Silverstone Zeus 750w ST75ZF Quad Rail PSU

Looking Inside

Looking Inside

"Built like a tank" is one way to describe this unit. Never before have I had so much trouble taking a Power Supply apart.
I was slightly concerned that when I finally managed to get it in pieces, I wouldn't be able to put it back together again to perform the testing!

Silverstone Zeus Inside Silverstone Zeus Inside

Silverstone Zeus Fan Silverstone Zeus In Bits

Unlike traditional PSU's, the Zeus makes full use of the PSU casing, screwing full sized circuit boards on to both the top and bottom. This of course means they need to fully protect the circuit boards from touching the casing. They have done this by screwing large plastic sheets over the circuits (top left picture).

No expense has been spared when selecting a fan to cool the unit. A Sanyo Denki San Cooler 80mm fan has been installed which pushes a healthy 42cfm at a reasonable 34dBA when running at 12v.

Zeus Internals Zeus Internals

Its clear to see that the Power Supply has been constructed with only the highest quality components, which of course has made it quite hard for Silverstone to fit everything into a reasonable sized case.

Everything is tidily arranged and the two boards can be fully disconnected from each other, which makes it easier to work on - not that you'd ever need to ;).

Zeus Pots

I was disappointed to see that the Zeus 750w didn't have any way of adjusting the voltages from outside the PSU (like the Strider 600w). The only potentiometer (pot) I could find inside the unit is shown above.

Unfortunately I was unable to test whether this pot made any difference to the voltages, as the unit is far too awkward to disassemble and reassemble. Maybe Silverstone will be able to confirm if this potentiometer has any effect on voltages.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-05-2006, 03:32:23

JN
Want a beast on a budget? I think Silverstone may have exactly what you are looking for...

Review Here

12-05-2006, 03:53:40

JN
Review authorised and now live

12-05-2006, 04:09:03

FarFarAway
Nice Jim. Looks like a real beast of a PSU

12-05-2006, 04:26:01

mr_fishbulb
Jesus - that is rated with twice as much power as my current PSU!

I'm liking the current idea of only needing to plug in the connections you want - leaves a nice tidy box (as the actress said to the bishop).

12-05-2006, 04:28:49

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_fishbulb
Jesus - that is rated with twice as much power as my current PSU!

I'm liking the current idea of only needing to plug in the connections you want - leaves a nice tidy box (as the actress said to the bishop).
Yes, i'm a big fan of Modular too (my last 3 PSU's have been).

Coming up soon is a Silverstone Strider 600w Modular review - should be a nice bit of kit

12-05-2006, 04:42:38

PV5150
Very nice PSU, it looks very solid and with the performance to back it up. How good were those 12V rails? Awesome review again XMS

12-05-2006, 04:45:04

Raven

It also worries me slightly that 18a might not even be enough to power the latest generation of ATI cards (x1900xtx) especially when used in crossfire mode as the current draw from these cards is quite unbelievable.



120.6w according to xbitlabs if yoi wanted to know specific numbers

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/video/display/gpu-consumption2006_4.html

but all in all a good review but a way to pricy psu for my taste.

12-05-2006, 05:04:51

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raven
120.6w according to xbitlabs if yoi wanted to know specific numbers

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/video/display/gpu-consumption2006_4.html

but all in all a good review but a way to pricy psu for my taste.
So thats a good 10a for a single card (despite hearing some cards drawing more).

However, now that Silverstone have confirmed that they are re-arranging the PSU rails, this problem doesn't really apply.

Cheers for the linkage

12-05-2006, 05:11:38

Raven
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
So thats a good 10a for a single card (despite hearing some cards drawing more).
this is the methode xbitlabs uses and sounds to me like it could be accurate.

We utilize a special modified mainboard that has special shunts attached to PCI Express x16 power lanes as well as we attach the shunt into additional 12V power connectors that some of the graphics cards have.



but wouldnt surprise me at all if it differers between manufactures too, some like to raise the speed and/or use faster memories for example.

do you have any thoughts of starting to measure power consumption like this ?

at present time i have no reason to believe xbitlabs measurements are off, i looked at them before i bought my 7800gt and come to the conclusion my psu could manage the extra load and it has, flawless.

12-05-2006, 05:24:19

JN
Yes, different cards with different stock speeds and different cooling solutions will change the power draw slightly. For example some pre-overclocked cards use slightly higher voltages on memory/core to achieve the stability. Also on the x1800 series for example, different revisions of cards had either 5 or 6 phase power i believe.

As for OC3D measuring power consumption, this is not something we are planning on performing at present, but if there is a need for it then we'll certainly look into getting the equipment.

However, on the PSU side of things, we will very shortly be measuring: Power Consumption (for Efficiency), Noise and Heat. The key thing for us is making sure that all of these tests are performed under the same conditions, so results are comparable.

12-05-2006, 05:31:35

Raven
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
As for OC3D measuring power consumption, this is not something we are planning on performing at present, but if there is a need for it then we'll certainly look into getting the equipment.
their isnt directly a need for it but from my point of view it would be interesting as its one part i look at when researching a card.

also interesting to know if a current psu can manage the load or not, not everyone can just go out and buy a stronger psu if problem should arise.

one simple way but not so accurate is to only measure the pcie power cable, remember some site measuring that way back in the agp days.

However, on the PSU side of things, we will very shortly be measuring: Power Consumption (for Efficiency), Noise and Heat. The key thing for us is making sure that all of these tests are performed under the same conditions, so results are comparable.



for psu's efficiency and noise is the 2 most interesting aspects so will be interesting to se it comming

if you havent already guessed it i chose components to minimize power usage but still be powerfull for what i do.

14-05-2006, 13:34:58

Eguy
This was one of my fist PSU's, but I returned it for how loud it was. I remember it being amazing power though

14-05-2006, 13:51:35

WC Annihilus
Eguy, you're slightly off again Yours was the 650W. This is the recently released, Etasis made (650 was Enhance) 750W
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.