OCZ GameXStream 850w ATX PSU

Appearance

Appearance

As a bit of a generalisation, products aimed at the gaming community tend to be filled with flashing lights and covered in UV reactive components. I was expecting a similar approach from OCZ considering that (judging by the name) this unit is aimed squarely at gamers.

However, on unpacking the unit I was presented with a power supply very much on the subtle side...

OCZ GameXStream 850w Top OCZ GameXStream 850w Back

The OCZ GameXStream is finished in a matt black paint, a rather disappointing step away from the gunmetal finish found on the recently reviewed EvoStream unit. On the upside though, I guess owners of the GameXStream won't have to be so careful not to cover the unit in fingerprints, a problem which plagued owners of OCZ's previous ModStream and PowerStream units.

OCZ have chosen to cool the unit with a single 120mm, blue LED fan which is covered by a black painted grill. This is becoming a popular method of cooling, as it is much quieter and often more effective than utilising several 80mm fans.

The back of the unit sports a honeycomb mesh, allowing the hot air moved by the 120mm fan to exit out of your case with minimum restrictions. The GameXStream, like many other modern PSU's is able to auto-detect the input voltage, and therefore does not require a voltage selection switch often seen on older power supplies.

OCZ GameXStream 850w Side OCZ GameXStream 850w Front

The front and sides of the unit are rather uninteresting with small grills placed near areas of the unit most likely to produce heat. The OCZ sticker shows the units peak outputs along with the usual warnings about not opening the PSU cover.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-11-2006, 16:19:20

JN
"OCZ already impressed us a couple of months ago with their 700w GameXStream PSU. Will the 850w version be just as good? Let's find out..."

Linkage

17-11-2006, 17:27:57

FarFarAway
Looks lush. OCZ should be proud of the first "Gold" logo

17-11-2006, 18:08:02

NickS
All GameXStream PSU's are the same. Pure, ownage. Best bang for buck unit OUT there, despite ripple issues @ max load. Never the less, great review guys. Great PSU too.

17-11-2006, 18:09:10

glocktodahead
Looks like a rock solid psu, nice review

18-11-2006, 04:54:42

mrapoc
I love my 600w version

18-11-2006, 07:30:34

llwyd
those are very impressive results, a well deserved Gold award

18-11-2006, 16:52:01

mVp24
Wow, that's the first time I've seen an OC3D gold logo, congrats OCZ! Great review XMS.

20-11-2006, 19:23:39

kimandsally
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='spiritd'
Wow, that's the first time I've seen an OC3D gold logo, congrats OCZ! Great review XMS.
To me the gold logo being a first makes it all the more great, some review sites award things like confetti makes them kind of worthless.

OC3D gold logo like a victoria cross, very rare. Must be a truly great PSU.

21-11-2006, 02:12:41

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by kimandsally
To me the gold logo being a first makes it all the more great, some review sites award things like confetti makes them kind of worthless.

OC3D gold logo like a victoria cross, very rare. Must be a truly great PSU.


Yep, you won't see many of these at all. We will only award them when we feel that we have reviewed enough similar products to be able to justify "Best in Class" (like nearly 25 PSU reviews), and the product is pretty much as perfect as it can be.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.