OCZ ModXstream Pro 500w

Text Config, Voltages, Effiency & Temperatures

Load Configuration

To provide our readers with the most accurate results, Overclock3D uses a professional grade SunMoon SM-268+ ATE load tester capable of placing a sustained load of 1690w across a total of six rails (including +5vsb and -12v) on the PSU. Unlike our previous resistor based load tester the SM-268+ gives us the ability to adjust amperage loads in increments as small as 0.01A while also measuring voltages and wattage readings on-screen.

During todays tests we will be placing the ModXstream under 25%, 50%, 75% and 100% load levels and taking voltage readings at every stage. The chart below details the exact amperage load placed on each rail of the PSU at the aforementioned load levels:

Input Load
  25% 50% 75% 100%
 +3.3v 3.75A 7.5A 11.25A 15.00A
 +5.0v 3.75A 7.5A 11.25A 15.00A
 +12v1  3.75A 7.5A 11.25A 15.00A
 +12v23.75A 7.5A 11.25A 15.00A
 +5vsb 0.625A 1.2A 1.875A 2.50A
 -12v 0.075A 0.150A 0.225A 0.300A
 Total *
 126W 252W 376W 498W

**Total wattage is taken directly from the SM-268+ readout rather than a calculation of the amperage loads.


Results

With testing done at the above settings, we were able to achieve the following results from the ModXstream 500w.

Output Voltages
  25% 50% 75% 100%
 +3.3v 3.37v 3.34v 3.30v 3.26v
 +5.0v 5.01v 4.95v 4.89v 4.83v
 +12v1 / +12v2 * 12.14v 12.05v 11.95v 11.85v
 +5vsb 5.11v 5.04v 4.99v 4.93v
 -12v -12.02v -12.11v -12.21v -12.31v

As you can see, the ModXstream 500w has fairly good voltage regulation, with all the voltages well within the ATX specification. The voltages did shift quite a lot as we applied more and more load, with most of them going from small overvolts to a slight undervolt. However, since this is well within the 5% ATX tollerance level, it's nothing to worry about.


Efficiency

Efficiency tests are performed by measuring the wattage consumed by the power supply at the mains (Mains Draw) against the wattage readout displayed on the SM-268+ load tester (PSU Load). These results should offer around 99% accuracy placing them extremely close to results obtained from professional equipment.

Efficiency
  25% 50% 75% 100%
 Mains Draw 150w 296w 444w 602w
 PSU Load
 126w 252w 376w 498w
 Efficiency  84% 85.1% 84.6% 82.7%

Efficiency on the whole was rather good. The 85% achieved between 50-75% is good, but other PSU manufacturers have released models with up to 90% efficiency, so it's nothing ground-breaking. The only minor niggle is the efficiency at 100% load, where it drops to below 83%. However, it is highly unlikely that you will run a PSU that close to its limits, so it shouldn't be a concern the average user.


Temperature

As with all components in the modern computer system, the performance of a PSU can be directly affected by heat. Excess levels of heat recorded at the PSU's exhaust can indicate that the cooling system is inadequate in keeping the PSU's internal temperature under control which can subsequently lead to a reduction in the maximum power output of the unit. For this reason Overclock3D takes temperature readings from the PSU's intake and exhaust areas after 10 minutes of running at each specified load level. These results can be seen below.

Temperature
  25% 50% 75% 100%
Intake 22.6°C 23.3°C 23.6°C 23.1°C
Exhaust 31.45°C 34.5°C 36.4°C 37.8°C
 Delta-T
 8.85°C 11.2°C 12.8°C 14.7°C

The temperature tests didn't give us any readings to be conerned about, with the PSU staying well within comfortable operating temperatures. The 14cm fan obviously does a great job of cooling, and the cool temperature at which the components operate should ensure a long life span.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-01-2009, 11:10:54

JN
"With Modular cables, a 14cm quiet fan and 500 watts of power, can OCZ's ModXstream 500w take the mid-range crown?" - by Tom Koflach

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...125417708s.jpg

OCZ ModXstream Pro 500w

27-01-2009, 11:26:31

soapsupah
first, thanks for the review Jim, and now, coments: it looks pretty good for a 500w psu, the temps of it aren't bad, it does it job well, its silent, and isnt expensive at all, maybe this is another one for me to chose? im still having trouble at choosing 500w modular psu's. i think i still have the corsair as my top.

Anyways, great review man

Soap.

27-01-2009, 11:28:35

monkey7
Nice review It's certainly interesting to see another of the OCZ lower budget series, the StealthXstream were already very interesting.

