

08-04-2006, 12:54:30

Raven
might have missed it but didnt se any numbers on the efficiency of the psu.

otherwise it looked good.

08-04-2006, 15:31:42

Eguy
Big props to TT on this one, I am impressed that it could keep up to your tagan mate!

08-04-2006, 15:43:15

WC Annihilus
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raven
might have missed it but didnt se any numbers on the efficiency of the psu.

otherwise it looked good.
"- High efficiency (80%) with 0.99 Active Power Factor value "

2nd page man
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.