Silverstone Zeus 850w ST85ZF Quad SLI PSU

Introduction & Packaging

Introduction

Around 2 months ago I took a look at the Silverstone Zeus 750w ST75ZF, and was so impressed with the overall quality and stability of the unit that I gave it a total score of 9/10 and the highly regarded 'Editors Choice' Award.

Since then, Silverstone have been hard at work producing an even more powerful 850w unit, which not only has quad +12v rails, but also fully integrated quad PCI-E connectors to boot.

Will this latest unit further strengthen the excellent reputation of the Zeus series? We find out...


Packaging

Continuing the trend of all previously reviewed Silverstone power supplies, the ST85ZF is packaged in a large black and blue box bearing the Silverstone logo along with a picture of the unit.

ST85ZF Box ST85ZF Box

Silverstone have updated their packaging slightly with the inclusion of ROHS stamp which came into force on the 1st July 2006. We can also see that the front and top of the packaging offer some basic specifications along with some images of the unit and the rated output of the units rails.

ST85ZF Box ST85ZF Box

Turn the box around to the side, and we can see some of the 'Special Features' of the Silverstone unit. The ST85ZF boasts 6 SATA connectors, 4 PCI-E connectors, a maximum efficiency of 87% and multiple over-load/volt protection features.

A handy feature of the packaging is the plastic handle on the top of the box, which will certainly make carrying this unit home from the shops a much easier task.

ST85ZF Packaging ST85ZF Packaging

Included in the package are the following items:

- 1x 8-Pin AUX to 4-Pin P4-12v Adapter
- 1x Power cable
- 1x ST85ZF Manual
- 4x ATX Screws
- 1x Silverstone ST85ZF PSU

The unit itself is sandwiched in-between two cardboard layers, each padded out with Styrofoam shapes to protect all corners of the PSU. Also included is a small cardboard box containing the power cord, screws, 8-pin and 4-pin P4-12v converter. The bundle of cables are contained within a bubble-wrap sleeve and tied together with a large cable-tie.

Having a quick flick through the ST85ZF manual I can see that Silverstone have provided detailed information regarding the +12v rail layout of the unit. However, there's an easier way to find out this information, which can be seen on the 'Connectors' page.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-08-2006, 05:27:33

JN
"Probably the most power hungry component in a PC is the graphics card. Put 4 of them together for Quad SLI, and you need a seriously beefy PSU. Do Silverstone have the goods?"

Linkage

01-08-2006, 05:48:12

FarFarAway
/me wants

01-08-2006, 06:14:24

FragTek
Now that is a kick ass power supply! Sign me up for one of those when I build my next rig, dizamn... Nice review and nice PSU.

01-08-2006, 06:52:45

PV5150
OMG, how sexy is that Plenty of stable power, great looks and finished to the last detail; boy Silverstone are making some awesome gear. This is one PSU that I'm seriously looking at purchasing when it becomes available here in Aus (younger sibling only available atm, as far as I can see). Great review Jim as usual

01-08-2006, 06:55:27

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
OMG, how sexy is that Plenty of stable power, great looks and finished to the last detail; boy Silverstone are making some awesome gear. This is one PSU that I'm seriously looking at purchasing when it becomes available here in Aus (younger sibling only available atm, as far as I can see). Great review Jim as usual
Cheers PV. AFAIK it should be out soon. it's only started showing up in UK stores - so you shouldn't be too far behind

01-08-2006, 07:07:07

PV5150
w00tage...I'm eagerly awaiting it's arrival. It'll prolly beat my Conroe

01-08-2006, 07:40:58

FragTek
I love its native support for quad SLI, as useless as it is Someday quad SLI will probably be the "norm" for gamers *sigh* Thus the reason I decided to step away from the PC scene a bit, too damn spensive I say!!

01-08-2006, 07:50:00

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='FragTek'
Thus the reason I decided to step away from the PC scene a bit, too damn spensive I say!!
Yea i had some time out from the PC scene a couple of years back. I was buying newly released Abit motherboards from any country that was selling them - even if the new board was no diferent to the one i had!

Sometimes you just need to step out of the circle for a while
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.