Tagan Easycon XL 700w TG700-U35 PSU

Looking Inside

Looking Inside

As with all power supplies that pass through Overclock3D, I'll be taking a look inside the Easycon XL. By doing this I should be able to get a good idea of the overall build quality of the unit and how it is likely to perform in our tests.

Tagan Easycon XL 700w Insides

Tagan Easycon XL 700w Insides Tagan Easycon XL 700w Insides

The inside of the TG700-U35 is surprisingly spacious for a 700w unit, with two rather small aluminium heatsinks being used on the mosfets. Credit has to be given to Tagan for keeping everything tidy and using cable ties to bunch the wiring together for optimal airflow.

Tagan Easycon XL 700w Pots

During my inspection of the Easycon XL, I came across the 3 potentiometers (pots) seen above. These pots are responsible for adjusting the output voltage on the +3.3v, +5v and +12v rails of the power supply, and can come in handy if voltages droop outside of ATX specifications.

Tagan Easycon XL 700w Fan

Tagan have used a 135mm clear plastic fan to cool the TG700-U35 badged under their own name. Unfortunately I was unable to find any specifications for this fan on the Internet as no part of the serial number printed on the fans sticker turned up any results.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-10-2006, 13:22:46

JN
"It's been a while since Tagan updated their well respected "Easycon" range, and today I've been given the opportunity to test their latest addition - the Easycon XL."

EDIT: Oh and also my first review with my new digicam (apart from the last 2 pics on page 4)

Linky

17-10-2006, 13:48:57

llwyd
nice work (although i think if someone can afford to build a rig that needs 700W then efficiency is the last thing on their mind)

17-10-2006, 14:40:15

Hyper
Nice review mate.

What camera did you get ?

17-10-2006, 14:44:38

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyper
Nice review mate.

What camera did you get ?
Fujifilm Finepix something-or-other.

Needed a cam with manual zoom/focus

17-10-2006, 14:48:36

nathan
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMS
Fujifilm Finepix something-or-other.

Needed a cam with manual zoom/focus
F-10?

6.3MP?

1600 ISO?

17-10-2006, 14:49:23

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan
F-10?

6.3MP?
Nah its an S series. When i can be bothered to go upstairs i'll let u know

17-10-2006, 14:59:17

nathan
ah cool, i just brought a canon ixus 65, has a 3" screen for when im too drunk to see properly. anyways, nice review!

17-10-2006, 15:22:36

Hyper
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='nathan'
ah cool, i just brought a canon ixus 65, has a 3" screen for when im too drunk to see properly. anyways, nice review!
Going a little off topic but you got yourself a nice camera there mate, I own a Canon Ixus 55 and its a cracking camera

17-10-2006, 15:36:05

NickS
Nice PSU.

Deffo a Topower unit. Gotta love Tagan's modular setup/cabling.

17-10-2006, 15:36:44

nathan
i thought i steered it back on topic with the last 2 words :P

18-10-2006, 18:53:50

BUFF
always liked Tagans, glad to see that they're keeping it up.

& nice review btw
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.