Seasonic X900 SS-900HP 900w PSU

Packaging & Appearance

Packaging

With the X900 being Seasonic's latest flagship PSU, it's obvious that they wanted the quality of the unit to be reflected in the design of the packaging. Using only a black and blue 'glow effect' background with a single picture of the unit on the top of the box, they have certainly achieved a simplistic yet professional look.

Seasonic X900 Packaging Seasonic X900 Packaging

Seasonic X900 Packaging Seasonic X900 Packaging

The top and sides of the packaging provide very little information on the unit, leaving potential buyers thirsty for even the most basic of specifications. Thankfully a quick flip of the box reveals a full specs listing in four languages along with a table detailing the nominal and peak output of the unit, and a breakdown of the power distribution amongst its 8 rails.

Seasonic X900 Open Packaging Seasonic X900 Contents

Seasonic have packaged the X900 inside a single walled cardboard box, with an inner cardboard separator box that keeps the main unit apart fom the accessories pack and mains lead. The unit itself is protected from scratches and other minor damage by a fitted bubblewrap bag.

Not wanting to leave you feeling short changed, Seasonic have included the following accessories in addition to the usual PSU, Manual and power lead affair:

- Seasonic case badge.
- 2x PCI-E 6-Pin to 8-Pin convertor cables.
- 1x Molex to Floppy cable.
- 3x Cable ties (re-usable).


Appearance

Measuring in at 180mm long, the X900 isn't much bigger than your average ATX power supply. This is great news for those of us with small cases or limited space around the PSU area. However, previous high-wattage unit's we've tested around this size have all suffered from overheating issues or poor performance, so it will definitely be interesting to see if Seasonic have managed to avoid these pitfalls in the compact PSU's design.

Seasonic X900 Back Seasonic X900 Front

In keeping with the professional design of the X900 packaging, Seasonic have opted for a plain black powder coated finish on the unit. This ensures that the unit will be an appealing option to those who put functionality higher than appearance on their list of priorities when searching for a new PSU.

As we can see from the images above, the X900 is cooled by a single 80mm fan placed at the rear of the unit. The fan is configured to draw air from the inside of the PC case through the grills at the front of the unit, over the aluminium heatsinks, and exhaust the hot air out the back of your PC with a fair amount of force.

Seasonic X900 Side Seasonic X900 Side

As you'd expect, Seasonic have placed a specification sticker on the side of the unit that mirrors a lot of the information found on the PSU packaging. Around the other side of the unit is a small grill that provides additional airflow to some of the hotter areas inside the PSU.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-09-2007, 08:01:00

JN
"Seasonic have always been known for their high-end range of silent PSU's. Will their latest 900w beast - the X900 unit live up to their reputation and our expectations?"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...212954443s.jpg

Review

26-09-2007, 08:25:32

PV5150
Quality review as always mate, and what an excellent performer. I'll have the stability and efficiency over other blingy high-powered units any day. Keep up the good work

26-09-2007, 08:25:34

Mr. Smith
Almost 85% efficiency is very impressive.

Shame about the noisy fan, had they placed 2 fans in the unit - one intake, one exhaust - then the fans would not have had to reach full throttle like a single one does...

Quality PSU.

26-09-2007, 08:30:25

PV5150
Agreed, but you look at the load required (776w) to get it to be audible. Many probably wouldn't even get it to break a sweat.

26-09-2007, 08:36:13

Mr. Smith
oF COURSE!

I did overlook that rather important detail... Probably why pcp&p is silent - never breaks a sweat, not even benching!

This seems like another PSU for life

26-09-2007, 08:53:21

JN
Yeah it's a very good PSU for sure. As you've pointed out, its unlikely most people will ever hear this unit at full throttle, because it needs some serious load for that to happen.

Of course, if you was hell bent on making it total silent, you could always swap out the fan with a SilenX or something. Not that I'd advise anyone to fiddle inside a PSU

27-09-2007, 03:44:58

cube
Jeeze that is a PCP&C rip off if ever I saw one... the silnecer sprigns to mind when I look at that. Similar internal layout, same exhaust fan and positioning etc. But that is a good thing - more manufacturers like PCP&C mean more stable and quality PSU's. A single rail would have been nice but excellent PSU none the less - whopping efficiency!

27-09-2007, 10:02:33

ionicle
it looks quality tbh...

i'd stil have a pcp&c over it any day...but i bet its cheaper than the pcp&c equivilant....

27-09-2007, 17:30:53

MikeEnIke
Nice review, looks like a great little PSU, and don't take little literally lol

27-09-2007, 20:56:23

Allsorts
Good review mate, I like the good/mediocre/bad breakdown in the conclusions section.

I have to say I do like Seasonic PSUs.

28-09-2007, 10:16:45

HarryB
This looks quite good, I need a new PSU for SLI

28-09-2007, 15:31:34

ACCURISt
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='cube'
Jeeze that is a PCP&C rip off if ever I saw one... the silnecer sprigns to mind when I look at that. Similar internal layout, same exhaust fan and positioning etc. But that is a good thing - more manufacturers like PCP&C mean more stable and quality PSU's. A single rail would have been nice but excellent PSU none the less - whopping efficiency!
Quote from Dave Hammock @ http://forums.extremeoverclocking.com/showpost.php?p=1615995&postcount=234

SeaSonic M12 SS-700HM 700W [Performs as a Single +12V Rail PSU.] [Modular]

Up to +12V@56A, Rated@40C, Efficiency up to 85%, 3yr warranty

Corsair HX 620W [Performs as a Single +12V Rail PSU.]

Up to +12V@50A, +5VSB@3A

http://forums.extremeoverclocking.com/showpost.php?p=1615995&postcount=234

I think most manufacturers design around multiple rails to stay withing the ATX specification.

BitTech in their review of the Seasonic X900, state the Corsair is actually a 750w psu thats "under-rated" to 620w to guarantee silence. They suggest Seasonic should take the same approach with the X900 i.e. class it as a truly silent/quiet 700w psu. I guess if true in this respect with regards to silence you could argue the pcpwr is more like a corsair a 620w? ...well maybe a bit noisyer

28-09-2007, 15:44:45

ACCURISt
appologies if sounding like a troll as this was not intended! did a lot of research before purchasing my Seasonic X900 from www.xcase.co.uk for 116.32. This is about the same price as the PCPower Silencer 750 quad.

I can tell you this I am running:

Opteron 175 OC from 2.2 to 2.8GHz

X1900XT Crossfire Master + X1900XTX in crossfire OC to 688/1584 core/mem

2x 10000rpm raptors

2x 500GB WD RE2

2x 320GB WD RE

2x 200GB Seagate

1x 180GB IBM GXP IDE

under load the psu is cool and the fan runs idle speeds!

28-09-2007, 15:49:34

FarFarAway
Ye that system will only put out about what...300-400w?

28-09-2007, 16:10:17

ACCURISt
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Ye that system will only put out about what...300-400w?
i was wondering about the output, but I guessed it to be around 400-500. i got the Seasonic to replaced my old PCPower 510 SLI turbo cool. I wasn't having much joy running crossfire. the cards were intermitantly not responding a little to frequently for my liking. this was occurring on a non-overclocked crossfire pc with a hard drive count of 6.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.