OCZ ModXstream Pro 500w

Up Close

Up Close

As with a lot of things, it's what's inside that counts. This is where the PSU performs its magic, transforming the unfriendly AC into computer friendly DC current: breaking down the 240VAC into the various low voltage rails. After removing four screws from the top of our unit, we were in...

OCZ ModXstream Fan

The fan is manufactured by Globe Fan, and is rated at 0.33A @ 12v. Unfortunately we couldn't find any specs for the fan on Globe Fans website at the time of writing. Interestingly, OCZ have covered off part of the fan with a bit of perspex. This may have been done so that air can escape at the back of the unit, rather than constantly being pushed down.

OCZ ModXstream Inside OCZ ModXstream Transformers

The internals of the ModXstream Pro are split into three sections, with MOSFET heatsinks dividing each section up. In the top section, we have a single large capacitor. It is preferred to have multiple smaller capacitors as this reduces power ripple, but it shouldn't be too big a problem. The capacitor appears to be made by EPCOS, a German manufacturer and features the following markings: 330uF / 400v / 85c. In the middle section we have two transformers, one for the 12v and the other most likely for 3.3v/5v.


Cabling

Being a modular cables not all the cables are attached to the PSU. Instead only a few of them are left attached to the PSU and the rest are detachable. This way only the cables you need are attached, minimising excess cable mess within your case.

OCZ ModXstream Cabling

The cables already attached to the PSU are as follows: 4-Pin P4 Connector, 8-Pin EPS connector, 20+4-Pin ATX power cable. These are pretty much the bare minimum for any PC. It would have been nice to have the 4-Pin and 8-Pin connectors being modular, as one of these is guaranteed not to be in use.
 
OCZ ModXstream Cables

There is a nice selection of cables included in the box. In the top left we have the PCI-e 6-pin and 8-pin leads. In the middle we have the UK mains power lead. Then, around the edges we have the molex and SATA power leads. In total you can connect 6 SATA devices, 4 Molex devices and 2 Floppy devices. The SATA's come in a group of three, which is handy as most case caddies take 3 drives - Well thought out OCZ.
 
OCZ ModXstream PCI-E OCZ ModXstream Molex Cabling

Here we have the dual PCI-e Connectors and molex leads. The 8-pin PCI-e can be converted to a 6-pin lead by removing the two extra pins. The Molex connectors have two standard molex connectors, then a floppy connector on the end. It would have been far more useful to have three molex connectors, with a floppy adaptor in the box for those that still need them.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-01-2009, 11:10:54

JN
"With Modular cables, a 14cm quiet fan and 500 watts of power, can OCZ's ModXstream 500w take the mid-range crown?" - by Tom Koflach

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...125417708s.jpg

OCZ ModXstream Pro 500w

27-01-2009, 11:26:31

soapsupah
first, thanks for the review Jim, and now, coments: it looks pretty good for a 500w psu, the temps of it aren't bad, it does it job well, its silent, and isnt expensive at all, maybe this is another one for me to chose? im still having trouble at choosing 500w modular psu's. i think i still have the corsair as my top.

Anyways, great review man

Soap.

27-01-2009, 11:28:35

monkey7
Nice review It's certainly interesting to see another of the OCZ lower budget series, the StealthXstream were already very interesting.

I don't think it can compete with the cooler master m520 when it's about price though. The ModXstream retails for €65.- in the Netherlands while me m520 is about €7-8 cheaper. May not sound like a lot but most of the time these psu's are used in low budget builds where every penny counts.

