OCZ ModXstream Pro 500w

Introduction

Introduction

PSU's are a real case of you get what you pay for. The cheaper, non branded PSU's are often incredibly unstable, in-efficient and can fail within a few months of purchase. Installing such PSU's in a high-end PC is akin to having a death wish, but only for your hardware. Not only can  low or poorly filtered voltages cause damage to devices that don't employ their own filtering circuits, but surges that often occur when a PSU fails have the ability to decimate every single component inside your precious PC system.

A few months ago we reviewed OCZ's 780w ModXstream model, whilst it certainly scored well in our testing and managed to bag our Recommended award, there was still room for improvement. This undoubtedly spurred the release of the ModXstream Pro series announced back in August. Equipped with a larger fan, new internals and a refreshing new look,  the 'Pro' is aimed at bringing down noise and improving on the performance of it's predecessor. It should certainly come as no surprise then, that when OCZ asked us if we would like to take a look, we couldn't resist.

Here are the full specifications:

150 x 160 x 86mm (W x L x H)
ATX12V v2.2 and EPS12V
Typical load 86% Efficiency
80+ Certified
Overvoltage/OverPower/Short-Circuit protection
(.99)Active PFC
MTBF: 100,000 hours @ 25C

Connectors:
1 x 20/24-pin ATX
1 x 8-pin CPU
1 x 4-pin CPU

Modular Connectors:
1 x 6-pin PCI-E
1 x 6+2-pin PCI-E
4 x Peripheral
2 x Floppy
6 x SATA

As we can see, the ModXstream has a fairly average spec for a modern PSU, with 86% efficiency and 100,000hr MTBF at 25c.  The PCI-e connectors are also noteworthy, with OCZ opting for 1x 6-pin and 1x 8-pin plugs allowing for the unit to be used with a wide range of modern graphics cards such as the GTX280, 4870x2 and GTX295. Of course, whether the 500w unit has enough gusto to power such cards in addition to a full PC system is yet to be determined.
 
OCZ PSU

Unlike the OCZ EliteXstream we reviewed a while back the ModXStream Pro features two +12v rails rated limited to 18A each. Interestingly OCZ rate the maximum output of both rails as 423w which when converted into amps produces a result of 36A (or 18A x2). This in essence indicates that providing the draw on the +5v and +3.3v rails comes to less than 68w, the +12v1 and +12v2 rails can deliver their full 18A ratings.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-01-2009, 11:10:54

JN
"With Modular cables, a 14cm quiet fan and 500 watts of power, can OCZ's ModXstream 500w take the mid-range crown?" - by Tom Koflach

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...125417708s.jpg

OCZ ModXstream Pro 500w

27-01-2009, 11:26:31

soapsupah
first, thanks for the review Jim, and now, coments: it looks pretty good for a 500w psu, the temps of it aren't bad, it does it job well, its silent, and isnt expensive at all, maybe this is another one for me to chose? im still having trouble at choosing 500w modular psu's. i think i still have the corsair as my top.

Anyways, great review man

Soap.

27-01-2009, 11:28:35

monkey7
Nice review It's certainly interesting to see another of the OCZ lower budget series, the StealthXstream were already very interesting.

I don't think it can compete with the cooler master m520 when it's about price though. The ModXstream retails for €65.- in the Netherlands while me m520 is about €7-8 cheaper. May not sound like a lot but most of the time these psu's are used in low budget builds where every penny counts.

I think it would be a good idea to make three PSU roundups. For low (400w-), mid (400-700w) and high (700w+) units. That way it's easy to compare the reviewed supplies

To be continued, have to eat now

27-01-2009, 11:30:01

Kerotan
This looks really decent, been toying with the idea of going modular when I upgrade my backup rig at easter, and the price had put me off but 50 is a small price to pay for something that performs well and could replace my Corsair in the event of an emergency. Good review, with a nice decisive conclusion

27-01-2009, 11:35:13

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='soapsupah'
first, thanks for the review Jim, and now, coments: it looks pretty good for a 500w psu, the temps of it aren't bad, it does it job well, its silent, and isnt expensive at all, maybe this is another one for me to chose? im still having trouble at choosing 500w modular psu's. i think i still have the corsair as my top.

Anyways, great review man

Soap.
It is a very nice PSU, it feels very solid and the sleeving is nice. You certainly wont be dissapointed if you buy one!

27-01-2009, 12:07:05

monkey7
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
I think it would be a good idea to make three PSU roundups. For low (400w-), mid (400-700w) and high (700w+) units. That way it's easy to compare the reviewed supplies

To be continued, have to eat now
These roundups do not neccessarily have to be a seperately written article but could also be a summary of all reviews maybe in the form of a table.

Once again, nice review and good so see some midrange products

27-01-2009, 13:03:54

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
These roundups do not neccessarily have to be a seperately written article but could also be a summary of all reviews maybe in the form of a table.

Once again, nice review and good so see some midrange products
Yeah once the test setup is complete we will be creating a big table of all future tested PSU's in order of performance

27-01-2009, 13:14:36

monkey7
Nice nice nice Gotta love OC3D

27-01-2009, 14:37:57

zak4994
I'm buying it .

It can run a 9600GT right?!?

I'm stupid

27-01-2009, 14:42:40

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zak4994'
I'm buying it .

It can run a 9600GT right?!?

I'm stupid
Lol, it could run a gtx295 if you wanted it to, so yes!

27-01-2009, 14:50:04

zak4994
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Luigi'
Lol, it could run a gtx295 if you wanted it to, so yes!
lol I only asked because I wasn't bothered to find out.

SORRY for not using common sense.

27-01-2009, 14:50:50

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zak4994'
lol I only asked because I wasn't bothered to find out.

SORRY for not using common sense.
Thats what we're here for... you wont be dissapointed if you buy one

27-01-2009, 16:19:08

zak4994
Anyone know where it is available?

Scan doesn't have it...

27-01-2009, 16:20:33

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zak4994'
Anyone know where it is available?

Scan doesn't have it...
Last page of the review :P

12-07-2009, 08:56:11

markkleb
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Luigi'
Lol, it could run a gtx295 if you wanted it to, so yes!
LOL, good luck with that.... I tried it with a 4870 (my comp only needed 220 watts at idle) and it POP'd within 2 min.

This is only the second PS (out of hundreds) that has ever failed like this on me.

The heatsink is very small and the paint/coating is poor (easily scratched)

12-07-2009, 09:29:40

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='markkleb'
LOL, good luck with that.... I tried it with a 4870 (my comp only needed 220 watts at idle) and it POP'd within 2 min.

This is only the second PS (out of hundreds) that has ever failed like this on me.

The heatsink is very small and the paint/coating is poor (easily scratched)
The PSU happily ran my gtx260, which loaded at nearly 300w with the rest of my rig. Maybe you just got a bad unit? It survived all the load tests etc..

Good to see you back in the forum though mark

12-07-2009, 10:54:54

Mul.
I'd most certainly recommend the modXstream lineup. Used one of these modular PSU's for a friend's Small Form Factor build, it was a pleasure to use and very quiet too.

Excellent review

19-05-2010, 11:04:24

inspiredminduk
Just got 1 of these yesterday and i must say very pleased with it,very quiet cool and its modular and for the price you cant really go wrong,lets be honest you can pay 30 for a no name last a week job !!!!

28-05-2010, 06:02:06

anonemus
I'm actually using this PSU on my Pentium E5200 and HD5850 rig, even OCing these at times. It's a good-enough PSU built by Sirtec. I think the 600W ModXStream-Pro is better investment as it has 25A on its 12V rail
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.