Seasonic M12 600w Modular PSU

Specifications

Specifications

The following information has been taken directly from Seasonic's PDF datasheet available here.

• Specification compliance: ATX12V v2.2 & EPS12v v2.9
• Support the latest Intel Core 2 Duo / Extreme & AMD AM2
• 80PLUS Certified: over 80% efficiency
• Multiple +12v output
• Double forward converter design
• Dual Magnetic amplifiers
• Dual fan cooling
• Smart & Silent fan control
• Low ripple and noise
• Short circuit protection on all outputs
• Over voltage protection
• Over power protection
• 100% hi-pot test
• 100% burn in, high temperature cycled on/off

Specs

Specs

The observant among us may have noticed that both the 500w, 600w and 700w models all have the same rated amperage output across all of their rails. However, a closer look shows that combined amperage output (when all rails are placed under load) is quite different between the 3 units. The 500w unit offers a maximum output of 30a across all +12v rails with the 600w and 700w units offering 48a and 56a respectively.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-11-2006, 12:22:13

JN
"Seasonic are known for their range of silent and stable power supplies. The M12 is one of their latest models, and their first entry into the modular scene. How does it perform? We find out..."

Linkage

08-11-2006, 14:53:39

kimandsally
I look forward to the Corsair 620 review if you get to test one, as far as I know it's very similar but is quieter with only 1 120mm fan.

08-11-2006, 14:57:41

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='kimandsally'
I look forward to the Corsair 620 review if you get to test one, as far as I know it's very similar but is quieter with only 1 120mm fan.
Funnily enough, I have one on its way

08-11-2006, 15:22:21

kimandsally
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
Funnily enough, I have one on its way
I look forward to that with massive interest, I'm thinking of getting one because of it's supposed high efficientcy and quietness, may I ask if you sell them after review?

08-11-2006, 15:30:29

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='kimandsally'
I look forward to that with massive interest, I'm thinking of getting one because of it's supposed high efficientcy and quietness, may I ask if you sell them after review?
Nah, we either keep them for future comparisons or send them back.

08-11-2006, 16:12:34

NickS
Nice review

You need to upgrade the PSU tester, 10a per 12v is nothin!

08-11-2006, 16:37:30

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickS
Nice review

You need to upgrade the PSU tester, 10a per 12v is nothin!
It can do up to 80a total on +12v at 5a increases.

If you look at the specs on the M12, the maximum combined amperage it can cope with on the +12v rail is 48a - so i got as close to that as possible (40a). Plus its handy to compare results with other 600w PSU's - most of which have been subjected to the same stress.

08-11-2006, 17:34:48

NickS
Wow, 80a? Impressive.

Thanks for explanation though XMS

08-11-2006, 17:44:59

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickS
Wow, 80a? Impressive.

Thanks for explanation though XMS
No probs mate - and yea - prepping myself for some of the future single railed babies

08-11-2006, 18:12:38

FragTek
Great review, and this looks to be a half way decent PSU. I think I could pick something better to put in my case if I had the choice however.

XMS, you gotta line up a single rail 1kw turbo-cool review!

08-11-2006, 20:51:47

markkleb
I am not a fan of the modular style PS.

But that was a very good review.

09-11-2006, 03:20:25

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='FragTek'
XMS, you gotta line up a single rail 1kw turbo-cool review!
Deffo
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.