I think it would be a good idea to make three PSU roundups. For low (400w-), mid (400-700w) and high (700w+) units. That way it's easy to compare the reviewed supplies

To be continued, have to eat now

27-01-2009, 11:30:01

Kerotan
This looks really decent, been toying with the idea of going modular when I upgrade my backup rig at easter, and the price had put me off but 50 is a small price to pay for something that performs well and could replace my Corsair in the event of an emergency. Good review, with a nice decisive conclusion

27-01-2009, 11:35:13

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='soapsupah'
first, thanks for the review Jim, and now, coments: it looks pretty good for a 500w psu, the temps of it aren't bad, it does it job well, its silent, and isnt expensive at all, maybe this is another one for me to chose? im still having trouble at choosing 500w modular psu's. i think i still have the corsair as my top.

Anyways, great review man

Soap.
It is a very nice PSU, it feels very solid and the sleeving is nice. You certainly wont be dissapointed if you buy one!

27-01-2009, 12:07:05

monkey7
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
I think it would be a good idea to make three PSU roundups. For low (400w-), mid (400-700w) and high (700w+) units. That way it's easy to compare the reviewed supplies

To be continued, have to eat now
These roundups do not neccessarily have to be a seperately written article but could also be a summary of all reviews maybe in the form of a table.

Once again, nice review and good so see some midrange products

27-01-2009, 13:03:54

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
These roundups do not neccessarily have to be a seperately written article but could also be a summary of all reviews maybe in the form of a table.

Once again, nice review and good so see some midrange products
Yeah once the test setup is complete we will be creating a big table of all future tested PSU's in order of performance

27-01-2009, 13:14:36

monkey7
Nice nice nice Gotta love OC3D

27-01-2009, 14:37:57

zak4994
I'm buying it .

It can run a 9600GT right?!?

I'm stupid

27-01-2009, 14:42:40

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zak4994'
I'm buying it .

It can run a 9600GT right?!?

I'm stupid
Lol, it could run a gtx295 if you wanted it to, so yes!

27-01-2009, 14:50:04

zak4994
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Luigi'
Lol, it could run a gtx295 if you wanted it to, so yes!
lol I only asked because I wasn't bothered to find out.

SORRY for not using common sense.

27-01-2009, 14:50:50

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zak4994'
lol I only asked because I wasn't bothered to find out.

SORRY for not using common sense.
Thats what we're here for... you wont be dissapointed if you buy one

27-01-2009, 16:19:08

zak4994
Anyone know where it is available?

Scan doesn't have it...

27-01-2009, 16:20:33

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zak4994'
Anyone know where it is available?

Scan doesn't have it...
Last page of the review :P

12-07-2009, 08:56:11

markkleb
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Luigi'
Lol, it could run a gtx295 if you wanted it to, so yes!
LOL, good luck with that.... I tried it with a 4870 (my comp only needed 220 watts at idle) and it POP'd within 2 min.

This is only the second PS (out of hundreds) that has ever failed like this on me.

The heatsink is very small and the paint/coating is poor (easily scratched)

12-07-2009, 09:29:40

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='markkleb'
LOL, good luck with that.... I tried it with a 4870 (my comp only needed 220 watts at idle) and it POP'd within 2 min.

This is only the second PS (out of hundreds) that has ever failed like this on me.

The heatsink is very small and the paint/coating is poor (easily scratched)
The PSU happily ran my gtx260, which loaded at nearly 300w with the rest of my rig. Maybe you just got a bad unit? It survived all the load tests etc..

Good to see you back in the forum though mark

12-07-2009, 10:54:54

Mul.
I'd most certainly recommend the modXstream lineup. Used one of these modular PSU's for a friend's Small Form Factor build, it was a pleasure to use and very quiet too.

Excellent review

19-05-2010, 11:04:24

inspiredminduk
Just got 1 of these yesterday and i must say very pleased with it,very quiet cool and its modular and for the price you cant really go wrong,lets be honest you can pay 30 for a no name last a week job !!!!

28-05-2010, 06:02:06

anonemus
I'm actually using this PSU on my Pentium E5200 and HD5850 rig, even OCing these at times. It's a good-enough PSU built by Sirtec. I think the 600W ModXStream-Pro is better investment as it has 25A on its 12V rail
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.