OCZ GameXStream 850w ATX PSU

Conclusion

Conclusion

When talking about power supplies, the general rule of thumb is more power = more noise. This is because in order to combat the extra heat produced by higher wattage power supplies manufacturers need to install more powerful (and noisy) cooling solutions.

However, this rule has been totally disproved by the OCZ GameXStream, which managed to produce a full and stable 850w of power without the noise and heat associated with other high wattage units we've tested in the past. Add to this the fact that the OCZ GameXStream is no bigger than your average ATX power supply along with its excellent efficiency level of over 85% (as tested by our equipment) and it's hard to even consider using another power supply for your high-end future gaming PC.

In recognition of these excellent qualities I need to congratulate OCZ for being the first company in the history of Overclock3D to receive our "Best In Class" award. This award signifies that the OCZ GameXStream 850w PSU is considered by Overclock3D to be the best all-round power supply in the 600w - 900w classification.

The OCZ GameXStream 850w is currently available from Specialtech for the very reasonable price of £115.

Pro's
• Rock stable voltages.
• Ultra-high efficiency.
• Very silent for an 850w PSU.
• Fully sleeved cables.
• 36 month warranty with fast support.
• Internal adjustable potentiometer.
• Standard ATX size (amazing for a unit with this much power).

Con's
• Nothing worth talking about. A first for any PSU here at OC3D!

Best In Class

Thanks to OCZ for providing this unit for review.

Discuss this review in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-11-2006, 16:19:20

JN
"OCZ already impressed us a couple of months ago with their 700w GameXStream PSU. Will the 850w version be just as good? Let's find out..."

Linkage

17-11-2006, 17:27:57

FarFarAway
Looks lush. OCZ should be proud of the first "Gold" logo

17-11-2006, 18:08:02

NickS
All GameXStream PSU's are the same. Pure, ownage. Best bang for buck unit OUT there, despite ripple issues @ max load. Never the less, great review guys. Great PSU too.

17-11-2006, 18:09:10

glocktodahead
Looks like a rock solid psu, nice review

18-11-2006, 04:54:42

mrapoc
I love my 600w version

18-11-2006, 07:30:34

llwyd
those are very impressive results, a well deserved Gold award

18-11-2006, 16:52:01

mVp24
Wow, that's the first time I've seen an OC3D gold logo, congrats OCZ! Great review XMS.

20-11-2006, 19:23:39

kimandsally
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='spiritd'
Wow, that's the first time I've seen an OC3D gold logo, congrats OCZ! Great review XMS.
To me the gold logo being a first makes it all the more great, some review sites award things like confetti makes them kind of worthless.

OC3D gold logo like a victoria cross, very rare. Must be a truly great PSU.

21-11-2006, 02:12:41

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by kimandsally
To me the gold logo being a first makes it all the more great, some review sites award things like confetti makes them kind of worthless.

OC3D gold logo like a victoria cross, very rare. Must be a truly great PSU.


Yep, you won't see many of these at all. We will only award them when we feel that we have reviewed enough similar products to be able to justify "Best in Class" (like nearly 25 PSU reviews), and the product is pretty much as perfect as it can be.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.