Silverstone Zeus 850w ST85ZF Quad SLI PSU

Connectors

Connectors

In previous reviews, Silverstone Zeus power supplies have been well equipped with connectors and only let down by the lack of sleeving on the SATA/Molex cables. Let's see if the ST85ZF is any different...

ST85ZF Cables ST85ZF Cables

ST85ZF Cables ST85ZF Cables

The Zeus comes complete with a big bundle of cables, all wrapped together inside a bubble wrap bag and secured with a cable tie.

The Molex and SATA connectors have been sleeved up to the first connector, which is an improvement over the ST75ZF that left these cables unsleeved. It would have been nice for all cabes to be completely sleeved, but this would serve no practical purpose other than looks.

The overal quality of the sleeving job is excellent, using both cable ties and heat shrink to hold the sleeving in place.

ST85ZF Cables ST85ZF Cables

Credit has to be given to Silverstone for labelling all connectors with the corresponding rail that they obtain their +12v power from. As we can see from above, the Molex connectors obtain their 12v power from the +12v3 rail, and one of the PCI-E connectors obtains its power from +12v4.

This is especially helpful for ensuring that you distribute the load used by your components amongst the 4 available +12v rails.

ST85ZF Cables ST85ZF Cables

ST85ZF Cables ST85ZF Cables

The ATX Connector is native 24-pin. Unlike other power supplies, it doesn't have a 4-pin block which can be snapped off for backwards compatibility with older motherboards. Users of the older 20-Pin ATX motherboards will have to purchase a converter in order to use this power supply.

The ST85ZF is also native EPS-12v, providing the user with an 8-Pin connector. However, Silverstone have included an extension cable, which coverts the connector to 4-Pin ATX-12v.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-08-2006, 05:27:33

JN
"Probably the most power hungry component in a PC is the graphics card. Put 4 of them together for Quad SLI, and you need a seriously beefy PSU. Do Silverstone have the goods?"

Linkage

01-08-2006, 05:48:12

FarFarAway
/me wants

01-08-2006, 06:14:24

FragTek
Now that is a kick ass power supply! Sign me up for one of those when I build my next rig, dizamn... Nice review and nice PSU.

01-08-2006, 06:52:45

PV5150
OMG, how sexy is that Plenty of stable power, great looks and finished to the last detail; boy Silverstone are making some awesome gear. This is one PSU that I'm seriously looking at purchasing when it becomes available here in Aus (younger sibling only available atm, as far as I can see). Great review Jim as usual

01-08-2006, 06:55:27

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
OMG, how sexy is that Plenty of stable power, great looks and finished to the last detail; boy Silverstone are making some awesome gear. This is one PSU that I'm seriously looking at purchasing when it becomes available here in Aus (younger sibling only available atm, as far as I can see). Great review Jim as usual
Cheers PV. AFAIK it should be out soon. it's only started showing up in UK stores - so you shouldn't be too far behind

01-08-2006, 07:07:07

PV5150
w00tage...I'm eagerly awaiting it's arrival. It'll prolly beat my Conroe

01-08-2006, 07:40:58

FragTek
I love its native support for quad SLI, as useless as it is Someday quad SLI will probably be the "norm" for gamers *sigh* Thus the reason I decided to step away from the PC scene a bit, too damn spensive I say!!

01-08-2006, 07:50:00

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='FragTek'
Thus the reason I decided to step away from the PC scene a bit, too damn spensive I say!!
Yea i had some time out from the PC scene a couple of years back. I was buying newly released Abit motherboards from any country that was selling them - even if the new board was no diferent to the one i had!

Sometimes you just need to step out of the circle for a while
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.