OCZ GameXStream 850w ATX PSU

Connectors

Connectors

All cables on the GameXStream are finished in black sleeving, with the molex connectors adopting the 'easy grip' design. This not only improves their appearance but should also make removal of the connectors from devices easier.

OCZ GameXStream 850w Cables OCZ GameXStream 850w Cables

OCZ GameXStream 850w Cables OCZ GameXStream 850w Cables

It's also good to see that OCZ have decided to sleeve all cables right to the tip. Many manufacturers only sleeve some of the cables, or sleeve up to the first connector on every cable. The sleeving job is professional with cable ties holding the sleeving in place, and heat shrink keeping everything neat and tidy.

OCZ GameXStream 850w ATX OCZ GameXStream 850w P412v

The ATX connector on the GameXStream is native 24-pin. However, as you can see above, a small block of 4 connectors can be broken off to switch the connector to 20-pin, and thus make it compatible with older motherboards. This is also true for the 8-Pin EPS12v connector which can be split in half, providing the user with a 4-Pin P4-12v connector.

ATX EPS12v PCI-E

SATA Molex Floppy

With 6 SATA connectors, 6 Molex connectors and 2 Floppy connectors the GameXStream 850w should have enough plugs to suit almost every configuration of PC.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-11-2006, 16:19:20

JN
"OCZ already impressed us a couple of months ago with their 700w GameXStream PSU. Will the 850w version be just as good? Let's find out..."

Linkage

17-11-2006, 17:27:57

FarFarAway
Looks lush. OCZ should be proud of the first "Gold" logo

17-11-2006, 18:08:02

NickS
All GameXStream PSU's are the same. Pure, ownage. Best bang for buck unit OUT there, despite ripple issues @ max load. Never the less, great review guys. Great PSU too.

17-11-2006, 18:09:10

glocktodahead
Looks like a rock solid psu, nice review

18-11-2006, 04:54:42

mrapoc
I love my 600w version

18-11-2006, 07:30:34

llwyd
those are very impressive results, a well deserved Gold award

18-11-2006, 16:52:01

mVp24
Wow, that's the first time I've seen an OC3D gold logo, congrats OCZ! Great review XMS.

20-11-2006, 19:23:39

kimandsally
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='spiritd'
Wow, that's the first time I've seen an OC3D gold logo, congrats OCZ! Great review XMS.
To me the gold logo being a first makes it all the more great, some review sites award things like confetti makes them kind of worthless.

OC3D gold logo like a victoria cross, very rare. Must be a truly great PSU.

21-11-2006, 02:12:41

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by kimandsally
To me the gold logo being a first makes it all the more great, some review sites award things like confetti makes them kind of worthless.

OC3D gold logo like a victoria cross, very rare. Must be a truly great PSU.


Yep, you won't see many of these at all. We will only award them when we feel that we have reviewed enough similar products to be able to justify "Best in Class" (like nearly 25 PSU reviews), and the product is pretty much as perfect as it can be.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.