Seasonic M12 600w Modular PSU

Appearance

Appearance

Seasonic have never been the kind of company to go for funky colours and flashing lights in order to shift their power supplies. As we can see below - this 'no bling' trend has been continued in their M12 series.

Seasonic M12 600w Top Seasonic M12 600w Back

The Seasonic M12 is powder coated in matt black paint and has a minimal amount of shine. Contrasting with the black body is a silver fan grill responsible for protecting the 120mm fan installed on top of the unit.

The back of the unit has the usual honeycomb grill as seen with almost all power supplies that utilise a 120mm fan. This allows for the hot air circulated by the fan to exit out the back of your PC case. You may also notice the abundance of a voltage selection switch. This is because the M12 is able to detect the input voltage (110/240v) and switch accordingly.

Seasonic M12 600w Side Seasonic M12 600w Front

The sides of the M12 are fairly plain, with one side containing a specification sticker detailing the amperage output of each rail on the M12, along with all the usual certifications and warnings about opening the PSU's casing.

The front of the unit offers a fresh talking point - a 60mm fan covered with a silver fan grill. This was put in place to give airflow to the areas of the PSU that the 120mm does not reach, and also to assist in the extraction of hot air through the mesh at the back of the PSU.

Seasonic M12 600w Modular

The front of the unit also sports 7 modular power connectors, 2 of which are dedicated to providing power to PCI-Express cards. Like many other modular units, Seasonic have decided not to make the ATX and P4/EPS power cables modular.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-11-2006, 12:22:13

JN
"Seasonic are known for their range of silent and stable power supplies. The M12 is one of their latest models, and their first entry into the modular scene. How does it perform? We find out..."

Linkage

08-11-2006, 14:53:39

kimandsally
I look forward to the Corsair 620 review if you get to test one, as far as I know it's very similar but is quieter with only 1 120mm fan.

08-11-2006, 14:57:41

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='kimandsally'
I look forward to the Corsair 620 review if you get to test one, as far as I know it's very similar but is quieter with only 1 120mm fan.
Funnily enough, I have one on its way

08-11-2006, 15:22:21

kimandsally
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
Funnily enough, I have one on its way
I look forward to that with massive interest, I'm thinking of getting one because of it's supposed high efficientcy and quietness, may I ask if you sell them after review?

08-11-2006, 15:30:29

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='kimandsally'
I look forward to that with massive interest, I'm thinking of getting one because of it's supposed high efficientcy and quietness, may I ask if you sell them after review?
Nah, we either keep them for future comparisons or send them back.

08-11-2006, 16:12:34

NickS
Nice review

You need to upgrade the PSU tester, 10a per 12v is nothin!

08-11-2006, 16:37:30

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickS
Nice review

You need to upgrade the PSU tester, 10a per 12v is nothin!
It can do up to 80a total on +12v at 5a increases.

If you look at the specs on the M12, the maximum combined amperage it can cope with on the +12v rail is 48a - so i got as close to that as possible (40a). Plus its handy to compare results with other 600w PSU's - most of which have been subjected to the same stress.

08-11-2006, 17:34:48

NickS
Wow, 80a? Impressive.

Thanks for explanation though XMS

08-11-2006, 17:44:59

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickS
Wow, 80a? Impressive.

Thanks for explanation though XMS
No probs mate - and yea - prepping myself for some of the future single railed babies

08-11-2006, 18:12:38

FragTek
Great review, and this looks to be a half way decent PSU. I think I could pick something better to put in my case if I had the choice however.

XMS, you gotta line up a single rail 1kw turbo-cool review!

08-11-2006, 20:51:47

markkleb
I am not a fan of the modular style PS.

But that was a very good review.

09-11-2006, 03:20:25

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='FragTek'
XMS, you gotta line up a single rail 1kw turbo-cool review!
Deffo
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.