PC Power & Cooling 1kw Turbo-Cool TC1KW PSU

Introduction

Introduction

When the subject of power supplies comes up in forums, there is always one name mentioned: PC Power & Cooling. The general consensus amongst PC enthusiasts is that if you need the highest quality power supply, and money is not an object then there's no contest.

Back in 1986, the company introduced its Silencer 150 and Turbo-Cool 200 units, the industry's first ultra-quiet and high-performance power supplies. Other high-end products followed, the reviews were great, and the company continued to grow.

Today, demands for high-end power supplies are greater than ever. With the introduction of multi-gpu systems and some high-end processors consuming excessive power, consumers are starting to realise the importance of choosing a quality power supply to ensure trouble free operation of their machines.

Enter the PC Power & Cooling 1kilowatt power supply....


Packaging


When I received the news that a huge box with "PC Power & Cooling" written down the side of it had arrived for me, I could hardly contain my excitement - and not without reason either, this power supply is quite often regarded as the "big daddy" of all power supplies!

PCP&C Box PCP&C Box

PCP&C Box Desc PCP&C Box Open

Unlike every other power supply on the market the PCP&C 1kw doesn't come with any fancy packaging. Instead PCP&C have decided to package the unit up in a double-walled corrugated cardboard box with the name and specifications of the unit printed on the front and sides. I very much doubt that this unit will find its way into many retail outlets, which could well be the reason why PCP&C chose to package the unit this way - along with the fact that PCP&C can probably shift their units on reputation alone, without the need for any marketing-gimmick packaging.

Opening up the box, I was presented with an absolute monster of a power supply - this unit is seriously huge in comparison with other power supplies I've tested in the past. Also included in the box was the following items (images below):

- Invoices/Receipts
- Turbo-Cool Manual
- Certified Test Report
- 24-pin to 20-pin ATX adapter
- Molex to P4-12v (4 pin) adapter
- 8-Pin EPS12v to P4-12v (4 pin) adapter.
- Power lead
- Case screws
- PCP&C Sticker

PCP&C Package PCP&C Test Report

PCP&C Warrenty PCP&C Sticker

The included 'Certified Test Report' sheet contains all of results obtained from the testing of the power supply at the PCP&C factory. Just browsing over the page we can see some very impressive results from the rails under load and the efficiency of the unit (79.87%).

The power supply comes with a 5 year warranty, which is possibly the best warranty I've heard given for any kind of PC components. Obviously you will void the warranty if you use the power supply in other than the specified manner, so it maybe worth having a quick read of the manual before you go ahead and rip the unit open or do anything else silly.

Also included in the package is a "Powered by Turbo-Cool 1 Kilowatt" sticker, for those of us without windowed panels who still want to show off their purchase :)
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-05-2006, 10:56:55

JN
Often regarded as the "Big Daddies" of the PSU market, do they deserve their reputation? OC3D find out...

Review Here

22-05-2006, 11:01:42

FarFarAway
I want one....now

22-05-2006, 11:08:49

Ham
Was this frags?

And can i have the sitcker?

22-05-2006, 11:10:10

JN
No and No

This PSU was supplied directly from PCP&C

22-05-2006, 11:14:45

FarFarAway
As all of our review samples are - it comes straight from the manufacturer

22-05-2006, 12:32:19

FarFarAway
Yes we do indeed

22-05-2006, 12:33:17

JN
Yeppers

22-05-2006, 13:01:33

twisted5
I can say that I have never seen a PSU as stable as my pc p&c 1kw. It hardly varies at all. I have completely loaded the thing up before with 6 dvd burners, 10 hds, 2 7900gtxs, my venus, 8x120mm fans, 4x80mm fans, and all wc stuff without even the slightest hiccup. It is massive though and doesn't fit in some cases. ok most cases The fact that there is only one FDD power adapter is a down fall with DFI mobos and probably one of my only gripes against the psu. Overall I LOVE THIS PSU!

22-05-2006, 14:08:19

Eguy
The PSU rules, plain and simple, it powers through all competition!

22-05-2006, 14:12:48

Raven
looks like a good psu but nothing i would buy.

waste of money on a midrange setup

would probably fit my case if i move my dvdburner to the bottom cage.

22-05-2006, 14:50:57

JN
Good to hear that owners of this PSU share my views on it overall

22-05-2006, 19:47:39

FragTek
Great review mate... It's the only PSU I'd put in a new build. Mine was so outrageously awesome that I'd never think twice about owning one or trying something different.

Yes, the price tag is definately up there for a power supply... But no other PSU can supply the power that this monster can. And it does it with ease.

PCP&C FTW! :bow:

23-05-2006, 02:36:45

PV5150
Excellent review Jim

23-05-2006, 03:51:40

JN
Cheers lads

23-05-2006, 05:13:42

WC Annihilus
Nice review man!

And Grr at you!

31-05-2006, 04:25:03

JN

31-05-2006, 06:13:26

WC Annihilus
OMG! I'd be happy just to be on their site but being the first listing? WOOT WOOT! Mad props to Jim and Kemp!

31-05-2006, 12:27:09

Raven
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus'
but being the first listing?
the best should be at on top of all others

31-05-2006, 12:32:55

Ham
hooray!

31-05-2006, 15:52:01

glocktodahead
wow on top of everyone, even magazines...very well done!

31-05-2006, 16:04:54

FragTek
Congratz mate!! That's awesome, and a HUGE step in the right direction for OC3D.

The only thing I might suggest, is that the logo u give out to people to use on their page such as the one PCP&C used, is to add the url to our site somewhere

31-05-2006, 16:24:42

FarFarAway
That was their decision not ours. I think they SHOULD link to our review but I dunno....

31-05-2006, 16:49:45

JN
Yeah it would have been nice to have a link to our site for the review - but if you look at the other reviews, they are all copied on to their site.

Not sure why, maybe so it doesn't get lost or changed... But hey its their perogative
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.