Thermaltake Purepower 600w

Looking Inside

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 04/04/2006
Author: James Napier (XMS)
Hardware Acquired: Thermaltake


Looking Inside

We couldn't let this power supply get through our review without opening it up and having a poke around inside. Many power supplies have potentiometers inside which allow you to fine-tune the output voltages. This can be very handy if a PSU's load voltage dips below what its supposed to be.

Inside the Purepower Inside the Purepower

Unfortunatly in this case i was unable to find any potentiometers to have a play with. This isn't neccesarily a bad thing, as the power supply was most likely configured in the factory to provide good load voltages. We'll find out for sure on the next few pages.

Sirtec

Its fairly common knowledge that PSU manufacturers oursource the internal components of their power supplies to other companies. We can see above that Thermaltake have chosen a company called Sirtec. A quick search of the web shows that Sirtec have been in business since 1968, and have been producing power supplies for around 10 years. Reviews of Sirtec products on other websites seem positive on the whole, so hopefully this is a good sign.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-04-2006, 18:36:29

JN
Today i've had the pleasure of reviewing ThermalTake's 600w PSU...with some suprising results.

Questions, comments, feel free to ask

Review Here

06-04-2006, 20:15:14

WC Annihilus
Ooh, very nice review. Nice to see that at least one TT PSU can do something Just a thing about the prices, I think we should include USD, GBP, AUD, and EURO prices so it branches out to everyone. Just an opinion though.

06-04-2006, 21:07:19

Tec
Great review XMS , did they send you the psu or did u buy that?

06-04-2006, 21:09:51

WC Annihilus
I would say it's a pretty safe bet that TT sent it to him

06-04-2006, 21:32:43

enVias
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus'
Ooh, very nice review. Nice to see that at least one TT PSU can do something Just a thing about the prices, I think we should include USD, GBP, and EURO prices so it branches out to everyone. Just an opinion though.
AUD*

06-04-2006, 21:52:57

WC Annihilus
Added and forgive me for forgetting.

07-04-2006, 00:44:26

Eguy
Its great to also see that it has an 8 pin mobo connector which is a requirement of the SLI-DR expert

07-04-2006, 03:56:52

JN
Yea it was a suprising result as TT PSU's generally dont get many mentions on hardware forums, but i'd say that it could easily keep up with my Tagan 580w.

07-04-2006, 08:28:28

PV5150
Outstanding review mate. The TT looks uber sexy, and has provided some good healthy results. 'Grats to you.

08-04-2006, 12:54:30

Raven
might have missed it but didnt se any numbers on the efficiency of the psu.

otherwise it looked good.

08-04-2006, 15:31:42

Eguy
Big props to TT on this one, I am impressed that it could keep up to your tagan mate!

08-04-2006, 15:43:15

WC Annihilus
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raven
might have missed it but didnt se any numbers on the efficiency of the psu.

otherwise it looked good.
"- High efficiency (80%) with 0.99 Active Power Factor value "

2nd page man
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.