I don't think it can compete with the cooler master m520 when it's about price though. The ModXstream retails for €65.- in the Netherlands while me m520 is about €7-8 cheaper. May not sound like a lot but most of the time these psu's are used in low budget builds where every penny counts.

I think it would be a good idea to make three PSU roundups. For low (400w-), mid (400-700w) and high (700w+) units. That way it's easy to compare the reviewed supplies

To be continued, have to eat now

27-01-2009, 11:30:01

Kerotan
This looks really decent, been toying with the idea of going modular when I upgrade my backup rig at easter, and the price had put me off but 50 is a small price to pay for something that performs well and could replace my Corsair in the event of an emergency. Good review, with a nice decisive conclusion

27-01-2009, 11:35:13

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='soapsupah'
first, thanks for the review Jim, and now, coments: it looks pretty good for a 500w psu, the temps of it aren't bad, it does it job well, its silent, and isnt expensive at all, maybe this is another one for me to chose? im still having trouble at choosing 500w modular psu's. i think i still have the corsair as my top.

Anyways, great review man

Soap.
It is a very nice PSU, it feels very solid and the sleeving is nice. You certainly wont be dissapointed if you buy one!

27-01-2009, 12:07:05

monkey7
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
I think it would be a good idea to make three PSU roundups. For low (400w-), mid (400-700w) and high (700w+) units. That way it's easy to compare the reviewed supplies

To be continued, have to eat now
These roundups do not neccessarily have to be a seperately written article but could also be a summary of all reviews maybe in the form of a table.

Once again, nice review and good so see some midrange products

27-01-2009, 13:03:54

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
These roundups do not neccessarily have to be a seperately written article but could also be a summary of all reviews maybe in the form of a table.

Once again, nice review and good so see some midrange products
Yeah once the test setup is complete we will be creating a big table of all future tested PSU's in order of performance

27-01-2009, 13:14:36

monkey7
Nice nice nice Gotta love OC3D

27-01-2009, 14:37:57

zak4994
I'm buying it .

It can run a 9600GT right?!?

I'm stupid

27-01-2009, 14:42:40

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zak4994'
I'm buying it .

It can run a 9600GT right?!?

I'm stupid
Lol, it could run a gtx295 if you wanted it to, so yes!

27-01-2009, 14:50:04

zak4994
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Luigi'
Lol, it could run a gtx295 if you wanted it to, so yes!
lol I only asked because I wasn't bothered to find out.

SORRY for not using common sense.

27-01-2009, 14:50:50

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zak4994'
lol I only asked because I wasn't bothered to find out.

SORRY for not using common sense.
Thats what we're here for... you wont be dissapointed if you buy one

27-01-2009, 16:19:08

zak4994
Anyone know where it is available?

Scan doesn't have it...

27-01-2009, 16:20:33

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zak4994'
Anyone know where it is available?

Scan doesn't have it...
Last page of the review :P

12-07-2009, 08:56:11

markkleb
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Luigi'
Lol, it could run a gtx295 if you wanted it to, so yes!
LOL, good luck with that.... I tried it with a 4870 (my comp only needed 220 watts at idle) and it POP'd within 2 min.

This is only the second PS (out of hundreds) that has ever failed like this on me.

The heatsink is very small and the paint/coating is poor (easily scratched)

12-07-2009, 09:29:40

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='markkleb'
LOL, good luck with that.... I tried it with a 4870 (my comp only needed 220 watts at idle) and it POP'd within 2 min.

This is only the second PS (out of hundreds) that has ever failed like this on me.

The heatsink is very small and the paint/coating is poor (easily scratched)
The PSU happily ran my gtx260, which loaded at nearly 300w with the rest of my rig. Maybe you just got a bad unit? It survived all the load tests etc..

Good to see you back in the forum though mark

12-07-2009, 10:54:54

Mul.
I'd most certainly recommend the modXstream lineup. Used one of these modular PSU's for a friend's Small Form Factor build, it was a pleasure to use and very quiet too.

Excellent review

19-05-2010, 11:04:24

inspiredminduk
Just got 1 of these yesterday and i must say very pleased with it,very quiet cool and its modular and for the price you cant really go wrong,lets be honest you can pay 30 for a no name last a week job !!!!

28-05-2010, 06:02:06

anonemus
I'm actually using this PSU on my Pentium E5200 and HD5850 rig, even OCing these at times. It's a good-enough PSU built by Sirtec. I think the 600W ModXStream-Pro is better investment as it has 25A on its 12V rail
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.