OCZ ModXstream Pro 500w

Conclusion

Conclusion

The results speak for themselves really, whilst not outstanding, they are very solid indeed. This PSU feels like one of those quiet children at school, that does the work, but doesn't really get noticed. It easily completed all the tests, and passed with flying colours right up to its 500w limit. The modular cables and large fan mean that not only the PSU runs cool, but it also improves airflow within the case. The design of the unit is also worthy of note, with its nice paint job and electroplated grill featuring the OCZ logo.

The only worry we had about the ModXstream 500w was the use of a fairly low spec capacitor. However, having thoroughly tested the unit,  we can safely say it doesn't seem to affect the units performance in any way.

Availability isn't great at the moment, with Specialtech being the cheapest UK supplier. Priced at £49.42, the PSU suddenly stands out from the crowd. It fits into the cheaper end of the 500w scale, yet is extremely quiet, modular and stable. Therefore, we can whole heartedly recommend this PSU, which is simply perfect for all but the most advanced gaming rigs.

Pros
+ Modular
+ Quiet
+ Fully sleeved cables
+ Looks nice

The Mediocre
* Single large capacitor rather than many small capacitors
* Efficiency is mediocre at 100% load.

The Bad
- Nothing to report.



Overclock3D would like to thank OCZ for supplying todays review sample. Discuss this review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-01-2009, 11:10:54

JN
"With Modular cables, a 14cm quiet fan and 500 watts of power, can OCZ's ModXstream 500w take the mid-range crown?" - by Tom Koflach

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...125417708s.jpg

OCZ ModXstream Pro 500w

27-01-2009, 11:26:31

soapsupah
first, thanks for the review Jim, and now, coments: it looks pretty good for a 500w psu, the temps of it aren't bad, it does it job well, its silent, and isnt expensive at all, maybe this is another one for me to chose? im still having trouble at choosing 500w modular psu's. i think i still have the corsair as my top.

Anyways, great review man

Soap.

27-01-2009, 11:28:35

monkey7
Nice review It's certainly interesting to see another of the OCZ lower budget series, the StealthXstream were already very interesting.

I don't think it can compete with the cooler master m520 when it's about price though. The ModXstream retails for €65.- in the Netherlands while me m520 is about €7-8 cheaper. May not sound like a lot but most of the time these psu's are used in low budget builds where every penny counts.

I think it would be a good idea to make three PSU roundups. For low (400w-), mid (400-700w) and high (700w+) units. That way it's easy to compare the reviewed supplies

To be continued, have to eat now

27-01-2009, 11:30:01

Kerotan
This looks really decent, been toying with the idea of going modular when I upgrade my backup rig at easter, and the price had put me off but 50 is a small price to pay for something that performs well and could replace my Corsair in the event of an emergency. Good review, with a nice decisive conclusion

27-01-2009, 11:35:13

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='soapsupah'
first, thanks for the review Jim, and now, coments: it looks pretty good for a 500w psu, the temps of it aren't bad, it does it job well, its silent, and isnt expensive at all, maybe this is another one for me to chose? im still having trouble at choosing 500w modular psu's. i think i still have the corsair as my top.

Anyways, great review man

Soap.
It is a very nice PSU, it feels very solid and the sleeving is nice. You certainly wont be dissapointed if you buy one!

27-01-2009, 12:07:05

monkey7
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
I think it would be a good idea to make three PSU roundups. For low (400w-), mid (400-700w) and high (700w+) units. That way it's easy to compare the reviewed supplies

To be continued, have to eat now
These roundups do not neccessarily have to be a seperately written article but could also be a summary of all reviews maybe in the form of a table.

Once again, nice review and good so see some midrange products

27-01-2009, 13:03:54

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
These roundups do not neccessarily have to be a seperately written article but could also be a summary of all reviews maybe in the form of a table.

Once again, nice review and good so see some midrange products
Yeah once the test setup is complete we will be creating a big table of all future tested PSU's in order of performance

27-01-2009, 13:14:36

monkey7
Nice nice nice Gotta love OC3D

27-01-2009, 14:37:57

zak4994
I'm buying it .

It can run a 9600GT right?!?

I'm stupid

27-01-2009, 14:42:40

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zak4994'
I'm buying it .

It can run a 9600GT right?!?

I'm stupid
Lol, it could run a gtx295 if you wanted it to, so yes!

27-01-2009, 14:50:04

zak4994
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Luigi'
Lol, it could run a gtx295 if you wanted it to, so yes!
lol I only asked because I wasn't bothered to find out.

SORRY for not using common sense.

27-01-2009, 14:50:50

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zak4994'
lol I only asked because I wasn't bothered to find out.

SORRY for not using common sense.
Thats what we're here for... you wont be dissapointed if you buy one

27-01-2009, 16:19:08

zak4994
Anyone know where it is available?

Scan doesn't have it...

27-01-2009, 16:20:33

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zak4994'
Anyone know where it is available?

Scan doesn't have it...
Last page of the review :P

12-07-2009, 08:56:11

markkleb
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Luigi'
Lol, it could run a gtx295 if you wanted it to, so yes!
LOL, good luck with that.... I tried it with a 4870 (my comp only needed 220 watts at idle) and it POP'd within 2 min.

This is only the second PS (out of hundreds) that has ever failed like this on me.

The heatsink is very small and the paint/coating is poor (easily scratched)

12-07-2009, 09:29:40

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='markkleb'
LOL, good luck with that.... I tried it with a 4870 (my comp only needed 220 watts at idle) and it POP'd within 2 min.

This is only the second PS (out of hundreds) that has ever failed like this on me.

The heatsink is very small and the paint/coating is poor (easily scratched)
The PSU happily ran my gtx260, which loaded at nearly 300w with the rest of my rig. Maybe you just got a bad unit? It survived all the load tests etc..

Good to see you back in the forum though mark

12-07-2009, 10:54:54

Mul.
I'd most certainly recommend the modXstream lineup. Used one of these modular PSU's for a friend's Small Form Factor build, it was a pleasure to use and very quiet too.

Excellent review

19-05-2010, 11:04:24

inspiredminduk
Just got 1 of these yesterday and i must say very pleased with it,very quiet cool and its modular and for the price you cant really go wrong,lets be honest you can pay 30 for a no name last a week job !!!!

28-05-2010, 06:02:06

anonemus
I'm actually using this PSU on my Pentium E5200 and HD5850 rig, even OCing these at times. It's a good-enough PSU built by Sirtec. I think the 600W ModXStream-Pro is better investment as it has 25A on its 12V rail
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.