Silverstone Zeus 850w ST85ZF Quad SLI PSU

Appearance

Appearance

The ST85ZF shares exactly the same dimensions as its brother the ST75ZF, coming in at 150 mm (W) x 86 mm (H) x 180 mm (D). This is a pleasant surprise that Silverstone managed to pack an extra 100w into the unit without the need to make it any bigger.


ST85ZF Front ST857F Back

Silverstone seem to have a tradition of keeping their power supplies very plain, and only spraying them in matt black paint. This is certainly true of the ST85ZF which is very similar in appearance to the ST75ZF.

The back of the power supply has the usual mesh grill, which allows for the air pushed over components by the 80mm fan to exit the back of your PC case. Also included is an LED which shows you the current status of the unit. When switching the Power Supply on the LED turns from Red to Green. Only when the LED is Green is DC power supplied to the rails.

It's good to see that Silverstone have opted for a black fan grill on the front of the unit, as the silver one used on the ST75ZF looked somewhat out of place.

ST85ZF Side ST85ZF Side

The sides of the unit have also been kept very simple, with only a specification sticker containing the usual warnings and information about the power supply, along with its rated output for all of the rails.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-08-2006, 05:27:33

JN
"Probably the most power hungry component in a PC is the graphics card. Put 4 of them together for Quad SLI, and you need a seriously beefy PSU. Do Silverstone have the goods?"

Linkage

01-08-2006, 05:48:12

FarFarAway
/me wants

01-08-2006, 06:14:24

FragTek
Now that is a kick ass power supply! Sign me up for one of those when I build my next rig, dizamn... Nice review and nice PSU.

01-08-2006, 06:52:45

PV5150
OMG, how sexy is that Plenty of stable power, great looks and finished to the last detail; boy Silverstone are making some awesome gear. This is one PSU that I'm seriously looking at purchasing when it becomes available here in Aus (younger sibling only available atm, as far as I can see). Great review Jim as usual

01-08-2006, 06:55:27

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
OMG, how sexy is that Plenty of stable power, great looks and finished to the last detail; boy Silverstone are making some awesome gear. This is one PSU that I'm seriously looking at purchasing when it becomes available here in Aus (younger sibling only available atm, as far as I can see). Great review Jim as usual
Cheers PV. AFAIK it should be out soon. it's only started showing up in UK stores - so you shouldn't be too far behind

01-08-2006, 07:07:07

PV5150
w00tage...I'm eagerly awaiting it's arrival. It'll prolly beat my Conroe

01-08-2006, 07:40:58

FragTek
I love its native support for quad SLI, as useless as it is Someday quad SLI will probably be the "norm" for gamers *sigh* Thus the reason I decided to step away from the PC scene a bit, too damn spensive I say!!

01-08-2006, 07:50:00

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='FragTek'
Thus the reason I decided to step away from the PC scene a bit, too damn spensive I say!!
Yea i had some time out from the PC scene a couple of years back. I was buying newly released Abit motherboards from any country that was selling them - even if the new board was no diferent to the one i had!

Sometimes you just need to step out of the circle for a while
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.