PC Power & Cooling 1kw Turbo-Cool TC1KW PSU

Connectors

Connectors

On a power supply with 1kw of power, you'd expect it to have enough connectors to take advantage of it. I'm pleased to say that you won't be disappointed. The Turbo-Cool has enough connectors for almost any kind of setup, including a multiple drive RAID setup.

PCP&C Cables PCP&C Cables

I was slightly amused by the way that the cables were bundled together with an elastic band. A functional method i guess, and it kind of fits in with the simplistic theme of the rest of the packaging.

The cables are all sleved in black nylon mesh with the ends finished off with black heatshrink. The sleeving job is very professional, but yet again quite primitive with the heatshrink being held in place by clear cable ties. In my opinion PCP&C would have been better to place the heatshrink over the cable ties in a similar way seen on other power supplies. This is just a minor gripe and would only really benefit in makes things look tidier.

PCP&C ATX PCP&C EPS12v

PCP&C Adapter PCP&C Adapter

Another minor cosmetic gripe is the use of White ATX/EPS12v connectors. In my opinion it would have looked much better if they had opted to use Black plastic on all of the connectors - including the molex's.

PCP&C have adopted the latest technology (24-Pin ATX and EPS12v) for their connectors, but have also provided backward compatability for older systems by means of plug-in adapter cables, which provide 20-Pin ATX and 4-Pin PC12v connectors for older motherboards.

Connectors Connectors Connectors

Connectors Connectors

With 8 Molex and 6 SATA connectors, the Turbo-Cool actually holds the records for the most connectors on any power supply we've tested here at OC3D so far.

The only thing that i found slightly strange was the fact that the Turbo-Cool only has one floppy disk power cable. Most power supplies provide two at least, which is often required when boards like the DFI NF4 make use of a floppy connector to power certain parts of the board.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-05-2006, 10:56:55

JN
Often regarded as the "Big Daddies" of the PSU market, do they deserve their reputation? OC3D find out...

Review Here

22-05-2006, 11:01:42

FarFarAway
I want one....now

22-05-2006, 11:08:49

Ham
Was this frags?

And can i have the sitcker?

22-05-2006, 11:10:10

JN
No and No

This PSU was supplied directly from PCP&C

22-05-2006, 11:14:45

FarFarAway
As all of our review samples are - it comes straight from the manufacturer

22-05-2006, 12:32:19

FarFarAway
Yes we do indeed

22-05-2006, 12:33:17

JN
Yeppers

22-05-2006, 13:01:33

twisted5
I can say that I have never seen a PSU as stable as my pc p&c 1kw. It hardly varies at all. I have completely loaded the thing up before with 6 dvd burners, 10 hds, 2 7900gtxs, my venus, 8x120mm fans, 4x80mm fans, and all wc stuff without even the slightest hiccup. It is massive though and doesn't fit in some cases. ok most cases The fact that there is only one FDD power adapter is a down fall with DFI mobos and probably one of my only gripes against the psu. Overall I LOVE THIS PSU!

22-05-2006, 14:08:19

Eguy
The PSU rules, plain and simple, it powers through all competition!

22-05-2006, 14:12:48

Raven
looks like a good psu but nothing i would buy.

waste of money on a midrange setup

would probably fit my case if i move my dvdburner to the bottom cage.

22-05-2006, 14:50:57

JN
Good to hear that owners of this PSU share my views on it overall

22-05-2006, 19:47:39

FragTek
Great review mate... It's the only PSU I'd put in a new build. Mine was so outrageously awesome that I'd never think twice about owning one or trying something different.

Yes, the price tag is definately up there for a power supply... But no other PSU can supply the power that this monster can. And it does it with ease.

PCP&C FTW! :bow:

23-05-2006, 02:36:45

PV5150
Excellent review Jim

23-05-2006, 03:51:40

JN
Cheers lads

23-05-2006, 05:13:42

WC Annihilus
Nice review man!

And Grr at you!

31-05-2006, 04:25:03

JN

31-05-2006, 06:13:26

WC Annihilus
OMG! I'd be happy just to be on their site but being the first listing? WOOT WOOT! Mad props to Jim and Kemp!

31-05-2006, 12:27:09

Raven
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus'
but being the first listing?
the best should be at on top of all others

31-05-2006, 12:32:55

Ham
hooray!

31-05-2006, 15:52:01

glocktodahead
wow on top of everyone, even magazines...very well done!

31-05-2006, 16:04:54

FragTek
Congratz mate!! That's awesome, and a HUGE step in the right direction for OC3D.

The only thing I might suggest, is that the logo u give out to people to use on their page such as the one PCP&C used, is to add the url to our site somewhere

31-05-2006, 16:24:42

FarFarAway
That was their decision not ours. I think they SHOULD link to our review but I dunno....

31-05-2006, 16:49:45

JN
Yeah it would have been nice to have a link to our site for the review - but if you look at the other reviews, they are all copied on to their site.

Not sure why, maybe so it doesn't get lost or changed... But hey its their perogative
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.