Thermaltake Purepower 600w

Introduction

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 04/04/2006
Author: James Napier (XMS)
Hardware Acquired: Thermaltake


Introduction

With the introduction of SLI, Crossfire and Dual Core processors, it is becoming increasingly apparent that you cant cut corners when it comes to selecting a power supply.
Without clean and stable voltages, your computer simply won't function correctly, and may even cause damage to your precious components.

Today i'm going to be looking at the Thermaltake Purepower 600w PSU, which has some very impressive specifications for a power supply in its price range. Will it be good enough to power a top end power hungry, water cooled, SLI rig? Read on to find out...


Packaging

Box Front Box Back

The packaging is simple but effective. The front of the box clearly shows all of the supported system types along with a nice picture of the power supply. Flip the box around, and you can see information on all of the connectors, and the combined rated amperage of the +12v rails.

Box Side All Components

Inside the box you will find a generic power cord and screws, the user manual, and the power supply covered in bubble wrap to protect the mirror finish. The bulk of cables are all held together neatly with a cable tie.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-04-2006, 18:36:29

JN
Today i've had the pleasure of reviewing ThermalTake's 600w PSU...with some suprising results.

Questions, comments, feel free to ask

Review Here

06-04-2006, 20:15:14

WC Annihilus
Ooh, very nice review. Nice to see that at least one TT PSU can do something Just a thing about the prices, I think we should include USD, GBP, AUD, and EURO prices so it branches out to everyone. Just an opinion though.

06-04-2006, 21:07:19

Tec
Great review XMS , did they send you the psu or did u buy that?

06-04-2006, 21:09:51

WC Annihilus
I would say it's a pretty safe bet that TT sent it to him

06-04-2006, 21:32:43

enVias
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus'
Ooh, very nice review. Nice to see that at least one TT PSU can do something Just a thing about the prices, I think we should include USD, GBP, and EURO prices so it branches out to everyone. Just an opinion though.
AUD*

06-04-2006, 21:52:57

WC Annihilus
Added and forgive me for forgetting.

07-04-2006, 00:44:26

Eguy
Its great to also see that it has an 8 pin mobo connector which is a requirement of the SLI-DR expert

07-04-2006, 03:56:52

JN
Yea it was a suprising result as TT PSU's generally dont get many mentions on hardware forums, but i'd say that it could easily keep up with my Tagan 580w.

07-04-2006, 08:28:28

PV5150
Outstanding review mate. The TT looks uber sexy, and has provided some good healthy results. 'Grats to you.

08-04-2006, 12:54:30

Raven
might have missed it but didnt se any numbers on the efficiency of the psu.

otherwise it looked good.

08-04-2006, 15:31:42

Eguy
Big props to TT on this one, I am impressed that it could keep up to your tagan mate!

08-04-2006, 15:43:15

WC Annihilus
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raven
might have missed it but didnt se any numbers on the efficiency of the psu.

otherwise it looked good.
"- High efficiency (80%) with 0.99 Active Power Factor value "

2nd page man
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.