Silverstone Zeus 750w ST75ZF Quad Rail PSU

Testing

Load Testing

In order for the results from all current and future PSU reviews to remain fair and comparable, Overclock3D uses a custom built Power Supply load stress tester.

The tester is capable of placing loads on the following rails:

+3.3v - 20a Load
+5.0v - 20a Load
+12v1 - 10a Load
+12v2 - 10a Load
+12v3 - 10a Load
+12v4 - 10a Load
(or 40a on a single +12v rail)

The results are collected from a Mastech MAS-345 Multimeter which logs its readings via RS232 to a PC.

+3.3v Rail +5v Rail

Good results from both the +3.3v and +5v rails here. Neither dropped by any significant amount and both remained well within ATX specifications. These results should make those who enjoy pumping lots of voltage through their RAM very happy, as major drops in voltage on these rails (dependant on motherboard used) can cause serious RAM stability issues.

+12v1 Rail +12v2 Rail

+12v3 Rail +12v4 Rail

I was nothing short of stunned by the results from the +12v rails. So much so that I actually tested my equipment on another Power Supply to ensure it was working correctly.

None of the 4 rails dropped below 12.00v and most only experienced a drop of 0.02v with a 10a load applied to each of the rails - that is simply AMAZING.

Silverstone have clearly spent a lot of time and effort ensuring that the Zeus is of the highest quality, and in my opinion, this places the unit directly in fierce competition with the likes of PCP&C and Zippy.


Noise Testing

At present Overclock3D doesn't have the correct equipment to reproduce accurate stats on the dBA output, so for the moment you will have to rely on my ear :)

The Zeus is not a quiet Power Supply - I will say that now. From what I could tell the installed fan appears to run at 100% even when idle. As stated on the previous pages, the Zeus uses a Sanyo Denki San Cooler 80mm fan that pushes 42cfm at 34dBA.

Having listened to various fans, I would say that the noise output is closer to 30dBA. The installed fan does not make any mechanical or high pitched noises, just the noise of air turbulence which is to be expected.

Check back on this review at a later date for professional noise level testing results.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-05-2006, 03:32:23

JN
Want a beast on a budget? I think Silverstone may have exactly what you are looking for...

Review Here

12-05-2006, 03:53:40

JN
Review authorised and now live

12-05-2006, 04:09:03

FarFarAway
Nice Jim. Looks like a real beast of a PSU

12-05-2006, 04:26:01

mr_fishbulb
Jesus - that is rated with twice as much power as my current PSU!

I'm liking the current idea of only needing to plug in the connections you want - leaves a nice tidy box (as the actress said to the bishop).

12-05-2006, 04:28:49

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_fishbulb
Jesus - that is rated with twice as much power as my current PSU!

I'm liking the current idea of only needing to plug in the connections you want - leaves a nice tidy box (as the actress said to the bishop).
Yes, i'm a big fan of Modular too (my last 3 PSU's have been).

Coming up soon is a Silverstone Strider 600w Modular review - should be a nice bit of kit

12-05-2006, 04:42:38

PV5150
Very nice PSU, it looks very solid and with the performance to back it up. How good were those 12V rails? Awesome review again XMS

12-05-2006, 04:45:04

Raven

It also worries me slightly that 18a might not even be enough to power the latest generation of ATI cards (x1900xtx) especially when used in crossfire mode as the current draw from these cards is quite unbelievable.



120.6w according to xbitlabs if yoi wanted to know specific numbers

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/video/display/gpu-consumption2006_4.html

but all in all a good review but a way to pricy psu for my taste.

12-05-2006, 05:04:51

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raven
120.6w according to xbitlabs if yoi wanted to know specific numbers

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/video/display/gpu-consumption2006_4.html

but all in all a good review but a way to pricy psu for my taste.
So thats a good 10a for a single card (despite hearing some cards drawing more).

However, now that Silverstone have confirmed that they are re-arranging the PSU rails, this problem doesn't really apply.

Cheers for the linkage

12-05-2006, 05:11:38

Raven
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
So thats a good 10a for a single card (despite hearing some cards drawing more).
this is the methode xbitlabs uses and sounds to me like it could be accurate.

We utilize a special modified mainboard that has special shunts attached to PCI Express x16 power lanes as well as we attach the shunt into additional 12V power connectors that some of the graphics cards have.



but wouldnt surprise me at all if it differers between manufactures too, some like to raise the speed and/or use faster memories for example.

do you have any thoughts of starting to measure power consumption like this ?

at present time i have no reason to believe xbitlabs measurements are off, i looked at them before i bought my 7800gt and come to the conclusion my psu could manage the extra load and it has, flawless.

12-05-2006, 05:24:19

JN
Yes, different cards with different stock speeds and different cooling solutions will change the power draw slightly. For example some pre-overclocked cards use slightly higher voltages on memory/core to achieve the stability. Also on the x1800 series for example, different revisions of cards had either 5 or 6 phase power i believe.

As for OC3D measuring power consumption, this is not something we are planning on performing at present, but if there is a need for it then we'll certainly look into getting the equipment.

However, on the PSU side of things, we will very shortly be measuring: Power Consumption (for Efficiency), Noise and Heat. The key thing for us is making sure that all of these tests are performed under the same conditions, so results are comparable.

12-05-2006, 05:31:35

Raven
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
As for OC3D measuring power consumption, this is not something we are planning on performing at present, but if there is a need for it then we'll certainly look into getting the equipment.
their isnt directly a need for it but from my point of view it would be interesting as its one part i look at when researching a card.

also interesting to know if a current psu can manage the load or not, not everyone can just go out and buy a stronger psu if problem should arise.

one simple way but not so accurate is to only measure the pcie power cable, remember some site measuring that way back in the agp days.

However, on the PSU side of things, we will very shortly be measuring: Power Consumption (for Efficiency), Noise and Heat. The key thing for us is making sure that all of these tests are performed under the same conditions, so results are comparable.



for psu's efficiency and noise is the 2 most interesting aspects so will be interesting to se it comming

if you havent already guessed it i chose components to minimize power usage but still be powerfull for what i do.

14-05-2006, 13:34:58

Eguy
This was one of my fist PSU's, but I returned it for how loud it was. I remember it being amazing power though

14-05-2006, 13:51:35

WC Annihilus
Eguy, you're slightly off again Yours was the 650W. This is the recently released, Etasis made (650 was Enhance) 750W
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.