Silverstone Zeus 850w ST85ZF Quad SLI PSU

Looking Inside

Looking Inside

As with all power supplies that pass through Overclock3D, I'll be taking a look inside the Zeus. By doing this I should be able to get a good idea of the overall build quality of the unit and how it is likely to perform in our tests.

It will also be interesting to see exactly what has changed between the ST75ZF and ST85ZF models.

ST85ZF Inside ST85ZF Inside

ST85ZF Inside ST85ZF Inside

The ST85ZF utilises 2 circuit boards placed at the top and bottom of the casing in order to fit all of the components inside the unit.

We can see from above the internals of the ST85ZF are manufactured by Etasis, a well respected industrial power supply manufacturer. Those of us 'on the ball' will also notice that the circuit board used in this power supply is exactly the same model as that used in the 750w ST75ZF version.

SZ85ZF Internals ST85ZF Internals

So what makes the ST85ZF 850w if it has the same circuit boards as the 750w ST75ZF model? Well basically, upgraded components...

As you can see above many of the components placed inside the unit are labelled EPAP-850. These components are what gives the unit the extra 100w advantage over its brother the ST75ZF.

ST85ZF Adjustable Pot

Above we can see what appears to be an adjustable potentiometer (pot). This will most likely be responsible for adjusting the voltages on the rails of the unit and can be helpful when voltage levels fall outside of ATX specifications. Unfortunately I was unable to test whether this pot made any difference to the voltages, as the ST85ZF is far too awkward to disassemble and reassemble.

EDIT 01/08: Silverstone have informed us that this potentiometer is not responsible for adjusting the voltages. All voltages are set at the factory and should not need adjusting.

ST85ZF Fan

Cooling the Zeus is an 80mm fan manufactured by Sanyo Denki. The San Cooler 80 is able to push a total of 42cfm when running at 12v, with a noise output level of 34dBA.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-08-2006, 05:27:33

JN
"Probably the most power hungry component in a PC is the graphics card. Put 4 of them together for Quad SLI, and you need a seriously beefy PSU. Do Silverstone have the goods?"

Linkage

01-08-2006, 05:48:12

FarFarAway
/me wants

01-08-2006, 06:14:24

FragTek
Now that is a kick ass power supply! Sign me up for one of those when I build my next rig, dizamn... Nice review and nice PSU.

01-08-2006, 06:52:45

PV5150
OMG, how sexy is that Plenty of stable power, great looks and finished to the last detail; boy Silverstone are making some awesome gear. This is one PSU that I'm seriously looking at purchasing when it becomes available here in Aus (younger sibling only available atm, as far as I can see). Great review Jim as usual

01-08-2006, 06:55:27

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
OMG, how sexy is that Plenty of stable power, great looks and finished to the last detail; boy Silverstone are making some awesome gear. This is one PSU that I'm seriously looking at purchasing when it becomes available here in Aus (younger sibling only available atm, as far as I can see). Great review Jim as usual
Cheers PV. AFAIK it should be out soon. it's only started showing up in UK stores - so you shouldn't be too far behind

01-08-2006, 07:07:07

PV5150
w00tage...I'm eagerly awaiting it's arrival. It'll prolly beat my Conroe

01-08-2006, 07:40:58

FragTek
I love its native support for quad SLI, as useless as it is Someday quad SLI will probably be the "norm" for gamers *sigh* Thus the reason I decided to step away from the PC scene a bit, too damn spensive I say!!

01-08-2006, 07:50:00

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='FragTek'
Thus the reason I decided to step away from the PC scene a bit, too damn spensive I say!!
Yea i had some time out from the PC scene a couple of years back. I was buying newly released Abit motherboards from any country that was selling them - even if the new board was no diferent to the one i had!

Sometimes you just need to step out of the circle for a while
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.