Tagan 2-Force II TG700-U33 700w PSU

Conclusion

Conclusion

Designed to replace the now ageing Tagan U22 series, the TG700-U33 takes all the features of its predecessor including the infamous split/join +12v rail capability and adds support for the latest motherboard and graphics card connectors.

Having never reviewed a U22 unit on Overclock3D I can't comment on it's peformance compared to the U33. However when under a load of 646w on our testing equipment, the TG700-U33 proved to be very stable with most rails not fluctuating outside of their ideal voltages. In addition to this, the unit managed it's advertised efficiency of 80%, and even though this may not be as high as some PSU's from other manufacturers, it will certainly help keep the electricity bills down.

Expected to arrive with retailers in the next few weeks at a recommended price of under £100.00 (inc VAT), the TG700-U33 comes in at an extremely competitive price point. Once final figures are confirmed, we'll be sure to update the review, but for the moment I have no reservations in awarding the U33 "Value for money" status along with a score of 9 for price.

Komplett


The Good
• Single 8-Pin PCI-E connector for the latest graphics cards.
• All cables professionally sleeved to the last connector.
• +3.3v and +5v rails very solid and did not dip below their ideal outputs.
• Dual 80mm fans managed to keep the unit cool.

The Mediocre
• Meets advertised 80% efficiency, but many PSU's recently have been managing ~84%.
• +12v rail showed good stability, only dropping to 11.91v under 646w load.
• Could have featured dual 8-Pin PCI-E connectors for future expandability.

The Bad
• We experienced some problems with arcing inside the power switch.


Recommended Award Value For $$ Award


Thanks to Tagan for making this review possible. Discuss this review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-08-2007, 05:53:31

JN
"Today we'll be taking a look at one of the latest 700w PSU's to roll out of the factory doors at Tagan. The TG700-U33 boasts quad rails, silent operation and a good price point, but will it deliver the goods during our tests."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...101120560s.jpg

Linky

02-08-2007, 08:54:00

Bungral
Linky doesn't work

02-08-2007, 08:59:38

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Linky doesn't work
Bah...fixed Thx for the headsup

02-08-2007, 10:15:26

Toxcity
Good review, a nice read.

The PSU looks pretty nice and performs well, But as said in the view wasn't able to keep up with others when it came to efficiency.

02-08-2007, 10:23:58

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Toxcity'
Good review, a nice read.

The PSU looks pretty nice and performs well, But as said in the view wasn't able to keep up with others when it came to efficiency.
Yeah ideally I would have liked to give it an 8.5 for "Performance" but our graph doesn't allow that . 80% efficiency is by no means poor, but there's others out there that will hit 84%.

02-08-2007, 10:57:05

Mr. Smith
I need a new psu as my hiper is blue and I'm not going with a blue theme in my rig refresh...

I think 100 is my price point. Corsair 640w is a big contender, this could be too.

I know you don't need a mahoosive psu but i want to be able to power the upcoming 9800gtx or ati equiv. I want a psu that I can keep for a long time...

Nice review, a few extra touches, the good, the bad and the ugly influence made me laugh

02-08-2007, 12:36:29

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
Bah...fixed Thx for the headsup
No problem.. Will take a little read of this in a min.. Just catching up on other bits of reading.

Did you give me reps for that?? If not i've got some somewhere else and I have no idea where :S

02-08-2007, 12:43:32

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'

Nice review, a few extra touches, the good, the bad and the ugly influence made me laugh
Hehe, glad ya liked it. I was thinking of going for "the good, the bad and the slightly buggy" - not sure if everyone would have got it tho

02-08-2007, 13:38:49

ionicle
looks like a good psu

no unique quality's, and just the same old over again, thats the only problem with tagan i think

they all look the same, or similar, and its just a bit repetative, if each psu had a unique feature it would add to the ....interest of it

10-08-2007, 07:04:50

kimandsally
Great review as normal my rating for the review 10/10

With such attention to detail it really helps when choosing, this would be a unit I would not use as I feel the Corsair HX620 is better in this class, super quiet and much more efficient.

10-08-2007, 13:11:33

NickS
Very nice, even looks the same as my old U22. I loved that thing, did a great job! Kudos to Tagan for making a replacement as good as the original, and I'm glad they kept the same look, it looks great!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.