Thermaltake Purepower 600w

Appearence

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 04/04/2006
Author: James Napier (XMS)
Hardware Acquired: Thermaltake


Appearence

Thermaltake have clearly pulled out all the stops in this catagory. The Purepower comes with a nickel plated reflective finish, sleeved cabling, gold fan grill and easy grip molex connectors. The designers were obviously going for a 'classy' look with this power supply, as no UV/LED 'bling' has been added.

PSU Grill PSU Fan Grill

PSU Top Reflective Surface

The reflective surface of the power supply is easily marked by finger prints, which can be a bit of a pain. However, a swift buff with a duster and everything is restored to its former glory.
A nice touch would have been to include a cloth in with the package (as seen on other reflective PSU's), but its no biggie as i'm sure we all have spare cloths laying around!

The honeycomb grill on the back of the PSU is one of those things that grows on you over time. Personally i prefer the old look 80mm fan on the back which can be seen in Thermaltake's 680w series PSU, but i'm willing to bet that this layout gives equal, if not better cooling/noise performance.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-04-2006, 18:36:29

JN
Today i've had the pleasure of reviewing ThermalTake's 600w PSU...with some suprising results.

Questions, comments, feel free to ask

Review Here

06-04-2006, 20:15:14

WC Annihilus
Ooh, very nice review. Nice to see that at least one TT PSU can do something Just a thing about the prices, I think we should include USD, GBP, AUD, and EURO prices so it branches out to everyone. Just an opinion though.

06-04-2006, 21:07:19

Tec
Great review XMS , did they send you the psu or did u buy that?

06-04-2006, 21:09:51

WC Annihilus
I would say it's a pretty safe bet that TT sent it to him

06-04-2006, 21:32:43

enVias
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus'
Ooh, very nice review. Nice to see that at least one TT PSU can do something Just a thing about the prices, I think we should include USD, GBP, and EURO prices so it branches out to everyone. Just an opinion though.
AUD*

06-04-2006, 21:52:57

WC Annihilus
Added and forgive me for forgetting.

07-04-2006, 00:44:26

Eguy
Its great to also see that it has an 8 pin mobo connector which is a requirement of the SLI-DR expert

07-04-2006, 03:56:52

JN
Yea it was a suprising result as TT PSU's generally dont get many mentions on hardware forums, but i'd say that it could easily keep up with my Tagan 580w.

07-04-2006, 08:28:28

PV5150
Outstanding review mate. The TT looks uber sexy, and has provided some good healthy results. 'Grats to you.

08-04-2006, 12:54:30

Raven
might have missed it but didnt se any numbers on the efficiency of the psu.

otherwise it looked good.

08-04-2006, 15:31:42

Eguy
Big props to TT on this one, I am impressed that it could keep up to your tagan mate!

08-04-2006, 15:43:15

WC Annihilus
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raven
might have missed it but didnt se any numbers on the efficiency of the psu.

otherwise it looked good.
"- High efficiency (80%) with 0.99 Active Power Factor value "

2nd page man
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.