Seasonic M12 600w Modular PSU

Looking Inside

Looking Inside

My favourite part of any power supply review has to be taking the unit apart and having a poke around inside. By doing this we can usually get a good idea about the quality of components used and how the unit is likely to perform in our tests.

Seasonic M12 600w Inside Seasonic M12 600w Inside

From the images above, we can see that the M12 has two yellow transformers placed on the centre of the board. The larger of the two is most likely responsible for the +12v rails with the smaller being responsible for +3.3v and +5.0v rails. Placed in between the transformers is a single, reasonably sized black capacitor.

Turn the PSU around, and we can see two wire-wound inductors sitting below one of the large 'claw' shaped heatsinks. Inductors perform a similar role to capacitors and assist in providing steady, clean voltage to the components in your computer system.

Seasonic M12 600w Fan Seasonic M12 600w Fan

As previously mentioned, the S12 makes use of two fans manufactured by ADDA (1x120mm and 1x60mm) in order to cool all components inside the unit. The specifications of these fans can be seen below:

Model: AD0612HB-D71GL
Size: 60mm x 60mm x 15mm
CFM: 16.6cfm
dBA: 32.4dba
RPM: 4500rpm

Model: AD1212HB-A71GL
Size: 120mm x 120mm x 25mm
CFM: 85.2cfm
dBA: 39.1dba
RPM: 2200rpm

More information on ADDA fans can be found here.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-11-2006, 12:22:13

JN
"Seasonic are known for their range of silent and stable power supplies. The M12 is one of their latest models, and their first entry into the modular scene. How does it perform? We find out..."

Linkage

08-11-2006, 14:53:39

kimandsally
I look forward to the Corsair 620 review if you get to test one, as far as I know it's very similar but is quieter with only 1 120mm fan.

08-11-2006, 14:57:41

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='kimandsally'
I look forward to the Corsair 620 review if you get to test one, as far as I know it's very similar but is quieter with only 1 120mm fan.
Funnily enough, I have one on its way

08-11-2006, 15:22:21

kimandsally
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
Funnily enough, I have one on its way
I look forward to that with massive interest, I'm thinking of getting one because of it's supposed high efficientcy and quietness, may I ask if you sell them after review?

08-11-2006, 15:30:29

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='kimandsally'
I look forward to that with massive interest, I'm thinking of getting one because of it's supposed high efficientcy and quietness, may I ask if you sell them after review?
Nah, we either keep them for future comparisons or send them back.

08-11-2006, 16:12:34

NickS
Nice review

You need to upgrade the PSU tester, 10a per 12v is nothin!

08-11-2006, 16:37:30

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickS
Nice review

You need to upgrade the PSU tester, 10a per 12v is nothin!
It can do up to 80a total on +12v at 5a increases.

If you look at the specs on the M12, the maximum combined amperage it can cope with on the +12v rail is 48a - so i got as close to that as possible (40a). Plus its handy to compare results with other 600w PSU's - most of which have been subjected to the same stress.

08-11-2006, 17:34:48

NickS
Wow, 80a? Impressive.

Thanks for explanation though XMS

08-11-2006, 17:44:59

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickS
Wow, 80a? Impressive.

Thanks for explanation though XMS
No probs mate - and yea - prepping myself for some of the future single railed babies

08-11-2006, 18:12:38

FragTek
Great review, and this looks to be a half way decent PSU. I think I could pick something better to put in my case if I had the choice however.

XMS, you gotta line up a single rail 1kw turbo-cool review!

08-11-2006, 20:51:47

markkleb
I am not a fan of the modular style PS.

But that was a very good review.

09-11-2006, 03:20:25

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='FragTek'
XMS, you gotta line up a single rail 1kw turbo-cool review!
Deffo
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.